Always tweaking something!

Confessional

Day 3536

 

This is ugly.  I absolutely HAVE to get back into the FitDay habit again.  Record everything I eat, record every workout I get in.  Seems to be the only way to make myself accountable to my own self.  Been a little too much denial about how much exercise I get and how much food I think I’m not eating.

Getting to within 15 lbs of where I was when I originally started my diet 9 years ago will do that to a guy.  I just need to figure out how I can make use of my old library of food entries.  It’s too painful thinking about re-creating that while thing again.   I can use that library now, but it drags the entire history along with it, so it makes things slower to load, slower to run, etc.  It’s figure it out or deal with it.  Either of those options are better than ‘go without’ because I’ve shown I need a little help.

In other news – my league was supposed to start golfing LAST week.  We didn’t because of construction delays on the new clubhouse/restaurant/proshop.  Saturday we got an email from the owner.  We’ll be delayed at least 2 more weeks because they ripped out both parking lots and the road leading to them so they could re-pave them.  Now – you’d think this guy wasn’t a Rochester native because March & April around here are cold, wet & muddy.  Not ideal paving weather.  Know what the problem with the parking lots is?  Ground water seeping up  and rain/snow coming down.  It’s been too wet & muddy to get anymore done than rip out the existing paving.   Hmmmm.  Didja see what I said about March & April around here?  Might be time to have second thoughts about going back there next year if he’s going to continue to make poor decisions like that.  The owner already has everyone’s money for this year, so we’re all kind of stuck.  He (the owner) has some serious sucking up to do if he expects people to come back next year.  He does have a few things going for him.  1 – The course is really pretty good.  2 – The weather last week was lousy and the forecast for this week is worse – not likely we could have played anyhow.    But I will send them a teaser about being able to play at some neighboring courses.  Anonymously, of course.

3 responses

  1. I have to say it’s nice to hear a man talk about the stress of diet/exercise for a change!
    and if it makes you feel any better the weather here south of you is wet muddy and colder than normal so it isn’t much different than upstate NY. 🙂

    April 28, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  2. I’m trying out fatsecret.com, Brian, maybe a fresh start somewhere new would feel… fresher?

    April 29, 2014 at 7:07 am

  3. I’ve been a Type 1 diabetic for over 30 years and have struggled with the weight thing for the past 6 years (since ditching NYC and moving to the stagnant suburbs where one has to drive EVERYWHERE). About a year or so ago, I discovered MyFitnessPal.com and it really, really helped. It has a huge database of all things edible and you track your workouts there, too. I stopped tracking a few months ago and managed to gain back 6 of the 35+ lbs I lost so I’m BACK on it. Accountability really does help. Good luck!

    October 9, 2014 at 11:04 am

Leave a Reply

