Always tweaking something!

The Wayback Machine

Day 2510

Did I tell you about our fiasco in switching our house land line from our original carrier over to our wireless carrier? And how our DSL service got knocked out in collateral damage? We’ve been trying to get our DSL back, but DSL only packages are riDICKulously expensive.

The tech guy was out today to explain all this crap to Cindy. (a full week after we originally lost our DSL). Well, tomorrow, MAYBE, we’ll re-join the civilized world, can our wireless carrier for the land line, get a new to us phone number for our old fashioned land line and still save $40 a month.

When the wireless carrier tries to bill us for early termination we’ll just tell them to eat it because of how they royally effed up our internet service. Don’t know what that will do to our cell phone plan, but we’ll have to risk it.

So, these last two days at work? Pounding the job applications out. Six yesterday, 12 today. One local job flipped me out. The contact person for the job is a guy I went to college with for my Associates degree way back in the last century (1982 actually). No way I am confusing this guy with someone else – he has a VERY unique name.

There were only something like 12 of us in the program back then. I am hoping that seeing our school name and graduation date will fire off a few memory cells and it will hopefully work in my favor. I had a higher GPA than he did though – hope that doesn’t work against me. Maybe he forgot that little detail over the past 29 years.

One thing (of many, many things) I really dislike about current job search protocols & techniques is when the application asks you what your salary expectations are for a given position. I will usually try to answer something like “fair and reasonable for the position and geographic area”. Unfortunately many sites are set up to accept only a numeric response to that question. From what I’ve learned, one is NOT supposed to mention salary so early in the process. Some places even advise that the first person to mention a number is in a weaker position.

I know what I make now. I can look up what houses comparable to mine cost and gauge the cost of living in a given area. But what if the number I guess for salary is too far out of line with what a company is prepared to offer? How can this NOT turn into a bidding war? Three people with similar experience aren’t equal if one of them guesses $10K lower on the pay scale.

Then there’s the another facet. That job I interviewed for locally (well, in Penn Yan, 58 miles away “local”). Great job, right in my wheelhouse, I could have been up & running at that job in a few weeks. Problem is it only paid $28K less than I’m making now They didn’t make me an offer because their pay scale was so out of whack with the rest of the state (and they admitted that and said they were working on correcting their wage scales)

The way things are going right now, if they make me that offer 8 weeks from now, I’d take it. I’m keeping them on my radar screen. And I hope one of the dozen and a half apps I’ve put out in the last two days hits a compatible recruiter.

16 days till The Wedding V.2!! Eric is getting all anxious & hyper. It’s kinda funny. I have my tux, Cindy has her dress (finally!), hotel and rehearsal dinner reservations are made. I think the wedding party guys, including the dads, are going on a golf outing the day before (7/22). That’ll be a blast. And yes, I’ll have pictures of the festivities to share once I recover from the festivities.

Now I have to go and clear out 160-some odd emails that have been piling up thanks to our little internet snafu. dammit.

10 responses

  1. I want to see a picture of you in your tux jacket, shirt and tie… and your bike shorts!

    Now THAT would be a picture! *wink* LOL!

    July 7, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    • Brian

      You & Ethel have an unhealthy obsession with biking shorts.

      Want me to flex my quads?

      Sent via DroidX2 on Verizon Wireless™

      July 7, 2011 at 10:53 pm

  2. G.G AKA Ethel

    I think we just get all focused on what someone is witholding. Bust out some pics of the shorts and we’ll move on to somethin else ;).

    July 10, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    • Brian

      I’m almost frightened by the prospects!! What’s next, no shorts? (Actually, there’s a picture of my butt someplace back in the archives. Late Sept/early Oct. 2009 I think)

      Edited to add 9/23/09. Great pic too.

      July 12, 2011 at 5:25 pm

  3. G.G AKA Ethel

    Tease!

    July 12, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    • Brian

      Makes you want it even more, eh?

      July 13, 2011 at 9:09 am

  4. G.G AKA Ethel

    Perhaps I should be careful what I wish for? ;).

    July 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    • Brian

      You didn’t like my butt?!?

      July 14, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  5. G.G AKA Ethel

    What?! I somehow missed that I should go on a treasure hunt for a boo-tay pic. You aren’t making this easy on me!

    July 15, 2011 at 3:09 am

  6. G.G AKA Ethel

    There is something wrong with you. You’ll snap a pic of your hiney all nekid and bruised but we can’t have a bike short pic? *sigh* Well, at least now I can say I’ve seen your butt lol.

    July 15, 2011 at 3:12 am

Leave a Reply

