Always tweaking something!

Meet Me on Monday #21!!

Day 2269

Blogging is a funny thing…we tell our most intimate thoughts for all to read and yet most of the time I find myself sitting and wondering, “who is this person!?” I know them…but yet I don’t know them! I want to know who the person is behind all those words so I thought of a great way for all of us to “meet” each other!

Every Sunday Java posts five get to know you questions that you can copy and paste into your own Monday post and we can all learn a little more about each and every one of us!!

Java has also added a linky so we can follow who participates and get to know them better!! Be sure to link the POST and not just your whole blog!

Questions:

1. What is your favorite kind of pie?


Tough way to start! I’d have to say rhubarb, especially when I go out and cut it in the morning and Cindy makes the pie that day.

2. Have you ever ran out of gas in the car you were driving?

E /= Enough!!

Twice. Once in a friends car in Washington. He was in the hospital, I was taking his car to go pick him up after he was discharged. Somehow he forgot to tell me his gas gauge was hosed.

Second time was in the old family station wagon. I was trying to leave work so I could gas up the car in preparation for a trip to Florida that was to commence that afternoon. Died in the parking lot at work. Good thing I had kids at home with licenses & spare keys to our other car.

3. How many languages do you speak?

English & Martian. (Men are from Mars,Women are from Venus . . . get it?)

4. Do you take daily vitamins?

I do not. My grazing habits are sufficiently varied that my nutrient intake is pretty well balanced.

5. What is your worst eating habit?

First – eating too fast.
Second – eating in front of the TV.
Third – I am a carb junkie.

Back to our irregularly scheduled posting . . .

Had a good AND productive weekend. Cindy & I had a nice chat in the hot tub Friday night. Actually talked about important stuff.

Saturday we headed to Syracuse to visit Eric & Kelly. Their birthdays are coming up soon but with their schedules, this was the only weekend time they both had off. So we celebrated a little early. Also got to visit the place where they are having their reception next year. Nice place! Even better, it looks like the parents of the bride & groom will be comp’d a suite for the festivities!

Only bad part? The Inn is right across the street from an LL Bean outlet. Yeah – I’m wearing a new sunwashed canvas shirt today (that baked clay color) and have another one for tomorrow (stone) for only $24 each.

We also stopped at the Carousel Mall for a bit (to return a wireless router to Best Buy). I couldn’t believe the crowd there. I asked Eric & Kel if there was some special occasion, but they assured me that this place was packed like that all the time. Seemed like half of Syracuse was there. Malls in Rottenchester only get that packed during & after Black Friday.

Since Saturday was social day, Sunday was leaf humping day. Really only had to do about 2/3 of the back yard, but most of that was two weeks worth of leaves. I transport leaves from back yard to curb on what amounts to an 18×12 tarp. After raking the yard’s leaf load into little piles that are spread all over the yard, I rake/push/drag the piles of leaves onto the tarp. Sine I’m still big & dumb, I’ll pile on as many leaves as will fit on the tarp, seemingly regardless of the moisture content of the eaves. Yesterday I ended up hauling 6 tarp loads (at about 300 – 400 lbs a load) to the curb for the vacuum truck to get. Once my miniscule stretch of curb space was full, I hauled another 2 piles back into the woods, basically returning the oak, cherry & hickory leaves to whence they came. I now have piles of leaves on my curb that are easily3 feet high, 6 feet wide at the base and occupy my entire 60 feet of curb – except for a patch at the end of the driveway. That’s the only bad part about living on the outside of a curve. Nice big back yard with lots o’trees but no curb space to hold all those dang leaves.

Best part? I have a bruise on my shoulder from where I sling the tarp over my shoulder and pull. Nothing serious, it’ll be gone in a day or two. And yes, that is the same shoulder I jammed when I was replacing the front door, and no – that thing still isn’t right. But slinging a few hundred pounds of leaves around didn’t seem to bother it. Lifting a coffee cup? Hurts like hell. Must be a positional/load thing. (Yes, I’ll go see a doctor about it. Soon as I get one. Again.)

So that really sums up my weekend. Kids birthday, hauling leaves and many, many soaks in the hot tub, letting those jets do their massage thing.

Almost forgot! Bowing Thursday. First game was deceptive. Did well, but that line seemed to disappear. Too many of us out in the same spot pushing the oil around. Ended up bowling 1 pin less than my average for the night, team took 4 of 8 points. Wew appear to be mired in second place. There are 20 worse places to be, so I shan’t complain.

Back to the zoo!

2 responses

  1. But you’re supposed to compost those leaves. Such wonderful Black Gold you could get! Wanna ship them to me?

    November 9, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • bikinfool

      Used to take about half our leaves and turn them into the veggie garden. Over 10 or 12 years it turned our sand pit into something resembling garden soil. Plus the trip to the veggie garden was about 200 feet shorter than dragging them to the curb.

      Our town does compost some of the leaves, the remainder are carted off to farmers fields where they’re left to decomp & get turned under in the spring. Not the best, but beats burning them or dumping them in a landfill.

      Now. About hauling them off to you . . .!!

      November 9, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

