Always tweaking something!

Doesn’t pay to be careful

Day 2482

While playing golf (poorly) last night, we came upon a hole where one had to make a decision about what to hit off the tee.

There was a creek that crossed the fairway. It was 210 yards TO the creek, 235 to clear it. Considering how I’d been hitting the driver off the tee, I had already switched down to my 3 wood for a little more control. 235 yards into a slight breeze would require a near perfect hit out of me. Instead of tempting fate, I decided to lay up short of the creek. Initially, I picked up my 4-iron, intending to land short of the creek. Having second thoughts, I changed to my 5-iron, which would (should) travel about 10 yards less, affording me some margin of safety.

Know what happened? I hit the mother loving shit out of that ball and had a bit of the old power draw working. As the ball landed in the fairway, it hit on a bit of a downslope and bounded forward. I could SEE the ball bounce twice before it rolled out of sight.

As my partner and I drove down to the creek to size up our second shots (John hit driver and cleared the creek with room to spare) we came to the realization that I actually hit a freakin 5-iron 210 yards (with roll) and plopped my ball in the creek.

I’d have been better off using my driver and mis-hitting it like I’d been doing all night. At least it wouldn’t have cost me a stroke for landing in the creek. Tried to be cautious and play it safe and fate spanked me hard.

Lesson learned. Next time on that hole I’m hitting a 6-iron. I’ll play chicken rather than safe. (Actually, 6-iron off the tee would leave a 6-iron approach shot – not all bad!)

On the bright side – I did manage to sink a chip, and I played the 4-iron worm burner bump & run to perfection 4 times in escaping from tree trouble. That’s way too often for one round.

3 days till the Tour! If’n you’re so inclined, click that ittle badge thing up there on the right and drop a little coin into my sponsorship bucket. Because of the nature of the business, you will get to learn my real name and I will likely also learn yours. I will pledge my undying respect for your privacy in return for your sponsorship. If you’re already donated – THANKS! It means a lot to me that we can help in the fight against Diabetes.

6 responses

  1. azzweepay

    Dropped a quarter in your drum. Good luck with your ride.

    June 9, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    • bikinfool

      Heya Joe,

      Thanks for the quarter big guy! This will help make someones life a little easier, I’m sure. You still blogging? Send me a link if you are.

      Thanks again for the help!

      June 10, 2011 at 11:43 am

  2. All that Golf talk is like a whole different language to me!

    June 9, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    • bikinfool

      As is shoe (or any) shopping to me!

      You gonna go out & pedal this weekend?

      June 10, 2011 at 11:44 am

  3. G.G

    I’m thinking Putt putt golf is more my speed. Especially if there is also laser tag!

    June 10, 2011 at 3:04 am

    • bikinfool

      Can you combine putt putt & laser tag? That might be a cool game. If someone could figure out how to install bumpers on a real green, that’d be a good idea too.

      June 10, 2011 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

