Always tweaking something!

T-0 We Have Lift Off

Day 2567

I used my Facebook account to “Check out” of work for the last time. Coughed up my laptop, my pass, did the exit interview, gathered up what few personal items I had left, shook a bunch of hands on my way to the door and went through the veg-o-matic for the last time. The finality of the of the turnstile clanging shut as I walked out did not escape me.

Oddly enough, even in this odd age I find myself where I’ll tear up because of a sad story on TV, I did not shed a tear as I made my way out to my truck. In spite of having no definite job prospects, there is a sense of relief. It’s possible I’m done grieving for the loss of my job. It’s equally possible that I’m still deeply in denial, in spite of the 150 resumes, dozens of phone interviews and 3 or 4 face to face interviews.

I have some activities planned for Tuesday morning that I hope will take my mind off the fact that I won’t be driving to work. I also have plans to make the job search my primary job for the foreseeable future.

Secretly, I am still cautiously optimistic about the TUV job. I got some unofficial inside info – they’ve interviewed at least one other guy that didn’t leave them with a warm fuzzy feeling. They are supposed to let me know next week. I’ll give them til Wednesday before I call. My former co-workers have also been fantastic with offering ideas, contacts, head hunter names – everything I need to move forward.

It’s just what I’ve been telling people for the last week or so – the people I work with are fantastic. It’s the institution that sucks. The company president could use an infusion of humanity.

In a departure from the normal “lets take the poor bastard out to lunch” for his next to last day, I publicly declined lunch and invited everybody over to my place this afternoon/evening to share beer that “doesn’t start with ‘Bud’ or end in ‘Light'” Even though it was the start of Labor Day weekend, I had a nice crowd of 10 – 12 folks stop by. It was a wonderful late afternoon gathering and I got to show off our kitchen and some of the other work I’ve done around here.

With that done and Cindy still off chaperoning a soccer game, I may just go hop in the hot tub and unwind before bed.

3 responses

  1. Here’s to a new beginning and better things ahead.

    September 2, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    • Brian

      Amen sister!

      September 2, 2011 at 11:22 pm

  2. Ethel

    Its gotta be a huge relief though to be done waiting for the end. Relax this weekend. I’d say you deserve it. Now your focus can be on your next big opportunity.

    September 2, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Leave a Reply

