Always tweaking something!

Distractions

Day 2499 or so

Had a bit of a rough patch. Thursday I was setting up an x-ray generator (not one of our own) for a little dog & pony show aimed at impressing a potential client. I was using an older Siemans table as my work station. Had to move the table top, but the table was powered down. No biggie, I went to the end of the table and applied the mass of my ass and got it moved where I needed.

Later, I needed to move the table top back. I went to the other end and leaned on the table again. Should have watched where I put my hand. I found the bracket that the cassette/sensor slides in – with the index finger of my right hand. Tore off a nice chunk of skin right at the base of the nail. Bled a little bit, but I was able to grab some tissue & kept the blood mostly to myself. Had to dig into my stash of band-aids to keep the bleeder capped.

After I got the demo set up I had to leave for a job interview. Don’t get excited. The job, as it is today, would involve a $25K pay cut and increase my one way drive time from 15 minutes to an hour. Biking, bowling & golf would be goners. The hospital wants to do wholesale pay grade changes for their biomeds PLUS they’d like to let their radiology equipment service contracts lapse and let me take over all their stuff, making me their radiology engineer. That would make me worth even more, but I think it would still come in at $10K less than I’m making now. I could swallow $10K if it were a 15 minute commute, but driving an hour in the winter on 2 lane country roads? I don’t think so.

Unfortunately, I think I interviewed well enough to get the job. We’ll see if they make an offer later this week. I’m askeered they may make me an offer.

Friday, back at the salt mine, I was packing up some equipment to drag to another facility for testing Monday. We added some bumpers to one end that weren’t accounted for when we made the padding in the transport case. No problem really I could just carve it a little with an Exacto knife. After I made the last cut, I turned away from the case, kinda flicking my right hand away. Well, that hand had the knife, with it’s VERY new blade, in it. Apparently it wasn’t far enough away from my left hand. My right hand inflicted a lovely cut on the index finger of my left hand, right out on the tip. It chewed up my one band-aid stash. Just glad it happened at the end of the day. Once I got home I did a better job of bandaging the poor thing. It’s tough heading into a weekend with two banged up index fingers. Even tying has been iffy till now (Sunday evening)

The last event of the weekend involved my old phone. Seems the screens on the Crackberry Storms have a tendency to stop acknowledging presses after a couple years. Mine went from being mildly annoying no flat out not working in the course of a week. The fix? Bail on the Berry, do the Droid. Oh my! What a difference.

Now if they could just get a WordPress App that worked on the X2, I’d be dang near ecstatic. Still have to learn how to use it though. Got a phone call today and didn’t know how to answer it! Toys these days . . .

6 responses

  1. It’s just a flesh wound!

    June 26, 2011 at 11:39 pm

  2. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. I saw Spamalot this past week. Watch it with the sharp objects and do not run with scissors, you hear?

    June 26, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    • bikinfool

      Ni

      June 27, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  3. 1. Ouch!
    2. Ouch!
    3. Carry around more bandages!
    4. Get an IPhone my friend!

    June 27, 2011 at 12:33 am

    • bikinfool

      Ouch 1 is coming along nicely.

      Ouch 2 stil likes to bleed if I uncover it. I trimmed off the flaps of skin that will never re-attach (minor) but it’s slow to close.

      Re-stocked my desk drawer Band-aid cache.

      Got a Droid X2. Incredible phone, just doesn’t have a working WordPress app. Yet. Heard the efixxes were in teh next release of Droid system s/w.

      June 27, 2011 at 1:33 pm

  4. G.G

    Good Grief! Be more careful….can’t be bleeding on the clean laundry. Eww, I’ve been in that position of being afraid of being offered the job, no fun.

    June 27, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

