Always tweaking something!

Post Mortem

Day 2427

Please excuse the gruesome title. I’m only referring to a brief description of the Pittsburgh job interview after-party.

I thought the interview went well. I had prepared a few notes for myself on things to avoid (sarcasm, one-liners, filers like ‘uh’, ‘ah’, ‘umm’), questions I wanted to ask and answers to questions I thought the interviewer might ask. I am happy to say I was surprised by nothing, thught I built up a good rapport with the interviewer (but that may be in HIS skill set too).

The job is to repair and maintain radiation oncology equipment at 19 different sites in and around Pittsburgh (henceforth and forever more known as Pbrg). Initially the job would start out on day shift while the newbie goes through OJT and formal training in the manufacturer’s class room. (A week in Vegas to learn all about Varian detectors!! I just have to avoid showing up on an episode of CSI!! Training on FUJI generators? A week in California? Such a shame!)

One good thing was that UPMC realizes that they’d have to train anyone they hired – this is a VERY specialized job. The better part is that I already have a pretty thorough understanding of a lot of the equipment. I don’t know it to the point where I could repair it, yet, but I have a leg up on much of the competition.

The interviewer left me with the impression that I was a strong contender to be invited down to Pbrg for a secondary interview and some site visits.

The job title is Radiology Engineer, but the minimum education requirements were only an AAS degree. It just so happens that my AAS is in Biomedical Engineering and I have 20+ years experience with X-ray film processors (Lotsa A/C power to deal with) medical laser printers and film-less scanners & detectors. While UPMC does not use much, if any, gear from my present employer (I silently did NOT shed a tear over that) I’m hoping that my background is extensive enough to sway the decision my way.

And? They offer relocation assistance. Even if they just paid for the movers, that would be a huge help.

I’m a little regretful that this Pbrg job was the first to show any real potential. I kind of wish that some spots here in Rottenchester would have popped up first so I’d at least have a basis for comparison. Because frankly? Besides being extremely excited by the possibility of starting a new career in a new city, I’m also scared shitless. I know NOBODY in Pbrg. Well, except the interviewer and good ol’ Mom-on-Roof (who is over due for a “WTF you doing girl?” email) and she’s not even “in” Pbrg.

That’s all the awfulizing (tm – Roxie) I’m going to do on that subject. Interview went well, prospects look good, moving is a scary thought.

What didn’t go well yesterday? Rode the ol’ bike in to work. Felt slow & sluggish. Rode to the 5:15 spin class at the Y. Took a new route that carved nearly a half mile off the ride and it use much more scenic roads. Spin class went well enough. Ended up sitting next to a guy that, well, we’re sort of nodding acquaintances, having seen each other in spin many times. It was good to sit next to a guy that was at a similar fitness level. We seemed to be fairly well matched and managed to push each other a bit. I think. Maybe he was just being nice and let me think I could keep up with him. Then there was the ride home. Funny how you never notice a tail wind but you’re ALWAYS aware of a head wind.

The last thing in the not going well department would be Cindy’s condition during and after the interview. She kept quiet and out of the way during the interview itself, (in the hot tub), but had been drinking before, during and after. She was asking questions, trying to ascertain how the interview went. Unfortunately, she was (more than) drunk enough that she really only asked the same 3 questions over and over, maybe hoping that I’d change my answer. When I started responding “asked & answered, next question” she finally gave up.

After getting in 20+ miles of biking and another hour of spinning, my legs are appropriately whipped today. What’s on tap for tomorrow? My niece is moving in to her new-to-her house. We have to be at her place outside of Buffalo at 9am for the moving festivities. There’s a 90% chance of an all day soaker in the rain category. I can’t wait. I need to find all the clean tarps & plastic sheeting I can tonight.

Oh – “we” would be the moving crew. It includes her dad (lefty) and both NY based uncles (basically our bowling team), our spouses and hopefully what ever young, strong beefy male friends Lizzie can dig up. This is the ONE TIME I hope she has tons of male friends. Any other time, I might have to kick their collective asses.

Time to go rest up!

3 responses

  1. GG

    Wohoo! Way to go on the phone interview. That has to feel good.

    April 16, 2011 at 1:37 am

  2. Glad to hear the phone interview went good!

    A 2nd shift radiology engineer? There’s such a thing?? I thought there was some kind of union law that said that inhouse engineers had to vacate the grounds by 4pm! Sounds challenging! Will you actually get to fix the stuff or be first call for basic repairs and call in for the rest?

    April 16, 2011 at 10:09 am

    • bikinfool

      Heya AC,

      Actually, as of today there isn’t a 2nd shift Radiology Engineer. UPMC wants to bring in someone, train them on all their equipment, ddo some OJT with them for a month or so then turn them loose on B shift. Their idea is to use B shift to do PM’s, & repairs. Then they don’t have to take the equipment off-line for maintenance work when they could be treating peoples cancer.

      That’s the other thing – this is ALL Radiation Oncology work at all the UPMC sites in the area. Lots of travel, but all within a 100 mile radius. Except for the training in Vegas (such a bummer!)

      For the record – I’ll resist joining a union for as long as I can. They’re like the Borg or something.

      April 17, 2011 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

