Always tweaking something!

Microfiction Muse and More

Day 2417

There was a meme that ran a while back called Microfiction Monday.  The originator of the meme has apparently been beamed out of cyberspace.  <a href=http://dianeestrella.com/> Diane</a> is one of three people to pick it up and run with it.  Here’s my swing at her first prompt:

The picture worth 1000 words, but limited to 140 characters:

Micro-Fiction prompt

 

 

My piece of micro (or pico) fiction:

Angie bought a new hat to wear for the races at Upson Downs. She hopes the Queen approves.

Yeah.  Femto-fiction.  (that’s 0.00000000000001) Only because I like the alliteration.  Isn’t the gal in the picture just striking?  That looked to me  like a hat Queen Elizabeth might wear.

Know what kills me?  Well, ok – it annoys the beejeebers out of me, but kills my laptop.  There I was, sitting at work.  I have a Linear Technology circuit simulator running some sims on an annoying little bug in one of my boards that may soon become a ‘feature’.  I also have a corporate mail client/database/document archive up (Lotus Notes.  Anyone else hate it?)  I have a web browser up, kinda surfing some of the returns I’m getting back on job posting searhes.  Probably have an instance of Word up, a calculator window (scientific mode please) and quite possible a file compare tool for one of my little tangent side jobs.

The simulator, which has been running fine most of the morning, apparently hits a little teensy snag and sends both processors into over drive.  I can hear the laptops cooling fans come on.  The calculations ease up, the fans turns off and disaster is averted.  That time.  Two more trips through simulation hell and my laptop shuts down.  No warning, no nothing, just a black screen.  Simulator worked so hard the laptop had a melt down.

I rebooted and dove right back in.  Flipping simulator ran just fine.

Tempus fugit.  It’s later now.

Had counseling tonight.  Can’t seem to bust through this plateau.  My own part in it is fostering poor communication.  Rather than address it this weekend, we made it worse.  Of course, one of the things contributing to making it worse is my unwillingness to initiate or continue a conversation with a person that is showing signs of having too much to drink three or more nights a week.  Three of the other 4 nights she’s at an AA meeting.  The dichotomy is confusing.  Don’t want to end it, don’t want to keep living this way.  Something’s gotta give.

 

5 responses

  1. She is striking – and I love the hat. I wish women wore hats more often.

    As for the something’s gotta give, I hear you. I hope you find a solution that works for you. Being in limbo just stinks.

    April 6, 2011 at 7:45 am

  2. Definitely worthy of the queen! Great MM this week. :O)

    April 6, 2011 at 10:29 am

  3. She does look very classy in that picture! Great microfiction 🙂

    April 6, 2011 at 3:14 pm

  4. Yeah,I bet the Queen would approve!

    April 7, 2011 at 8:37 am

  5. GG

    Definately a fine hat for the races!

    April 9, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

