Always tweaking something!

I can Tell I’m Starting a Project

Day 2409

Yeah, I know, crazy a it sounds I’m re-doing our mater bath. Even with the job status in limbo, we’re going to tackle this. We have half the materials, we have the other half of the money. If we manage to stay, it’ll be a killer bath. If we have to sell, it’ll be a fantastic selling point.

Anyhow. Got the old 4th bedroom stripped, got the old master bath stripped, except for the toilet. No water supply though, so no peeing in the toilet. It’s only there because the trap blocks the sewer gases. I will have to yank it at some point, but for now, it stays. (Actually, with a 5 gallon bucket of water, I could get 3 flushes out of it. Hmmmm . . .)

Like I was saying, I can tell renovation season is upon us. Two days of actual work and my hands are already beat up. Stabbed my left thumb with a flooring nail as I was carrying a load of old oak slats down stairs. I think I managed to keep most of the blood on the slats as I headed for the bathroom and the band aids. Didn’t hurt much at all, but boy, did it bleed! I have this gouge in my right pinky finger, right on the outside of the first knuckle. No clue how I earned that one. It did hurt though, but only when I caught the flap of skin that was dangling loose from the cut. So I got rid of the flap. Feels much better now. I also have a gouge taken out of my right thumb, but that’s more like a tiny chunk of road rash. Don’t think it even bled any (but I’d better go check the carpets just in case.)

Of course, by Sunday night my knees were sore from kneeling on hard wood floors all day, and my back was sore from bending over ripping up the hard wood floors I wasn’t busy kneeling on. But then things got better.

Last week, we smoked a small pork loin for dinner on Sunday. (A “small” loin starts out around 3 pounds. I cut ‘em down some from the butchers whole loin offering.) Because there was going to be gobs of space left in the smoker, I also got a roaster chicken ready to go the night before. So we had the smoked loin for dinner and I stripped down the chicken and put it in the freezer, figuring I’d make a gumbo with it later on.

Last night was later on. After I was done bleeding for the day, I washed up and commenced on slicing & dicing the veggies. Got my roux done, steamed/sautéed the veggies and some chorizo (sssshhhhh, that’s all I had for smoked sauage) and got the stock added back in. Let that stuff get happy for a couple of hours.

Oh! I did have Andouille sausage, but it was fresh style, not smoked & pre cooked. Got that stuff chunked up and added it to the stock & roux so it could get happy too.

Then I grabbed an Irish Stout and hit the hot tub. Amazing what soaking in the tub will do for you. Muscle aches? Gone. Sore knees? History. Cuts & scrapes? Still a pain. Can’t have everything I guess. But boy, did I feel better.

Got back inside, added my chunked up smoked chicken to the simmering stock and checked on the rice. Then, just in time for Amazing Race everything was ready to go. Smoked Chicken & sausage Gumbo, a big assed tossed salad (to fill up on, so as not to go all bat shit with the gumbo) and a slice or two of sundried tomato & parmesan bread.

The fresh sausage made a huge difference in the gumbo. It’s a radically different taste from the Johnsonville Andouille we get around here. I loved gumbo before, even with the smoked/pre-cooked sausage, but the fresh stuff adds a whole ‘nother layer of flavor. And the smoked chicken? Almost as good as the smoked turkey. Got to add more cayenne this time too because there weren’t any people eating it that thought something like a jalapeno was ‘too hot!!’. Sissies.

Anyhow. Good Gumbo and a dip in the tub is quite enough to cure what ails you. For an hour or two. Then you realize that Monday morning is still coming. Or actually already went by. Now I have to think about getting to spin class. Funny – the hot tub did NOTHING to make my glutes & hammies feel any better.

4 responses

  1. geekbetty

    lawdy! I want to come to dinner at your house!

    March 30, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    • bikinfool

      Door is always open – bring an appetite and an appreciation for dark beer.

      March 30, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  2. G.G

    You are making me hungry.

    March 31, 2011 at 1:26 am

    • bikinfool

      Well c’mon over and have some dinner. If you can get here by noon, I’m having some of that gumbo for lunch today. If I can wait that long.

      March 31, 2011 at 8:44 am

Leave a Reply

