Always tweaking something!

Well, that’s over . . .

Day 4663

I don’t generally wander into politics or religion here.  Everyone has their own opinions and we are not likely to change each others minds on either topic.  That being said, ‘let me say this about that’ . . . – At least the sun came up this morning.  I went to bed around 11 with the general notion that Trumps lead was likely insurmountable unless HRC benefited from some late reporting urban counties – and a LOT of them.

I wasn’t terribly surprised to learn that Trump was in fact declared the president Elect in the wee hours of the morning.  Disappointed?  Yes.  Seems that Trumps major following was the non-college educated white male.  Trump did say he loved the uneducated, and now we know why.  He bullshitted enough of them to get his ass elected.  Now what?

I will also confess here that I really didn’t care for either Trump or HRC, but figured that the country could likely weather 4 years of Clinton better then 4 years of Trump.  No political experience, no experience serving anybody, bankrupt several times, and hasn’t paid income taxes in how long?  Not to mention that he just doesn’t have the disposition or demeanor to work and play well with others.  And good ol’ Hillary has had shady dealings going back to the Rose Law firm in Arkansas some 30+ years ago.  Too many times caught skirting the edge of the law, but as first lady, senator and Secretary of State at least she had political experience.

I really saw her as the defensive vote – the lesser of two evils.  But in my home state it mattered little, HRC would have won without my vote.  Florida & Pennsylvania were the real swing states this time and Trump apparently appealed to enough non-college educated white males in each state to carry the win.

What’s going to be painful is watching Trump struggle as he learns just how much he can’t do as president.  I’m also curious about just what his plans for change are because none of them were made apparent in any of the “debates”.

Ah well, like I said-  the sun came up again today, we’ll just march on.

7 responses

  1. Sadly this will hurt the low-income uneducated dufus’s that voted for him most. The idiots.
    I did not care for HRC, in fact in the primaries did not vote for her. Hhowever, she was more qualified to run than most presidents ever in my lifetime. He is everything I taught my children not to be. God help us all. My friends in Europe are flipping out. They think we have gone reality world crazy elected someone with no qualifications other than hate and a reality show. Pitiful. We did this to ourselves. Where is a sniper when you need one?

    November 9, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    • Brian

      I was wondering what the European reaction would be. I had the impression they thought we were nuts letting Trump even win the primaries. Unfortunately he’s really fired up the right wing-nut rednecks and I worry where that’s headed. Like you say, it’s to their own detriment they elected him.

      November 9, 2016 at 2:49 pm

  2. Hey I see your city on the news today. Gee, got snow? Ooh better you than me! I’m nice huh? Stay warm, drink hot toddies and well, shovel. 🙂

    November 21, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    • Brian

      We only got a little bit. 12 inches here so far, worse where our youngest is. Dang snowblower wouldn’t start this morning either. Heading out to remedy that now.

      November 21, 2016 at 5:56 pm

  3. I blame the outcome of this election partly for my being out of sorts. It still feels like a really bad dream I can’t wake up from. G-uno

    January 18, 2017 at 2:01 pm

    • Brian

      I still want a do over. All the way back to the primaries.

      January 18, 2017 at 7:19 pm

      • LOL We are kindred spirits for sure!
        G-uno

        January 26, 2017 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

