Always tweaking something!

What I Done Did on my First Summer Vacation of 2012

Day 2881

If I were to count, I would note that I have a total of 9 nieces & nephews. Toss in my own 2 and there are 11 individuals in that particular generation of my immediate family. After this past weekend, more are now married than are single.

That, in and of itself is no big deal. It does however, lend a certain perspective to things. Want to know what is the most disturbing perspective? I have turned into my parents. Or rather, what I thought my parents were about 25 years ago. Don’t know quite how to resolve that, it’s going to take some time to sink in – even though I’ve been thinking it for a while.

Made a little trip to Chincoteague Island Va over the 4th of July week. Maybe you heard about that big storm that blew through Maryland & Virginia the night of June 29 – morning of June 30? We drove right through it. We didn’t see a lot of rain out of it (too bad too, could use it) but the wind was pretty fierce and the lightning was spectacular! I wished I could have stopped and watched it. Some blasts were tracing arcs several miles long across the sky – easily going beyond the breadth of my windshield and then some. That had to be one of the top 5 lightning storms I’ve witnessed and I’m really bummed that I had to drive during it all – kinda kept me from really enjoying the show.

After that though, it was absolutely gorgeous out on the island. If you like your daytime temps well into the 90’s with hardly any breeze. Thank heavens there was an ocean with a beach and water that was just the perfect temperature for cooling off in. And? In spite of my relative nearness to the east coast, that was the first time I had the opportunity to actually swim in the Atlantic. I’ve kayaked off the Maine coast and waded in the water at York beach, but the water temps up in Maine are lucky to ever see 60 degrees I would guess. Way too cold for me to even think about getting in deeper than my knees.

Took the old Raleigh Hybrid bike along too. Got in a couple nice rides in the early(ish) morning hours. Turns out that is you cross over to Assateague on a bike you don’t need to buy a day pass for the National Seashore, which is run by the National Park Service – I think like most of the Virginia portion of the island. (Yes, Assateague stretches from well south of the Va/Md border almost up to Ocean City, Md.) But it was good to get some riding in. Just wish I’d remembered things like my helmet, a couple of water bottles and my speedometer.

Also stopped in at the Wallops Space Center, a NASA facility that does dozens of launches a year – mostly sub-orbital research shots, but still – I got my geeky nerd fix and hit up their visitor center/museum. Very cool place (especially when it’s 98 outside) to spend an hour or two while the girls are out grocery shopping. I was hoping to catch a launch while we were there, but the next shot isn’t till July 20 – next Friday. Not making the 9 hour drive to see it, I guarantee that! Maybe I’ll dial up their Flight Facility web site and see it they have a web cam on it. (They do!!! Left column, “Launch Events” then “Launch Webcast” appears in the center column)

Guess what I’m watching next Friday? Might have to be a work from home day!

Gotta run, 2 reports to fix post-review and three more waiting to be written. At a week per report, I may never finish – there’s already 4 more jobs stacked up to do plus four factory inspections. Good to be busy!!

4 responses

  1. BTW correction… assateague island is the maryland shore part of it reaches into va but chincoteague is virginia.

    July 25, 2012 at 3:47 am

    • Brian

      Look at a map. Buy a grammar guide.

      August 13, 2012 at 8:25 am

  2. Was thinking the same thing…..Not mentioning which island the beach is on is kind of pointless. Especially when there are many places, on different islands, with the same name. That’d be like saying “it’s in Waimea, or Kailua” without specifying further….not too helpful!

    July 27, 2012 at 12:34 am

    • Brian

      Check out a map. I stand by what I wrote.

      August 13, 2012 at 8:25 am

Leave a Reply

