Always tweaking something!

Rapture +2 (ok, 3 now)

Day 2465

Geeze, don’t know whether to be disappointed or not. I’m still here, apparently so are you and about 7 billion other folks and their pets. Either God, Yahweh, Bhudda, Allah, your higher power or whoever the heck it is decided we are all unworthy (possible I suppose) or that Fruitcake Camping misinterpreted a bunch of quotes he was taking completely out of context.

I’m a little relieved too. Jill’s due date for grandkid #1 has been calculated (with a little more accuracy than Rev. Camping’s prognostications) as 11/11/11. Had Camping been correct, (suuuuuurrrrre) we’d never get to see the little bugger. As it is, we can all go on with our lives, just as we’d planned all along.

The other reason I know I’m not in heaven? That damn master bath isn’t done. I do have all the drains but one installed, have the vent put in finally (only needed one day free of rain!!), got the supply lines run to the shower & toilet and am working on the tub & dual vanity supplies. Ought to be a blast – have to solder joints that’ll be above the ceiling of the first floor and below the subflooring of the second floor. It’s a nice dark, dusty place. If you slip, you earn a free trip to the kitchen – through the ceiling. Doubt that would hurt much at all . . .

I actually got out and rode Saturday morning too. Wedged in 28 miles in 97 minutes. Not incredibly fast, but at least it was a ride. Maybe I can get in 40 this weekend, and 60 or 70 the first weekend of June. While doing the Tour, there are 2 points where I can choose to shorten the route without going ff course. The first spot would cut the 100 miler down to about 65. The second cut would only knock off 20 (of the more scenic) miles. Depends on legs & weather.

Got in a ride to work this morning too. Gotta love those tail winds – this was my fastest trip of the year. On 4 separate occasions this morning I’d pull up to a stop light just as the dang thing turned green. Of course I’d braked to a near stop losing tons of momentum, only to have to crank it back up again. Had I made all those the lights (like I did Saturday morning) I might have shaved another minute off my time.

The downside of having a tail wind in the morning is that it’s a head wind in the evening. The other downside? There’s a greater than 60% chance of thundershowers this afternoon. At least my bike will get washed. Tonight’s big decision? Do I bike from work to spin or from work to home? I may head to spin, but if it rains and I get soaked I’ll just detour home. And? My right knee is getting cranky. Ever since Friday it’s felt tight – like it’s too full inside. Doesn’t hurt to bend it, hurts to kneel on it and hurts more to put a load on it. Oddly enough, biking doesn’t seem to hurt it. Walking is odd in that it takes me a couple strides to warm up. Heaven forbid if I have to put any lateral load on it, like make a quick turn. Then it gets all tweaky.

~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!

As it turns out, the ride to the Y was dry but windy. Was a little tight on time, but got to sit & pedal idly on the spin bike before class started. Never did stop sweating. Rain held off through class and let me get home dry too. Except for the sweat.

Bushed, rambling pointlessly. Ought to get to bed. Helluva good idea.

Seen on the web recently. Up until recently, it really seemed appropriate.

INSTALLING SPRING…
■■■■■■■■□□□□□□□□□□□□□□ 44% DONE. Install delayed…please wait.
Installation failed. Please try again. 404 error. Season not found. Season “Spring” cannot be located. The season you are looking for might have been removed, had its named changed, or is temporarily unavailable.
Please try again…

6 responses

  1. I’m glad you are able to get some bike time in. I don’t know when I’ll be able to do the same. As always, I admire your home improvement skillz. I hope you will be sharing pictures.

    May 24, 2011 at 10:11 am

    • bikinfool

      I sure know how you feel about squeezing in bike time. Hate it when I fee like I’m stealing time from anything to indulge the biking bug. But it’s exercise and I need that, right? Maybe that’s why all these programs stress self care – we guilt ourselves into NOT doing it because of other(s) needs.

      May 24, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  2. G.G

    I agree on the self care. Keep yourself near the top of the list so you don’t go nuts.

    May 24, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    • bikinfool

      That whole self care thing must be doubly hard for moms. I’m sure they feel the weight of caring for the whole family and their own care constantly gets shoved down the list of needs.

      While I appreciate the encouragement, know that it goes double for you!!!

      Thanks GG

      May 24, 2011 at 3:49 pm

  3. 11/11/11? You may be hearing screaming in stereo 🙂 That’s when my beaner is due too!

    Love your spring loading. Pretty much the story around here. It tries to load then effs up into a summer like day and then back to cold. Make up your mind already!!

    May 24, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    • bikinfool

      Oh cool – common due dates! I’ll have to keep an ear open when the daughter-in-law gets ready to go. November is a busy, busy month in our clan too. Odds are good that the little one will be born on some relatives birthday.

      I think we get your weather, just a day later or something. The best I can say about it lately is that it’s been variably shitty. It’s like spring is a month behind or something. Maybe I’m only remembering the good springs from the past, but this one might get remembered because of how bad it’s been.

      May 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

Leave a Reply

