Always tweaking something!

1 out of 3 is Good in Baseball

Day 2611

The interviews Friday morning went pretty well. Felt like I connected with the interviewers, passed all the technical tests. Even remembered what a Smith chart was & what it represented. (It’s a plot of reactance & resistance -vs- frequency. You all remember that from your college days, right?)

The interview session consisted of 4 back to back 45 minute segments. Each interview covered different areas, but there were areas of overlap. They finished with me at noon. As I left their facility and got my phone fired up, I learned that I was getting peppered with messages from another company for a local job. Glad I had my phone powered down.

Once I got home, I responded to the requests from this other outfit (Field Engineer job working on X-Ray equipment). Have a phone interview with them Monday afternoon. Decent paying, interesting job.

Late Friday afternoon I learned that the place I interviewed with that morning will be extending me an offer Monday. This should be good news. But. The position is for a 12 month contract, it pays 20% less than I had been making and there is no guarantee that I’d be extended or picked up permanent after the initial contract.

Once I heard about the pending offer, I contacted the recruiter at TUV (my favorite place) and filled her in on the situation. I told her about the pending offer, my preference to work for her outfit, and also asked her if she had any insight into how much longer this process may take.

My bottom line is this: I’ll accept the contract offer, AFTER I get a copy of the contract to read over. I need to see what the escape clauses are. Because I will keep pursuing these other two positions, hell, ANY other higher paying, direct hire positions. If & when one comes along, I’ll give my two weeks notice and jump ship. It rubs me the wrong way to do that, but the job market has turned mercenary. I need to look out for my own best interests. If this first outfit wants to avoid this kind of situation, they might want to consider direct hire rather than contract.

At any rate, my extended vacation looks to be over. I’ve got a week to pound out some progress on the damn bathroom (counters are coming in Wednesday!!) I’ve also got to re-learn how to get up at 6 or 6:30 and get my day started at a reasonable hour. Sorta unlike staying up typing an entry at 1:20am. So I’d better get off to bed and start practicing, eh?

2 responses

  1. Congratulations on the job offer! And I think you are exactly right – take this one and keep looking. I really do think it’s almost expected these days. People understand when you need to get a permanent gig.

    So if your practice started early, you are already reading this on Sunday morning.

    Again, congratulations.

    October 16, 2011 at 7:32 am

  2. Congratulations! Things are starting to roll along :).

    October 16, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

