Always tweaking something!

I Got the Muse in Me

Day 2454

I’m a day late and several dollars short, but I have to get this week Microfiction Muse in.  Heck, Diane is even using one of my pictures!  So, without further ado, I give you:

“Kid, we gotta get out of here.  You see that wall of water coming down the river?  Grab your dog and let’s go!”

It helps knowing that picture was taken on either Royal St. or Bourbon St. in the French Quarter of New Orleans.  We’re trying to plan a trip back down there this October with one of my brothers, but it depend heavily on how things go down there with the current flooding situation and with how my whole job situation turns out.

Speaking of the job situation, I had a phone interview again last week.  It turned out to be more of a coaching session with a recruiter looking to fill a position in a town 35-ish miles east of here.  The position is for a job very similar to what I am doing now, just with different end products.  The potential salary should be no worse than a lateral transfer and might include a little bump that would offset the additional commute costs.  The 35 mile trip eliminates the possibility of biking to work though and it would also screw with bowling and golf.  While those are priorities, I’d have to bite the bullet and make some changes.

I also applied for a biomed position at a hospital 4 miles east of where I work now.  Don’t know the salary for that one, but I might be willing to take a little hit in pay to stay local.  That application went in yesterday and I haven’t heard any feedback yet.  Soon, I hope.

Lets see – biked to work Monday & got in a spin class.  Biked in today and plan to do a spin class again tonight.  If I count spin class as 20 miles, that’ll give me 2 40 mile days this week, plus what ever I can sneak in Saturday morning.  Judging by the weather forecast, it might be spin class only.  Maybe I’ll take Friday off again, bike in the morning and work on the bathroom in the afternoon.  Hmmmm, I’m suddenly feeling a little sickly . . . .

I got a bit of an unsettling revelation last night, and it’s something I’ve suspected for a while.  Cindy is hoping that I find a job in another city and we are forced to move.  Seems that she’s looking at the potential move as a chance to start over in a place where we (she) has no history.  Personally, it seems to me that she’s hoping to apply a geographic solution to a problem that is more internal in nature.  A geographic solution won’t work if you take your problems, faults and/or issues with you.   I don’t think moving for the sake of moving will solve anything.  As a matter of fact, I think it will only serve to isolate us and force us to deal with the issues between us.  Or not.  Time will tell.

2 responses

  1. Great MM!

    I am definitely in agreement with you that changing locations DOES NOT solve problems. It usually makes more because you are in a new place with no support system. Hope you (she) finds the help she needs to find freedom! :O)

    May 12, 2011 at 1:25 pm

  2. G.G

    Wherever you go, there you are.

    I agree, geographic changes may bring about a false sense of a honey moon period and some positive changes could be made BUT it doesn’t address the root problems.

    Still sitting here at the opposite end of the Interstate wishing you the very best!

    May 12, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

