Always tweaking something!

Testing 1, 2 . . . Testing 1, 2

Day 4210  As a reminder, that’s how many days since I quit smoking back on Aug 22, 2004.  That’s what – 11.5 years, give or take?  Works for me.

By way of updating since I was last here, not too terribly much has changed.  Bought a camper.  Very small – 17 feet, has a fridge, stove, stereo, could sleep 6 in a pinch.  The spousal unit and I like to hit up state parks within about a 2 hour drive and spend long weekends.  New York has some fantastic state parks and decent campgrounds at most of them.  Many are in the Finger Lakes region where we can take advantage of the local wine trails, or spend a day hiking through some of the many gorges in the area.

So yeah – we camp a lot.  Chase the grand kids around a lot too.  Youngest two are now nearly 18 months and couldn’t be more different.  Logan is more the strong silent type while his cousin Cecily is more the magpie type.  Avery, at 4 going on 14 is the reason Logan doesn’t have to talk much – she take care of that for him.  Until she pisses him off and he throws a fit.  Fun to watch.

Lets see, what else?  This winter may become known as the winter that wasn’t.  Temps have been relatively mild, especially compared to last February.  Snow wise we’ve had a measly 51+ inches, compared to a normal season-to-date 79 inches and an annual average of about 100.  Even if March sucks and delivers 2 feet of snow, we’ll end up 2 feet under average.  Since I don’t snow mobile or ski – I’M NOT COMPLAINING!

A few years back we refinanced our mortgage.  Got a rate of 2.62% for a 10 year term.  Dropped our payment a bunch, but I’ve been making the old payment all along.  By making the extra payment we’ve taken the 10 year loan and turned it into a 7.5 year loan.  By October 2020, we’ll have no mortgage to pay!!!

So of course you know we have to go screw that up, right?  The spousal unit has it in her head that we need to get us a ranch house instead of a colonial like we have – and it has to be new construction.  Soooooo – we’re kinda sorta looking.  Mixing & matching plans & builders.  But really, I’m slow playing the situation.  We’ll pick a plan, get an estimate from a builder, figure out what we might net from the sale of our current abode (anyone looking for a 1700 sq ft 3br, 2.5 bath home on a 1/2 acre lot in the suburbs of the snow belt?), then plan on sticker shock scaring her to her senses.  The difficult thing is that we know what kind of space we want, we know what kind of finishes we want.  Combine those with new construction and you end up with more mortgage than I want to carry, in spite of what the banks say I qualify for.  I want to retire in 8 years and really don’t want some huge-assed mortgage hanging over my head, harshing my buzz.  Does that phrase date me any more than saying I want to retire in 8 years?

Bowling season is wrapping up too soon.  I am on my never ending quest to get my average over 190 by seasons end.  Tantalizingly close – only need a few really solid weeks to pull it off.   Think we have 6 weeks left.  Hopefully, golf starts a week or two after that where I can resume my never ending quest to get my handicap under 16.  Ought to be do-able.  Sniffed it for a bit last year, then had a tough round towards the end of the season (damn North Course) and got derailed.

Thinking of signing on for that WordPress prompt a day dealie as a way of getting me back here more often.  Dedicate 30 minutes at lunch time to use their prompt to describe my life – can’t hurt too bad, right?

Back to the zoo . . .

4 responses

  1. Brian, that size house on that size lot here would get you if in good up to date shape around 700-750+ So that could buy you a real nice new ranch.
    I too would like a ranch these days.
    I want to retire 10 years ago….I think I missed the window. 🙂

    March 2, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    • Brian

      Peg – Sadly real estate prices don’t translate all that well. We’re probably more like your hometown area. We’ve also done enough work onteh place that we’re a little out of our neighborhood price wise. If we got 200K I’d flip. Even 175K might be optimistic. We have a realtor coming out for an estimate – that’ll be an eye opener.

      March 3, 2016 at 12:02 pm

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    Have fun at the zoo. Don’t play in the lion cage…

    March 2, 2016 at 9:07 pm

    • Brian

      No worries there! We have a nice little lab here where all the managers are at least 2 states away. That lets us get stuff done without them peering over our shoulders!

      March 3, 2016 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

