Always tweaking something!

54 Silly questions

Day 2460

Because I’m sitting here at work and just can’t bring myself to actually get anything done besides search the on-line classifieds for job postings, I thought I’d torment you with this list o’questions.

Before the silly questions, 1 sad note. This is week 4 of my golf league. We’ve been cancelled again tonight for the third time. Too much *&@#$* water on the course. We’re sad to not be playing, the golf course operators are even more sad. We pay for xx weeks in advance. Our league end date keeps getting pushed out so the course operator is losing non-league revenue from the post-season golfers because he has to honor our contract.

With no further ado, the list:

Which song did you last listen to?
Current ear worm is Rusted Roots “On My Way”

What’s the last thing you ate that was red?
A piece of tomato in todays soup @ lunch time. If that doesn’t count, then it has to be an apple for lunch Tuesday. Had that after the bag of red grapes and the sweet peppers in my enchilada.

Have you ever questioned your sexuality?
Lately, considering the lengthy drought that’s happening, yeah. I’m wondering if I’m a eunuch. Oh, wait. They’ve had something surgically removed, haven’t they? So do you still qualify if it just falls off?

Have you ever lost a best friend after a fight?
I may. That dust up isn’t settled yet.

Have you ever washed an iPod or mp3 player in the washing machine?
I washed a thumb drive. It’s the one I still use to archive all my blog & job app stuff. My old mp3 player succumbed to sweat. Gross, I know.

Have you ever screamed / yelled angrily at a teacher?
I pulled rank on a lab TA once. It was at night school at RIT. The TA, 15 – 20 years my junior was being porky and coming up with some really BS requirements for a lab. I told him to zip his lips. In the real world conciseness counts and all the flowery BS he was asking us to do was a waste of precious time and he wouldn’t be seeing it from me. I got an A on that lab. (Our entire class also griped that we spent twice the time on lab homework as lecture homework, but the lab was worth only 1 credit and the lecture 3. We asked for a balance in either work load or credits. Guess how that turned out?)

Have you ever acted like you understood something when you didn’t?
Only inconsequential stuff, usually just to get the other person to shut up.

Have you ever pretended to be older than what you are?
Only when I was too young to buy beer.

Have you ever cried because you were turned down?
No, but I do have an inordinately acute fear of rejection.

Have you ever had a pregnancy scare?
Why yes. I even paid for an abortion when I was a young lad of 21.

Have you ever pretended to like someone when you didn’t?
No. I just do a shitty job of pretending to tolerate them. They usually get the idea.

Have you ever stolen money from one of your parents?
Money, no. Cigarettes, yes.

When did you last see a movie in theaters?
Alice in Wonderland? The tail end of Avatar’s run? Back around then. Sad, I know.

When was the last time you baked / cooked something?
Monday night. NY strips and grilled asparagus. My pee still stinks, but it’s sooooo good.

When was the last time you danced like a crazy person?
Kids wedding, 6/6/09

When was the last time you just wanted to be invisible?
Monday night at spin class. When I had Foot in Mouth disease.

When was the last time you got a gift you absolutely hated?
I was a kid, maybe 8 or 10. My Mom’s extended family had a Christmas gathering at the Grange Hall in Phelps, NY. There was a sort of pot luck gift exchange. I ended up with a roll of toilet paper that had jokes printed on the individual squares. It was apparently brought by some distant Canadian relatives that thought they were supposed to bring gag gifts. Never saw them again. The TP ended up being used precisely how it should.

When was the last time you had to sleep with a nightlight?
Never used one.

When was the last time you were under some serious stress?
Besides now? This impending job loss has got me pretty tweaked.

When was the last time you watched your favorite movie?
I don’t really have a favorite movie and I tend to not watch any movie over & over. What’s the point when the ending isn’t even a surprise?

When was the last time you downloaded a song?
Been a while. Still had Limewire on the home laptop before the drive crashed. Is Limewire still semi-legitimate?

What would you say is your favorite hobby?
My favorite one would be hunting & fishing. The one I see to do the most is remodeling projects.

