Always tweaking something!

The End Days

Day 2550

One more reason why I’ll be glad to get the hell out of here – my supervisor is an ass. Want to know who I met today? My replacement. The poor, reckless project manager I am currently working with stumbled into introducing us today. My supervisor scheduled a meeting with me Friday (which I declined but offered up some time on Thursday, which HE declined and settled on Wednesday) where I presume he intended to fill me in on the details. Oops – he was only a week late. This is the bozo that supposedly went to bat for me in the ranking process earlier this year.

Now they want me to do the equivalent of the Vulcan mind meld with this guy so he can get up to speed on what I do. Good fucking luck. Fire me instead. I’ve had several people tell me they are impressed with how well I’m holding up given the circumstances. I tell those same people they can’t believe how incredibly bad my internal attitude is. The new guy – well hell, I can’t take it out on him, but he isn’t going to get a lot of help from me. I have 2 ½ weeks left to work. That’s a little more than one paycheck and a couple day of earned vacation (that I get paid for). They could walk me out tomorrow and it wouldn’t make a whole lot of difference.

On a lighter note, check out the disappearing car video:

Love the peoples reactions! So gullible.

Now. Here is an interesting list. It’s the top 100 banned or challenged books

Looking through this list, I’ve read these:

1. Harry Potter (series), by J.K. Rowling
14. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain
19. Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
36. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
46. Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut
49. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, by Ken Kesey (actually saw the movie, didn’t read the book)
69. Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
90. A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeline L’Engle

Some of these are childrens (or young adults) books fer crying out loud! The remainder makes a great list of books that I probably ought to try and read.

Now this list is a list of challenged classics. This particular version of the lost only includes titles for which the reason for the change of ban are known & published. You can see those reasons down below the list.

What I’ve managed to read off that list:

2. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
4. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
8. The Lord of the Flies, by William Golding
9. 1984, by George Orwell
15. Catch-22, by Joseph Heller
16. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
29. Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut
33. The Call of the Wild, by Jack London
40. The Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkien
45. The Jungle, by Upton Sinclair

I wonder about the ones they didn’t list. Also think that the ones they did list that I haven’t read yet ought to be on that list of things I should read. Looks like I’ll have some free time coming up soon(ish)

Update on the TUV job is on hold. The recruiter I was dealing with has been out the last couple of days and hasn’t gotten me scheduled for that group screening. I’m trying to be earnest in asking for updates without becoming a pest. I’ve held off replying to her “I’ve been out” email so I can use that as an additional reminder Wednesday morning. This is a difficult balance to achieve. The job is critically important to me, but I don’t want to piss her off. Perhaps I’ll find a tactful way to mention that in my response. Any ideas?

Heck, it’s 4:15, only 15 minutes before my official end of the day. Guess I’ll post & scoot. What are they gonna do, fire me?

(Updated because I hit “Publish” instead of “Preview” and I apparently forgot how to add references to other schtuph! But it’s better now. I’m not, but my tags are.)

Leave a Reply

