Always tweaking something!

Multi-front Progress

Day 2781

The contractors are taking advantage of our unusually warm & early spring. Having started March 28, the house roofing is done except for what they’ll be walking on to put on the new siding. About 1/3 of the siding has been torn off and all the old exterior light fixtures are down. They’re adding a layer of R-4 insulation to the exterior sides and today (I think) they are making the mods I requested to combat the wicked ice dams (I did a little Freudian slip and added the ‘n’ to that dam(n)s) we get in a typical winter.

Those changes? Pull the insulation out of the eaves and off the exterior sloped portion of the ceilings. Put in new rigid foam insulation over the interior portions of the house, add a shitload of vents to the underside of the eaves (soffits) and make sure that cold air can flow against the underside of the roof deck. The insulation is to keep the house warm, not the roof deck. When it’s 0o out, that’s a losing battle.

If a picture is worth a thousand words, what’s a picture of handwriting worth? Here’s my sketch of the damn dam problem:

My depiction of the damn ice dam problem

And now, progress pics:

 

Back of the house, day 3.

All the roof visible here is new.  The back porch isn’t changing much except to paint the skirting a new color.  The garage hasn’t been stripped quite yet so you can see the original color.

Our new color scheme - Mid 50's retro!!

Yeah.  The 1950’s Pepto pink is an additional layer of R-4 insulation.  Don’t look into the garage.  Most of the mess is from the contractors.  Really.

View looking east, with the forsythia bush in the foreground.

Another view of the front, catching glowing forsythia.  That sucker is 6 feet tall, only because I hack a foot of growth off it every summer.  Also makes for a boat load of blooms the following spring.  For the record, it’s blooming at least 2 weeks early.

 

My annual close up of the Forsythia bush next to the garage.

Yes, my obligatory annual close up of the forsythia.  The blooms are only this nice for maybe a week, then it rains yellow petals.

 

On other fronts, I am gaining some independence here at the new job. I’m catching things, noticing subtleties’ and asking fewer questions just to do the daily grind. That’s good. Also actually put in my time for last month, had billable hours, put in a travel expense report that will reimburse me over $600 for mileage on my truck, Thruway tolls (I-90 in NY & Massachusetts is all toll – $13 from just east of Rochester to just west of Boston) and per diems for meals. About $400 of that is pure profit.

On the other other front, something Cindy done did Sunday just pissed me off royally. It’s a microcosm of what I see as shit that needs to get fixed in our relationship. And this one doesn’t even involve booze. Haven’t sat her down and had a talk about it yet because I was still pissed and I needed time to process it. Needed to make sure my perceptions were correct. Has more to do with her not letting go AND the existence of double standards. Bottom line – she thinks she is the boss of me and she bitches at me about the same damn things of which she is guilty. If I point this out to her I get 3 days of golden silence while she pouts. Kind of a double edged sword I’ve learned to enjoy.

Anyhow. If she’s sober-ish tonight, I’ll sit her down and we’ll discuss it. That’ll probably lead to 3 more days of golden silence, so maybe I’ll sneak in some golf.

//

4 responses

  1. I love that “married to a control freak” is one of your tags. I also love that “renovating something” comes right after “relationships.” Because that sums up long-term relationships in a nutshell to me.

    Forsythia sounds like a really exotic STD to me. Like, the kind you’d get from a really high-class hooker. But regardless of connotations, those flowers are l-o-v-e-ly.

    April 5, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    • Brian

      Heh – the forsythia is planted next to a “burning bush”.

      Oh yeah, we have the forsythia right between the burning bush and the chlamydia. Talk about a nightmare of a doctors visit!!

      April 6, 2012 at 12:25 am

  2. Is it bad that I smiled a little over you enjoying the “golden silence”? I think we’ve all been there and I’m sorry to hear you are having to deal with it. I hope that the talk goes well!

    April 5, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    • Brian

      They never go as expected, and usually never as bad as I imagine. I should do it more.

      ________________________________

      April 6, 2012 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

