Always tweaking something!

I’ve been (almost) everywhere

Day 28xx

Just the other day, for no particular reason I had an odd realization. Well, I’ve had several recently, but I’m only gonna tell you about this one, for now.

We’re all familiar with this countries wonderful interstate system, right? I realized the other day that I have actually been on 3 of the 4 remote intersections of the interstates.

Several times in the late 70’s and once or twice in 1980 I’d driven through the intersections (interchanges I guess) of I-5 and I-90 outside Seattle. Twice in an Army deuce and a half. Fun trip that was.

Once in the late 80’s I drove through the I-95 and I-10 intersection in Jacksonville. After that trip, we always took A1A around the city.

More recently I had the opportunity to cruise the I95/I90 interchange in Boston. Parts of this are underground I believe. Not a lot to see there.

That leaves only the I-5/I10 interchange, someplace near LS, right? Trust me, I’m not in a hurry to get there, especially in a deuce.

Just made reservations to hit up New Orleans again this October. As ever, we will be staying right in the French Quarter – but well east of the debauchery that is the west end of Bourbon St. We’ll be back at the Bourbon Orleans, where if you make a wrong turn on Bourbon St you’ll end up at a gay bar. Always wondered why there were no seats on the bar stools there . . .

Actually we like it because of it’s proximity to Cafe Du Monde, Frenchman St, the shopping in the French Market or along Royal St. All those fancy pants places on Canal St? Too far from the fun.

If you can get to NOLA the first weekend of October, join us at Pat O’Briens where we’ll be chillin watching the Saints game on the big screen, outdoors sipping a hurricane.

Can’t wait.

One response

  1. Even as close as I am, I’ve only done a drive-by of NOLA – back in the mid-90’s. Sounds like a blast – have fun!

    May 29, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

