Always tweaking something!

Good News?

Day 2573

Starting to get the hang of being this “childless stay at home dad extraordinaire”. Today I get to go grocery shopping, then I have to hang some durock in the new bathroom shower. Busy, busy, busy!

Last night was our final evening for the golf league. We had a multi-tiered tournament (single, double & foursome) then headed to a nearby restaurant, The Dakota Grill and had our banquet. My partner John won the singles portion and the two of us won the doubles. Then John won season low net, I won for most bogeys in a round (8) and John won for something else. Each win netted us a sleeve of balls (3) that will surely get lost during play next season. It was a good banquet. Very irreverent bunch of guys, we all take turns taking pot shots at each other and have a ball the entire time.

Which will make the transition to tonight’s bowling league nearly seamless. Is that some good timing or what? I gotta go dig my bowling ball out from under the collection of bathroom supplies I have stored in the garage. I’m kinda worried that the reactive resin will have sweated out a bunch of lane oil and I’ll have to clean it up some. I’m thinking I might have to add some Soft Scrub to me shopping list. Love that stuff for degreasing & scuffing up my (bowling) balls.

The most important update of the day comes from an email I received last night right about the time I bogeyed the first hole (on in 2 and a 3 putt!) Horrible putting last night – there was a layer of sand sifted onto the greens and it affected the speed. Well, that and the remnants of Tropical Storm Lee that was blowing through. It was like playing in Scotland in the summer time – cold, blustery & a constant mist in the air.

ANYHOW! The email It was from the recruiter from TUV. The regional manager is headed out sometime in the next two weeks and wants to do another face to face interview. When I responded to the recruiter, I asked her how many candidates the manager was interviewing this trip. Looks like it’s only me.

So. It’s either A.) this whole process is going to take longer than I thought in that they’ll need more time to line up additional candidates or B.) if I don’t screw up the interview with the manager, I’m in. Guess which option I favor?

I gotta go it the grocery store. What do you need added to my list?

6 responses

  1. I wish there was a bowling alley close to me, I love to bowl!

    If you’re heading to the store I could use a vanilla pillar candle, some bananas, and whipping cream 😉

    September 8, 2011 at 11:52 am

    • Brian

      Could be the ingredients for a romantic evening, but that banana is a little scary.

      For reals? Got a candle like that last week, bananas are on my list (I detest them, but Cindy likes them for her lunches) and there’s a can of whipped cream in the fridge right now. Think we’ll have to change the water in the hot tub if there’s a whipped cream accident?

      BLT’s in for a fun night, eh?

      September 8, 2011 at 12:46 pm

  2. So glad you are still in the running for that job. Crossing my fingers.

    While you are out please get me some color safe bleach, I have laundry to do. Oh, oh and I’ve been a good girl so a peanut butter twix!

    September 8, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    • Brian

      Awww, too bad, I’m back already. I did get some laundry detergent though. If you were a really good girl, go talk to Lucy – she has some whipping cream to play with! (She might be saving that for BLT though)

      September 8, 2011 at 3:07 pm

  3. Could you pick me up a pint of Karamel Sutra ice cream, please?

    Hope it’s option B.

    September 9, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    • Brian

      Hmmm, Karamel Sutra ice cream, bananas, whipping cream and some Twix candy bars. Sundaes anyone?

      September 9, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Leave a Reply

