Always tweaking something!

Who Knew?

Day 2915

Spent some time thinking about my golf swing & grip. Decided to try another little tweak to the grip that would hopefully lessen the influence of my right hand and at the same time eliminate this nasty tendency I have to re-grip my club as I begin my back swing.

Buy the time I had worked through a small bucket of balls, I was pounding the ball really straight and in the direction I intended. A few managed to escape the driving range (after several bounces & some generous roll).

The happier part was that the straightness stuck with me out to the course. Too often things go well on the range but fall apart on the course. Last night at least I was consistently the longest hitter and with one exception, I was in the best shape off the tee. Contrary to popular opinion, longer is not always better.

Had one “oh shit” moment. Hit a great drive on a par 5. Felt I couldn’t reach the green in 2 because of a pond guarding the front of the green. It was 180 yards to the near edge of the pond (200 to clear it and I don’t trust my 3-wood yet), so I decided to lay up short of the pond and leave myself a comfy sand wedge to the pin. I picked an 8 iron which I typically hit 155, figuring it would leave me 60 yards to the pin. Wouldn’t you know that I hit the down slope heading towards the pond and the damn ball carried all the way to the water? I do NOT hit an 8 iron 180 yards. Hard summer fairways lie to you.

I can also confirm that while my arm feels no where near as bad as it did after the initial injury, golfing does seem to increase the tenderness. Torque-y motions are taboo, the numbness spreading down from my thumb is worse (for now) and other parts of my arm appear tired of compensating for the real injury. But I am the typical male and I will continue to golf and bowl until my doctor takes my toys away!

We’re off to a family reunion in Gloucester, Mass over the weekend. The kids get to show off little Miss Avery to many of these family members for the first time. Considering how flat out adorable she is, I will not get to spend much quality time with her – everyone else will want to gobble her up.

See:

Avery’s first day couch surfing

This is from July. She’s 7 1/2 months old and this is the day after she figured out crawling. I may be a little biased, but she sure is a cutie!

2 responses

  1. I love the name and she is fully made of adorable! It would be hard not to spoil a darling like that plumb rotten.

    August 16, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    • Brian

      I thought the kids found her a great name too.  Not common and not off the wall.  At not quite 9 months old, she has gramps wrapped around her little finger too.   I’ve managed to teach her the Bronx cheer too – had her doing it all day Sunday.  Kids just love that!

      ________________________________

      August 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

