Always tweaking something!

Milestone

Day 3000

Quitnet site stats on my first 3000 days of non-smoking

I have to add – the “Money Saved” is probably closer to $36,000. When I quit back in 2004, a pack of butts cost about $4.  Today that same pack is more like $10.

Finally got my ass back to spin class too. What with the new job and trying to get up to speed, then messing up my arm – it’s been too easy to manufacture excuses to not go. Not liking where my pants size is going, I am knuckling down and getting the legs moving again.

For the most part, I tend to stay seated. I don’t dare do any of the ‘jumps’ or ‘jogging’ or ‘squats’ because I can’t trust that I’ll keep my balance. All I need is one slip where I reach out with my right arm to catch myself and I could be screwed. Plus, some of the out of the saddle positions put a strain on your arms too. Last night I tried getting up to a squat like I was digging hard to get up a hill and I noticed that my right arm got really, really tired after only a minute or so. The fact that my lungs & legs were screaming was of no concern – they’ll get over it (maybe – my calves are still tight!). But that tired right arm was a sign that my butt needed to be in the saddle.

Now I just ought to talk to the instructors so they don’t think I’m a rebel or something and intentionally defying their instructions.

Work is challenging. I am SO behind. I need to start coming in evenings or maybe Sunday mornings – or at least carve out 4 – 8 hours a week at home where I can work. I need an office. Hmmm – basement re-model coming up, maybe I’ll slip something in there. If I can include a work area for the sewing machine, I can include a little office space. Might have to scale back the size of the long awaited pool table.

Speaking of behind at work, lunch is over, and so am I.  See y’all later.

2 responses

  1. WOWZ!!! Whatcha gonna do with that 36k savings? That’s awesome, Brian! I wish there were a better word than “awesome” though…

    November 14, 2012 at 3:44 am

    • Brian

      Sad part is, I have no idea where that 36K hasreallygone. Some to a YMCA membership, some to my bowling & golf leagues and maybe count some vacation trips towards that balance, but I sure can’t point to a bank account with that kind of balance. Damn!

      ________________________________

      November 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

