Always tweaking something!

What Now?

Day 2544

First, todays big news: Osama Bin Laden is dead.  Supposedly.  I didn’t stay up late enough to catch the Presidents speech last night and bailing out of this mornings bike commute (again) cost me what little news time I get in the morning.

So Bin Laden is gone, buried at sea in an attempt to follow Islamic custom and bury the body as soon as possible.  Nice.  No evidence.  DNA verification inside of 20 minutes?  That proves exactly what to whom?  I’ve yet to see pictures of him with bullet holes in his head.

Even if we DID finally get him after 10 years, what now?  The Taliban has already signed up to avenge his death, surely others in his organization will step up, what about the possibility of dozens of sleeper cells being planted with instructions on what to do in case of this very circumstance?

I don’t know.  I can’t see how killing Bin Laden has really solved anything.  All those millions of dollars spent trying to find him and not one of the people he is responsible for killing has been brought back to life.  Granted, he will kill no more, but his minion will.  Glad I don’t live in a big city with lots of targets.

Friday’s bike ride home was a bit of a disaster.  I got out of work, early, with the intention of taking the long way home and getting in a 20 – 24 miler.  That plan got changed when I got out to my bike and found the rear tire flat as a pancake.  In and of itself, this is no big deal.  I have the tools & skills to repair a flat.  But this is the 5th flat I’ve had on this particular rear tire in about 1,000 miles of riding.  Ridiculous.

I flipped my bike over to its back side, took the rear wheel off, got out my tire tools and pried one side of the tire off the rim.  As I was rotating the wheel freeing up the tire, I picked 3 pieces of rock chips out of the ‘tread’ of the tire.  (‘tread’ because I ride tires that are slicks pretty much.) Each of these chips worked through the tire itself and had an edge poking through into the tube area.  3 pieces of freaking stone!!!  Worse, I saw ALL the evidence of prior cuts, some large enough to make me wonder hoe the tube wasn’t poking out through the tire tread.

Long story short, it was an hour before I could actually start the ride home.  Add in some sprinkles, drizzle and a nasty head wind and I was content with getting in just 11 miles.  (Not really, but I have to make some headway in that bathroom project).

Saturday morning I snuck in a freezing ride to the Y (380), got in a spin class and a very slightly warmer ride home.  In the afternoon I managed to get one wall of the bathroom squared up, moved a heating vent that was in the way of a new wall, and got all the prep work in for securing that new wall.  This week I’ll putz around with that wall then hopefully net week I can get the plumbing vent moved and get the drain plumbing situated.

No real update on Lefty’s condition.  Learned some new words though.  “Idiopathic Interstitial Lung Disease” is the doctors way of saying “you have a disease in your lungs and only your lungs that is of unknown origin and we don’t know wtf to do about it yet”.  A more invasive biopsy is scheduled for Thursday that will actually involve a 2 or 3 day hospital stay.   The niece that we helped move 2 weeks ago?  That’s his daughter and he’ll be in the hospital for her birthday.  That sucks.  So we’re going to take the niece, SIL and other brother & SIL out to dinner to help forget that shit for a bit, then go back & invade the hospital and try to make Lefty feel less bad about having to be there.

Yeah, that’ll work.  Hopefully he’ll be on enough pain meds he’ll sleep through the visit.  Even after the biopsy it’ll be a minimum of 5 days before any results are in.  Why can’t this be an episode of “House” so we can have 5 doctors dedicated to figuring out what this weird shit is?

9 responses

  1. I’ll be thinking good thoughts for your brother. My understanding is that the procedure is pretty rough – I have a dear friend (I’m visiting her in FLA next week) who has something like this.

    May 2, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    • bikinfool

      From what I’ve been able to gather on wiki-this and google-that, the docs will sneak in between the ribs with an endoscope and some sort of tissue cutter/collector instrument and gather 2 or 3 thumbnail sized pieces of lung. I imagine it will feel like getting kicked in the ribs once the anesthesia wears off.

      I’ll toss in some wishes for strength & healing for your friend as well. Maybe all those good vibes floating around will stick where they’re needed.

      May 2, 2011 at 2:28 pm

  2. I’m really anxious to try out the bike BLT bought me… but alas, I live in the Puget Sound and in the foothills of a mountain at that… so that means it will be warm out some time in July!

    May 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    • bikinfool

      Now, I had the pleasure of living out that way from January 1978 to June 1980. My unit was stationed at North Ft. Lewis and we were no strangers to the Sound & mud flats. We got to do LOTS of camping up in the mountains too.

      Tell you the truth – you guys have a better riding season than we have here in the snow belt on the east coast. True – you gotta learn to call 45 degrees a ‘nice day’, and fenders are mandatory to keep the road spray down. But if I can toss on a pair of spandex shorts and ride four miles to the gym on a 38 degree, well, maybe I’m nuts and you’re home in bed warm, trying to snuggle and fending off curious kids.

      You get your beanie? No riding without a brain bucket!!!

      May 2, 2011 at 10:54 pm

  3. I haven’t found the perfectly cute Brain Bucket of my dreams yet…but I’m on the lookout.

    I’ll be sure to get one before I hit the road!

    May 2, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  4. G.G

    Best wishes to your bro. That has to be very frustrating to not know what is going on.

    May 3, 2011 at 11:52 pm

  5. Joe

    Do they make radial tires for bicycles yet?

    May 4, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    • bikinfool

      Heya Joe,

      Yeah, there are tubeless tires for bikes. There are also tubes with goop inside that’s supposed to seal flats. I hear the tubeless work pretty well but the goop just makes for a messier tube to repair. One of these days I may make the jump. Problem is if you fry a tubeless 50 miles from home you’re toast. A tube you can fix, until you run out of glue & patches.

      My wise ass cousin suggested cast iron. Big help, that one. Of course, he rides a carbon frame too.

      May 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm

  6. AC

    I completely missed the announcement too. I was passed out cold by that time.

    Hope the bro is getting better. Hopefully the more invasive biopsy shows something not too bad in the end.

    May 7, 2011 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

