Always tweaking something!

My Apologies

Day 2404

I feel a need to apologize to folks from Toronto to New York City, including Buffalo, Syracuse and north central Pennsylvania. This past weekend I did three things that may have contributed to the 4 – 6 inches of snow we’re expecting today.

Guilty act #1 – Had some cabinets for a Master Bath re-do dropped off. They’re being stored in my side of the garage. I’m parking outside. Sucker.

Guilty act #2 – I had the audacity to get my bike down out of the storage loft in the garage and start to tune it up for this summer.

And the killer:

Guilty act #3 – I put the snow blower in the shed. Way off in the far corner of the back yard, as far from the driveway as I can get it.

So, much like washing your car in the driveway surely causes it to rain the next day, these three acts of wanting Spring to hurry it the fuck up and get here already have saddled millions of people with an extra 6 inches of snow that they really didn’t want.

Check this out:

Did I do that?

Yes, I know that map is showing a solid band of snow as far back as the Dakotas, but I’m claiming that crossing over Canadian air space limits the extent of the curse. Besides, that’s all upwind. The really sad part? It’s not expected to get above freezing around here Monday.

What’s that you say? What the heck am I doing, re-doing the master bath? Odd considering my present circumstances, isn’t it? Well, ya see, little things like 4 windows, cabinets, tubs, toilets, sinks and plumbing fixtures we already had ordered. All that’s left to get is countertops and tile for the floors & shower. Well, drywall, backer board and various other sundry little things. We’ve never been happy with the master bath (such as it was) and decided over the winter to re-do it. Now that we have the bulk of the materials in, we kinda gotta finish. The prospect of possibly having to sell the house makes it even more important that it get finished. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I find a suitable job here in western NY, but I’ve heard rumors that the Rottenchester job market is the 8th toughest in the country lately.

Got 10 applications out in the past week. Six for local jobs, one in Watertown and 3 in Pittsburgh. The jobs in Watertown, NY and Pittsburgh are a perfect fit for my degrees and temperament. But Watertown? Colder, more snow, possibly more depressed than Rottenchester. Pittsburgh? What is it with all the houses having the garages built under the main floor of the house with half of them having rear entry? And why do they mow their lawns with a pair of scissors? (Because half the back yard is taken up by driveway so they can pull into the backyard basement garage bays.) Weird.

Prices in either location compare favorably with the market here, but looking at what’s available just depresses me. I’m going to stop looking at Real Estate and focus on jobs. Once a job is secure, I’ll worry about where to live. But the thought of giving up what we’ve built here just saddens me. Need to stop focusing on it. Now.

Don’t these people watch HGTV? Good lord, what are they thinking?

3 responses

  1. G.G

    Well now you’ve done it!

    March 24, 2011 at 12:32 am

  2. Lapintornade

    We are having 90 degree days this week. I think you did a great job with the weather. Please take a dollar out of petty cash.

    March 24, 2011 at 10:37 am

    • bikinfool

      Got a spare room? I’ll cook for my keep.

      March 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

