Always tweaking something!

A Little Light Reading

Day 2537

I was reading an article from The Daily Beast via Yahoo News on some of the effects of the budget deal/compromise reached in Washington this week. This particular article was very defense budget centric, but a paragraph or two at the end was pretty disturbing.

I’ll quote the offending paragraphs here:

”Indeed, many analysts in Washington say hacking up the defense budget is a bad idea, not only for military families, but also for the nation, unless, as Thomas Donnelly of the American Enterprise Institute, says, “you can promise that there will be nothing but peace, love, and tie-dye for the next 12 years.” Otherwise, he says, Americans will be in trouble, since the reduced budget will mean the United States will have to retreat from its role as superpower.
“Do you want to share the world with the Chinese or with nuclear-armed Iran?” he says. “The only thing worse than Americans running the world is someone else running the world.””

To get the full context go read the whole article

Now, I’m just as patriotic as the next guy. I served in the (volunteer) military, I’ve marched in Memorial Day parades, I support our vets and I am as frustrated by the need for increased security as anybody else. But what the hell is this “American Enterprise Institute” and how long till we start seeing some flack from this Donnelly’s borderline white supremacist opinion on world politics? I think the nuclear-armed Iranians might just aim their first missile up his ass.

‘Scuse me while I go find out who, what & where. I want to keep a safe distance from that guy.

In lighter news – it’s golfing day! Could be an interesting round tonight too. Forecast is calling for a 50 – 70% chance of showers during those 2 – 3 precious hours we’ll be out golfing. Lord knows we need the rain and golfing in the rain isn’t too bad, but dancing around those lightning bolts can be a bit worrisome. This particular course has no real shelters out amongst the tees & greens. If we get called off the course for lightning (a sane choice!) the only option is to beat feet for the clubhouse. Hiding under a tree is not an option. It’ll keep you relatively drier, sure, but tree are lightning attractors. Too many people have been whacked on golf courses because they sought refuge under a tree. Maybe I should just hold up that dang hybrid 3-iron. I can’t hit it, maybe God can’t either!

Oh! I was digging through my photo archives looking for some decent Facebook profile pics. Didn’t find any. Big surprise too. I’m usually on the wrong side of the camera. I have very few pictures of myself. That’s probably a good thing. But what I DO have is a picture of the shoes Kelly was wearing for their wedding. Hidden safely under her dress were a pair of these:

Kelly's favorite color.

That cool, or what?

I gotta go do some more job applications. Later.

3 responses

  1. Hey, send me a link to your FB page! Thenbi can stalk….err I mean “friend” you :p

    Love those shoes!!

    August 3, 2011 at 10:09 am

    • Brian

      Check your email! Found Ethel too. How wierded out would she be if I sent a request?

      August 3, 2011 at 11:23 am

  2. G.G AKA Ethel

    I love those shoes! How fun :). Send it laundry boy. I’ll take all the friends I can get! Of course then you’ll see that I’m just as ditzy on fb as I am on my blog… my fate as a dumb blonde will be sealed.

    August 3, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Leave a Reply

