Always tweaking something!

Trying to get some culture up in here

Must be winter doldrums setting in. Just getting the urge to get out and do something. So last week we went and caught a performance of: Little Shop of Horrors

Which was preceded by a visit to the same theater to catch this years version of “A Christmas Carol” in mid-December. On the spousal units birthday. (Admittedly, only 2 days after my own, so no biggie there)

Then – I heard an ad on the radio yesterday (25 minute drive in to work turned into 45 minutes with all the people afraid of snow flakes around here – which is pathetic for a city in the snow belt) that the Preservation Hall Jazz Band was playing at another local auditorium (Kodak Hall at the Eastman Theater – guess were I’m from!) with the local philharmonic orchestra.

Got hold of the spousal unit for confirmation and scored us some 3rd row center balcony seats – on the aisle for 8pm Saturdy night. Valentines Day no less. Sure glad I didn’t opt for the chocolate tasting/hockey game the night before.

Considering our penchant for visiting New Orleans (4 trips!!), it’s odd that we’ve yet to visit Preservation Hall. I mean, it’s on the same street as one of the entrances to Pat O’Briens, and we’re n there 3 – 4 times each time we visit. Maybe they felt sad about that and are coming to visit us instead? Ya, suuurrre.

At any rate, it’s good to get the opportunity to go see the band.

Had another opportunity to get some culture a couple of weeks ago too. The band Rush is playing here this summer. The spousal unit and I have been a fan of theirs for years (too many to admit). The last time we saw them live was 1980-ish – so we were kinda due. Only problem? Concert was on a school night at an outdoor venue about an hours drive from home. What was even worse? It was on a Wednesday night. That’s golf night. So? I somehow missed the opportunity to get tickets. I’ll feel better if we have a rainy night at golf – then the concert would have been miserable. With up to 12,500 people there and only 3,000 or so seats under a roof, it could really suck in the rain. A rainy night golfing is better than a rainy night at an outdoor concert.

Anyhow, I’m assuaging my guilt with the Preservation Hall show. On Valentines Day. Breaking our decades long agreement to not do anything special for that fake, made-up holiday. Maybe I can leverage this into some Karma points for a little lee-way in the future – like an extra golf outing. Wait – does Karma work if you have to connive your way into it? Hmmmm . . .

3 responses

  1. Not sure Karma works like that but it’s good thinkin’ none the less.
    I saw Rush but in the 70’s. That is how old I am. Does it count I was in high school?

    I too think Valentines Day is a stupid made up holiday. I thought i was the only one. When I said that to a neighbor she said I was cold inside. That made me laugh out loud. I love that he brought me red tulips last week for no damn reason at all. I don’t need this silly holiday but if one must buy chocolate for me I’ll surely take it. 🙂

    Have fun with The Preservation Hall Show!

    February 11, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    • Brian

      Of course seeing them in the 70’s counts. Hell, I was in high school then too. I’d just gotten out of the Army a few months before we saw them back in 80 – so we’re not that far apart age-wise.

      Cindy & I agree that Valentines Day is a bunch of BS designed to fuel Hallmark Cards profits. Why pick a particular day to proclaim your undying devotion to someone? Do it whenever the heck the spirit moves you!

      It IS a great excuse for good chocolate and better wine tho, isn’t it?

      February 11, 2015 at 2:55 pm

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    Karma is like Murphy….It always shows up when you least expect it!

    February 11, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

