Always tweaking something!

Thought I Quit Smoking!!

Day 2332

Got a little snow in the area Saturday. Maybe a whole 4 – 6 inches. Not a lot bu local standards, but it did inspire me to try a new activity. Fortunately for you, I only have pictures of the inanimate objects involved in these exploits and none of me.

The short version of the story? Saturday night while soaking in the hot tub I had the brilliant idea of making a snow angel in the back yard. In that virgin 4 – 6 inches of snow.

Here’s a random young gal displaying the correct technique:

The Technique

When you’re done, you should have something that looks like this:

The Result

Except, picture me making that angel wearing nothing more than a conservative pair of swim trunks. The invisible force field you get in the hot tub lasted until my second sweep of my arms & legs. Then I gave it one more sweep and jumped out of the snow and bolted for the tub. Think there was still some snow clinging to me in places. I dared Cindy to do it too but she bailed right at the last minute, afraid she’d have trouble getting back up out of the snow. I would have helped her, after capturing the whole sordid mess on video, of course.

I was going to get a picture of my own snow angel, but the local deer are apparently also art critics. The snobs walked right through my angel! Plus, we’ve had a little more snow and the contrast has been reduced significantly. And NO, I won’t be repeating it anytime soon.

The scarier part of the evening came just after the half-nekkid angel sprints. The dryer was occupied doing laundry, so to get our towels dry for the next trip to the tub, I hung them in front of the (glassed in) fireplace. Who knew the glass was hot enough to start a towel smoldering? Who knew that when you pulled that towel away from the fireplace it would burst into flames? Who knew that the *&%#$ smoke detector that goes off every time you sauté a few onions in butter wouldn’t go off when the family room was chock full of thick blue smoke?

Once I had the towel in my hands I rolled it up to smother the part that went flambé. Then I got it out onto the back porch and surveyed the damage. Poor towel was totaled. It looked kinda like this:

Towel Flambe!

On a plus note, Zach & I bottled 5 gallons of Irish Stout (Think Guinness Extra Stout) Sunday. Now it needs to sit for 3 weeks so it can carbonate and mellow a bit. January 30 we’ll be busting it out for a little test run.

Zach, filling the bottling bucket.

Lovely dark beer

That whitish stuff on the bottom of the carboy is mostly yeast & hops. There’s also a wide band of yeast around the top that was deposited there during the height of carbonation. Surprisingly, it was fairly easy to clean. I just don’t know what the local water treatment facility is going to do with that load of yeast. Does it even matter to them?

Next up is a batch of Octoberfest Lager. I also got a book of beer clones – 150 of North Americans favorite craft beers. One of them is Eric’s fave – I’ll have to see if he’d like a batch brewed up for his wedding. Some of them take 6 – 8 months to fully age, so I may have to start early. Nothing like a little anticipation!

4 responses

  1. Wow – I’m glad you caught the towel before even more burned up. Good grief!

    January 10, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    • bikinfool

      Could have been worse for sure. I was in the kitchen getting dinner ready when I smelled it. Had I been out on the porch or in the living room and not noticed it . . . .

      January 11, 2011 at 9:06 am

  2. G.G

    Eww on the towel and glad you caught it before something else caught fire. So the image of a half naked grown adult male making snow angels is making me laugh. Thanks for the great visual. Lastly, MMMMMM BEER!

    January 11, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    • bikinfool

      The smell of the smoldering and the thick blue haze made it hard to miss. But it certainly could have turned out worse.

      It snowed last night & today, completely burying my angel. I’d do another one, but it turns out the spousal unit actually got a video of the one I did Saturday. It MIGHT get to You Tube. Maybe. With much editing.

      January 12, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

