Always tweaking something!

Survived!

Day 2304

OK – so Mamma Mia wasn’t horrible. I do have to say though, these gay guys sitting a few rows behind us could have given the singers on stage a run for their money on any one of the shows songs. Thought I heard one of them say that he’d seen the movie version 25+ times. Yeesh!

Saturday evening was also the beginning of a game of hide and seek for me. When we got home from the show Saturday night, we agree that it would be a great idea to hit the hot tub for a bit before we headed to bed. As is my routine, I got my suit & towel out of the dryer and also grabbed by flannel pj pants and a t-shirt to wear after. While standing at the kitchen table, I stripped, laying my pants & shirt over a chair back, then donned my swim suit. My underwear all made it to the hamper in the laundry room and my street duds were waiting for me on the kitchen chair. All perfectly normal activities.

The problem cropped up Sunday morning. I needed to get dressed so I could go to the grocery store. For the life of me, I could not find the pants I wore the night before. I needed the pants because I was sure my belt was still with them. After sending 10 or 15 minutes wandering around the house I gave up and decided that maybe I’d just go beltless for the day. You don’t want to know how many times I went poking into nooks & crannies during the day, all while looking for my pants. No (good) luck all day long.

Fast forward to this morning. Went downstairs to start the coffee. Did another lap looking for my pants (& belt). Nothing. Gave up (again) and went on with my morning routine. As I was leaving for work I remembered that I needed a few things for my gym bag, so I headed back upstairs. Know what I found when I opened the closet? My pants. Hanging right on the back of the closet door, like they should be. I only passed them, oh, 10 or 12 times between Sunday & Monday mornings. At least I have a belt – and a change of clothes for at the gym tonight.

I know it’s almost winter (yes, only almost, in spite of the lovely weather in some parts of the north), but we got some good news for all of the bicycle commuters in the area Rochester to hold public meeting on master bicycle plan Don’t know when actual paint will hit pavement, but it’s encouraging that city planners are even considering bikers needs.
Big surprise – Weather forecast calling for up t two feet of snow between now & Wednesday night. Probably won’t even get a day off work. Kids probably won’t see a day off of school either. Sometimes it really sucks to have some of the best snow removal crews in the country working for you.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Issued by The National Weather Service
Buffalo, NY
9:57 am EST, Mon., Dec. 13, 2010
… LAKE EFFECT SNOW WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 1 PM THIS AFTERNOON (Monday) TO 4 PM EST WEDNESDAY…
* LOCATIONS… SOUTH SHORE OF LAKE ONTARIO FROM ROCHESTER TO OSWEGO COUNTY. HEAVIEST FROM THE EASTERN SUBURBS OF ROCHESTER EAST TO OSWEGO COUNTY AND INTO NORTHERN ONTARIO COUNTY.
* ACCUMULATIONS… STORM TOTALS OF 1 TO 2 FEET IN THE MOST PERSISTENT BANDS.
* WINDS… NORTHWEST 15 TO 25 MPH WITH GUSTS TO 35 MPH.
* VISIBILITIES… LESS THAN A QUARTER MILE AT TIMES.
* IMPACTS… PERIODS OF HEAVY SNOW AND BLOWING SNOW WILL PRODUCE VERY DIFFICULT TRAVEL CONDITIONS AT TIMES.
PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…
IN LAKE EFFECT SNOW THE WEATHER CAN VARY FROM LOCALLY HEAVY SNOW IN NARROW BANDS TO CLEAR SKIES JUST A FEW MILES AWAY. IF YOU WILL BE TRAVELING ACROSS THE REGION BE PREPARED FOR RAPID CHANGES IN ROAD AND VISIBILITY CONDITIONS.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Only early December and I’m already jaded to the weather forecasts. Gonna be a long winter. Once it gets here.

4 responses

  1. Ugh, I was just thinking the same thing this morning. This is our second snowfall of the season already, and I thought, it’s not even technically WINTER yet, and look at this snow. I may not make it to spring!

    December 13, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    • bikinfool

      You know it’s bad when all you have to look forward to is getting the snow shoes out and going for a hike. And it’s not even winter yet . . .

      December 13, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  2. AC

    I’ve got 2 guys from Rochester visiting work right now. They don’t know if they’ll be getting home tomorrow now. Bright side is is if all goes well I may be coming out that way for a week 🙂

    Glad you found your pants. I hate when I lose things right where they’re supposed to be. Happens all the time here.

    December 13, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    • bikinfool

      You may have visitors for a day or so extra. We’re supposed to get lake effect through Wednesday – probably a foot or so at the airport (literally <5 minutes from my house). Heck – we might be open but if they have to connect through Cincy or Detroit they could still be screwed.

      If you do get out this way, drop me a line. I can give you some ideas on where to eat and depending on where you're staying, I could treat you to a beer or two. Lemme know!

      December 13, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Leave a Reply

