Always tweaking something!

Six Months

Day 2389

Maybe 6 months. That’s how long I have to find a new job.

This is such a foreign concept to me. I have been continually employed, in the service (I guess that’s employed, right?) in school or some combination of the three since something like 1972. Well, from ’72 to ’77 I worked at a mom-n-pop grocery store stocking shelves, cleaning windows, running the cash register and loading beer barrels into cars.

But in all my adult life I have never been without a job. The last time I even had to apply for a job was back in 1985 when the division I was with was facing some significant lay offs. I managed to hook up with a different division and I’ve been here (there?) ever since. Matter of fact, May 22 will be my 29th anniversary with the original company, 26th anniversary in this division (which, since 2006 or so is a wholly owned subsidiary of a Canadian conglomerate. Eh?)

I found out Monday. I’ve tweaked a resume, last done in 1998 as I was wrapping up my night school activities and was just fishing around to see what was out there. I’m also on Monster now (who isn’t lately?) and a couple of local sites. Six months. WTF am I going to do?

I was dreading telling Cindy last night. Then the kids (Zach & Jill) called and asked if we were home. I’d just gotten back from the gym, Cindy was at an AA meeting for the first time in weeks. I ‘splained the situation to them, but they wanted to time their arrival for when both of us were home – so we waited till 8:45ish.

I smelled a rat just based on my text conversation with Zach. His excuse was that he wanted to drop off a CD for a program that he’d borrowed. Hmmm. Need both mom & I home to do that? No need – drop it off later – I just wanted to create a back-up for the disc anyhow. But they insisted on stopping by. When I pushed a little more for a reason I got no response.

Know why? That rat I smelled, well it wasn’t exactly a rat. It was more like a zygote. More like good ol’ Jilly won’t be seeing her Aunt Flo for, ohh, say 9 months or so. Now, you’ll all have to keep this hush hush and make sure to not tell any of my real life friends & relatives. (Tough request, eh? How many do YOU know?) The kids want to keep news of the kidlet quiet till the end of the first trimester so they’re doing a limited announcement at this point. So far Jill’s parents, Cindy & I, Eric and maybe Jill’s younger brother are in on the news. Jill doesn’t want to tell her older brother yet because he can’t keep a secret to save his life.

All things considered, I didn’t end up breaking the news of my pending job change to Cindy. No one in their right mind follows up a “we’re pregnant” announcement with a “Oh by the way, I’m out of a job come August” (unless my attitude goes so far south they kick my ass out sooner – which remains a possibility.)

The saddest thing is that it’s my own damn fault. This isn’t a layoff, it’s a rank & file sorting. I am currently the juniorest (new word) engineer in the division. (I was a late bloomer – night school & all) My performance apparently hasn’t been on a par with my peers. New company policy is that the bottom 20% get flushed every year and new blood will be brought in.

I’ll have to break the news to Cindy tonight. Bet that’ll bring her down off her expectant Gramma high in a flash. Only thing I worry about is one thing she threatened one drunken night several years ago. When our division was being sold she said something to the effect of “If you ever lose your job I’m divorcing you”. I only say “to the effect of” because I can’t quite remember it word for word. But I know those 9 words were involved, and they were placed in that order. There are only a few adjectives missing.

So. To say I’m a little anxious about having to share my just fucking super news is a bit of an understatement. As luck would have it, the next time I see Cindy will be in session with Janine in about 4.5 hours. The subject won’t be what Janine & I originally had in mind last week, you can be sure of that.

(Our intended topic? How do we move this relationship off the plateau we’re on? What has to happen to increase intimacy? That was going to segue into the latest slips on the drinking front – separate from vacation. That wasn’t going to be a fun session either,)

Anyone want to trade persona for a week or so?

6 responses

  1. Brian,

    I am so sorry you are going through this. My work history is much like yours, so I know this must be such a foreign concept for you. I know it would be for me. I’ll save the platitudes and bright sides and whatnot for another day. Right now, I’ll say this just plain sucks.

    (Oh and congrats on the other thing!)

    Sending good thoughts your way.

    Best,

    Roxie

    March 8, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    • bikinfool

      Rox, GG – Thanks for the kind thoughts and the sympathetic “that sucks” too. I’m choosing to look at this as an opportunity. Time for a bit of inventory & soul searching. Going to make a purse out of this pigs ear somehow.

      March 8, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  2. G.G

    I’d offer you a job but I’m thinking, no, I know, that “Laundry Bitch” just doesn’t pay as well.

    I’m sending you lots of positive thoughts but I could set some delicates aside just in case….

    March 8, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  3. AC

    I’m so sorry about the job! UGH!!

    And a big congrats on the baby!! She’s in good company right now 🙂

    March 11, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    • bikinfool

      AC,

      Thanks for the UGH! I quite agree.

      I think you have a wee bit of a lead on the daughter-in-law. She only just found out the morning of the 7th. But yes, everybody is in good company. Hope you have a good time of it with none of that morning sickness crap happening. It’s rough enough supporting a hitch hiker, but to have the little bugger make you sick too? Sheesh!

      March 11, 2011 at 5:10 pm

  4. Sucks about the job, hope you get a new one soon soon soon. From your more recent posts it sounds like you at least have a plan going forward, so that should help keep you from worrying about money too much and just focus on the search!

    March 17, 2011 at 11:44 am

Leave a Reply

