Always tweaking something!

The Best Planned Lays . . .

Day 2425 The Best Planned Lays . . .

But first, Micro-fiction Muse #2, hosted & carried on by Diane (Trouble maker!!)

The inspiration:

No body treated his friends that way and got away with it. There was hell to be paid and the scum that hurt her was about to settle up.

Now go read this guys REAL story here. I’ll wait.

Amazing story, wasn’t it? What? You didn’t go read it? Do it. Now. It’s brief. Go. I’ll wait.

Now. Abut that title. That’s “best laid plans” you say? Ever hear of the Reverend Spooner? He was an actual preacher that had the unfortunate habit of randomly swapping the first syllables of words. Perhaps it was an early undiagnosed form of dyslexia. Anyhow, these little mixed up phrases came to be called “Spoonerisms. So you see, the ‘planned lays’ and ‘laid plans’ swap is an old literary tool used since at least the 1800’s. Even Grandpa on the old Hee Haw show used to use them. (Boy, is that dating me or what? Call BR-549)

Anyhow.

I had planned to ride my bike in to work today (Wednesday). Yesterday morning those plans got changed. I need to be in beautiful downtown Rochester this afternoon at 4pm to wrap up the paperwork for Bob’s estate. A whole year & 2 months after he passed away, we finally get his estate settled. I dragged my feet on some of it, the lawyers were tied up on other matters for some of it, but it all gets wrapped up this week.

And? Considering my pending job status, the question of whether or not I should take my commission has been answered. After taxes, this commission will buy me several things. A few months buffer on unemployment, moving expenses, or a new roof if I land a job here in town and we end up not moving. And that’s just my commission.

I have to admit, the prospect of moving anywhere, Pennsylvania, Florida, Texas – where ever – is both exciting and dreadful. What upsets me most is the thought of having to give up the house & property I’ve put so much of myself into the past 18 years. It really makes me wonder about why we put so much time & effort and money into changing a place, knowing that it’s all temporary. Is it really that important?

Gotta get back on track here. So. Riding plans derailed by a lawyer’s appointment. Missing out on the riding sucks. Missing out on riding in the rain sucks a whole lot less. While I would have been pedaling this morning it poured. 48 degrees and pouring down rain is NOT conducive to good health for the rider or his bike. So I ought to thank the lawyer for talking me in off my bike today. But tomorrow? Fair game baby – time to ride.

I’m trying to get that phone interview for the Pittsburgh job set up for tonight or tomorrow night. Still haven’t heard back from the interviewer yet. I hesitate to call him lest he try to start the interview on the spot. I could wriggle out of it, but how would that look? I can easily see that EVERYTHING is a test in this situation. Hmmm. Maybe I SHOULD call anyhow? Tonight, after work, but before my declared ‘free time’. When I’m on the road maybe – I can even call legally by New York standards and show how well I wedge things into my schedule.

I need to steer my 1 on 1 sessions with Janine in a different direction. We’ve been focused on the job search lately. That’s been a worthwhile endeavor, but it isn’t servicing our primary aim – fixing the relationship. That is becoming increasingly complicated. There are at least 3 possible outcomes and an unlimited number of paths with which to get to these places. I’ve made the conscious decision to only act on what I know right now. There are soooo many ‘what if’s’ hanging out there that I could awfulize on them forever. But I am choosing to behave according to what I know to be true. I AM keeping an eye toward the future and what may be, but I’m not going to stop doing something now ‘in case we have to move’ 6 months from now. That will lead to paralysis.

How is it I can’t stay on track today? Need to steer counseling sessions back to relationship repair. Case in point – last nights continuation of the Tuesday night drunk. It’s up to 5 or 6 weeks running now. We do counseling Tuesday night. Cindy is done at 6 regardless and heads home. Depending on if we are in a doubles or singles session, at 6 I am either just arriving for my 1 on 1, or I might be leaving after a double, but in either case I have Al Anon in the next town over at 8pm. I look at that as my one night to have Chinese for dinner, so I go and enjoy myself.

Oops – gotta go run off to the lawyers and get this estate settled.

6 responses

  1. He’s gonna be dishing it out alright! I pity the fool…. :O)

    April 13, 2011 at 3:38 pm

  2. GG

    “awfulizing”! I seriously like that term and am going to add it to my vocabulary. I’ve wasted a lot of time awfulizing over the years.

    “Hello my name is GG and I’m an awfulizer!” “I’m sorry I can’t take your call, I’m awfulizing right now.” “I can’t come to work today, I’ve been struck by an awful case of awfulizing.”

    hmmm awfulizing somehow made me think of waffle and now I’m hungry. Awful….waffle..only a few letters off really.

    April 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    • bikinfool

      Well, I suppose it IS dinner time out your way . . .

      That “awfulizing” I’ve borrowed from Roxie over at Gravel & Rust. I think she’s in my side bar. Awesome gal.

      April 14, 2011 at 8:17 pm

  3. GG

    p.s. Hey, a best planned lay is a good thing.

    April 14, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    • bikinfool

      Had one with the fwb busted up last week. Probably for the best . . .

      April 14, 2011 at 8:18 pm

      • bikinfool

        Guess it’s hard to stalk from the other end of I-90 isn’t it? But I don’t know about that picture thing. Hell, I’m hardly even comfortable in those damn bike pants, I might need relief from laundry duty before I consider making something like that public. (Or a raise!)

        And watch that salt! You get used to how food really tastes pretty quickly.

        April 14, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