What is your favorite thing to do when you hang out with friends?
Golf, bowl, play volleyball – almost any sort of physical activity followed by a cold beer.

What would you rather do: shower or bath?
Shower. With a friend.

What do the majority of people think of you?
Friendly, bright, humorous, eternal optimist, decent athlete, procrastinates like a mofo but still dependable.

What is the color if your cell phone, if you have one?
Black. So trendy.

Would you ever donate money to charity?
I do all the time. Want to sponsor me in the Tour de Cure? Hit my TdC button up there on the right side bar. Even $5 helps in the fight against diabetes.

Would you ever dump the person you’re with for someone cuter?
More sober maybe. But I’m over ‘cute’. Is she a good kisser?

Would you ever disown one of your relatives?
No. Limit contact, yes. Declare & uphold boundaries, yes. Deny their existence? Couldn’t do that.

Would you ever cheat on someone if they cheated on you?
If cheating on me consists of drowning your sorrows in a bottle of booze 5 nights a week for 12 years, then yes, I’ve got that one covered. Next time I’ll make a clean break. Cheating really bugged the hell out of me. The sex was great, the guilt was greater.

Would you ever consider becoming a teacher?
Love to.

Would you ever give a hitch-hiker a ride somewhere?
Depends on what she looks like.

Would you ever try to quit one of your addictions?
7:00 PM 8/22/2004I quit smoking. (2,460 days ago, but who’s counting?) (See the number at the top of every post?)

Would you ever die your hair purple?
I’m having enough trouble keeping it on my head. Why add to its stress?

Would you ever try being with a member of the same sex?
Been there, done that, didn’t get a membership card.

Would you ever kill yourself to save someone else?
One of my kids I would, provided it wasn’t because they did something stupid. And by kill myself, I’m not talking putting a bullet in my head. I’m talking stepping in harms way to push them to safety.

Would you ever spend $100 for the best tasting hamburger in the world?
Nope. I’ve heard of some more expensive than that though.

Would you ever consider becoming a nun?
Not a chance. I think my dangling participle excludes me from the club.

Would you rather chew gum off the ground or kill a squirrel?
Kill a squirrel. Check.

Would you rather have a turtle or a frog for a pet?
Had 6 tadpoles. Their propulsion system doesn’t have the poop to stay out of the pond filter. Killed ‘em before their legs were big enough to harvest. Oops.

Would you rather dye your hair green or blue?
See my answer to Purple hair.

Would you rather text or talk on the phone?
Talking on the phone omits enough nuances as it is. Texting can be too damn literal. Omfg, lol. (By the way, if you ever get a text from me, it will NOT contain any of that text speak shit. I refuse.)

Would you rather spend a day with Lady Gaga or Miley Cyrus?
Really? How about someone my age?

Would you rather learn to play piano or guitar?
Guitar. It’s easier to carry.

Would you rather have a stomach-ache or headache?
I have more experience with headaches. My stomach is partially cast iron and can tolerate heavy doses of habaneros.

Would you rather be overly interesting or overly dull?
Interesting.

Ever told someone that your fake jewelery was really real?
Jewelry? I don’t even wear a watch.

Did you ever watch The Adventures of Alex Mack?
Who?

Who has the worst public restrooms?
Asia

Would you eat cat food for $500?
Canned or dry?

Who is the last person you smelled?
Sadly, Cindy’s fruity booze breath last night.

Name a song that got overplayed really fast.
I tend to listen to Classic Rock stations. 15 – 40 year old songs are kind of hard to over play. There’s SO MANY of them. HOWEVER – we do have a local station that thinks every other song has to be either Zepplin, The Beatles or The Stones. That gets old fast.

Do you shop at Payless?
Nope.

When’s the last time you had a popsicle?
It’s been years.

3 responses

  1. G.G

    Why are you smelling your pee?

    May 19, 2011 at 2:53 am

  2. G.G

    Smelly urine link is broken. OHHHHHH DARN!

    Ha!

    May 19, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

