Always tweaking something!

The Doorway from Hell

Day 2437

It’s not like this doorway was a portal to Dante’s 3rd level or anything, but it was easily the most difficult and trying door installation I have ever done.  It was also the smallest and lightest door unit I’ve installed in quite some time.

In the new master bath I’m doing, I had the bright idea of knocking the corner off the room and putting the doorway into the bath the 45O wall.  Genius move.  Eased the corner, made the bedroom appear larger and didn’t cost much in the bath area space wise.

I figured out how to frame the funky 135O corners and had the layout down to the point where I even knew <i>where</i> the walls & corners had to go.  I got the old closet wall tore out & new wall put in Friday, built the beveled wall with the door frame and put that in Saturday.  Had to do some long mitered rips on 2×4’s in order to create studs to have something to attach drywall to.  Those cuts were tough.  My table saw doesn’t have that large a table and holding 8’ long pieces of wood straight, level & square AND guiding it into the saw?  Quite a challenge.

Anyhow.  Got the wall in, hauled the door & frame upstairs and did a rough check for fit.  Things seemed big enough, there would be shimming required but that’s pretty normal for doors.

Sunday morning I started to putz with the door some more.  I think the wood in the door frame warped & twisted overnight.  There was no way I could get the door to fit plumb & square.  I ended up ripping the hinge side of the frame apart and re-built it with old wood.  I used old wood with the expectation that it was done drying out and what ever warp/twist/wane was in it would stay.  Even after re-squaring the frame, it took about 1.5 hours to finally get the door set in place.  It could be that trying to watch the Sabre’s game and installing a door simultaneously was a bad choice in multitasking chores.  I’m happy to say that my door turned out better than the Sabre’s efforts though.

Now with that door in, I can drywall the complete exterior of the bath and hopefully contain the worst of the mess.  Next up is building the interior walls and getting the electric run.

No real news on the job front.  Head from a head hunter down in Harrisburg, sent him some vitals.  Also sent a thank you note to the interviewer from that Pittsburgh job.  I am trying to compile of reasonable questions I might ask him, just to be sure my name stays on his radar screen.  I think that’s a job I’d really, really enjoy.  Hate to lose out on it.

Next weekend we get to head to Syracuse & help Eric move.  With the wedding not too far off and his lease up for renewal, he & Kelly decided to get a bigger apartment.  They’ll be moving into a 2 bedroom unit – IN THE SAME BUILDING AS HIS CURRENT APARTMENT.  This <i>could</i> be the best move ever!  We have to move him from the third floor down to the first.   The bad part?  No work gets done on the bathroom next Sunday and meetings prevent me from taking the day off Friday.  Maybe take ½ a day?  Decisions, decisions.

Oh!  Here’s a shot of what the bathroom plans look like:

The latest Grand Design.

(Click to embiggen!)

This doesn’t show the existing windows.  One is entered on the south (bottom) wall, one is in the lower end of the west (left) wall and a third is on the top end of the west wall.   Combined with the dual windows on the south wall in the bathroom, we have really nice air flow & light.

One way or another, this may be my last big project.  If we end up staying here, the inside of the house is done.  All that needs doing is the roof.  If we move, we’re buying new and getting it done how we want.  I’ve look at existing stuff on the market in a few areas.  For the most part, it’s kind of depressing to think about all the work that would have to be done to get any of them re-configured to how we like.   At the tender age of 52, I’m kind of done with that shit.  I just want to go ride my bike.  Yes, I am channeling that Queen album right now.

Gotta go mourn my USB hub design.  Too *#^$ slow.  Back to the drawing board.

5 responses

  1. I’m always amazed at what you find to do in your spare time! Seriously, you’d best post pictures when you are done.

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you on the job hunt. I hope you are handling it as well as it appears. I would be pulling out my hair.

    April 25, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    • bikinfool

      Like I said though – this one is it. Maybe a roof next year, but I’m done with projects. I’d much rather ride my bike & garden a bit.

      We have dozens of pictures of the progress. What I’m not too sure of is if there are pictures of the bedroom before I popped that wall out & re-did things. We tend to not have cameras in the bedroom much. As features get installed, I’ll post progress reports.

      April 25, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  2. GG

    I have a little flooring project when you are done with the door! It should be a breeze 🙂

    April 26, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    • bikinfool

      Just tell me it’s not in the laundry room!

      April 27, 2011 at 8:55 am

  3. GG

    Even better! Bathroom.

    April 28, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

