Always tweaking something!

Enough of this freezing!

-8 this morning,. At 6:30 am. Had to go snow blow the driveway because it was actually warm enough to snow Thursday. We hit double digits – woo hoo. but at 8 below, with a nice breeze, wind chill probably was -30 or so. Sure made the shower feel good this morning.

ice station #1

I peeked at the 10 day forecast. High temperature guess is 28 Saturday (2/21), but sadly nothing above freezing (or should I saw thawing?) for the next 10 days. I realize we live in the snow belt (80+ inches so far this winter), but these repeating cold snaps are really unusual. We’ve set or tied at least two local records for cold in the last week.

ice station #2

Don’t get me started on the roads. It’s so cold even salt isn’t effective. Combine fine, dry snow with a bit of a breeze and temps around 0 and the nooks and crannies in the road that provide traction get filled with snow. That turns into ice. On my 24 mile drive to work one morning I passed at least 12 cars off the road – some in VERY interesting positions. Glad to have 4 wheel drive.

Long way of saying – good lord am I ready for spring! Bowling has been fun this year – I’m even doing ok, but boy, am I itching for golf. Can’t wait.

Plus – we have a camper! Already have reservations for 3 trips this summer. Makes the anticipation that much worse!

4 responses

  1. Brian

    Send heat!

    February 21, 2015 at 5:14 pm

  2. I am so cold and snow weary. Each year gets worse for me. Like I said, I now understand why old people move to Florida. I may be the next old person once I retire….if I can ever retire.:-)

    February 23, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    • Brian

      I’m with you! This winter seems especially bad too. Think we’ve had our 4th coldest February ever and there’s no end in sight. The one thing keeping us from migrating south is the grandkids. Them and the 9 or 10 years we have left to work. If we’re lucky!

      February 23, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  3. monkey girl

    seeing those icicles makes me shiver!

    just thinking of driving in snow and ice makes me nervous, please be careful!

    stay safe!

    hugs,
    mg

    February 26, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Leave a Reply

