Always tweaking something!

Wednesday Wickedness – Dolly

Day 2264

Since Random Dozen appears to be kaput, at least for now, I’m going to switch back to the Wednesday Wickedness meme for some post inspirations.

Hi and welcome to Wednesday Wickedness! We are like other memes in that we will ask you ten questions each and every Wednesday. But our little “twist” is that each week we will pick a famous person and pick ten of their quotes. Each of our questions will be based on the quotes. The quotes are in yellow. Got it? Great! Let’s begin this week’s meme!

Today we picked Dolly Parton.

Wednesday Wickedness!

1. “I hated school. Even to this day, when I see a school bus it’s just depressing to me. The poor little kids.”
What was your worst year in school? Why?

5th grade. That’s when I learned how to stop bullies. Maybe beating the ecrap out of him doesn’t work for everybody, but it got that jerk off my case permanently.

2. “I still close my eyes and go home – I can always draw from that.”
Tell us about YOUR home.

The American dream. ½ acre lot, 4BR colonial, often a work in progress, but it’s getting to where we’d like it. Landscaping is constantly evolving, living space is (re)finished, just have one bathroom to re-do.

3. “I’m not going to limit myself just because people won’t accept the fact that I can do something else.”
What have you been told that you couldn’t do, but proved them wrong?

I rode the local 100 mile Tour De Cure to raise fund for diabetes. Twice. Best I’ve done is 6.5 hours saddle time, about 8 hours out on the course including breaks. Cindy (the spousal unit) told me I couldn’t do the 67 mile route, so I did the 100 just for spite. I will be signing up for the 2011 edition too. Early June. You are warned!

4. “I’m old enough and cranky enough now that if someone tried to tell me what to do, I’d tell them where to put it.”
What was the last incident where you were told what to do and were insulted?

Driving, with Cindy in the truck. At an intersection with 2 right turn lanes, I was in the left most right turn lane. I stopped, then proceeded with a legal “right on red” turn and Cindy screamed something about “What are you doing, STOP!” So I did, about 1/3 the way through the turn. Then it occurred to me that I was doing nothing wrong, so I continued, but the dude next to me gave me a “WTF??” look. I then asked Cindy what was wrong with doing a right on red in New York. It’s only been legal for 30 some years. She just freaked because I wasn’t in the right most lane. Wish I could get blindfolds for her when I drive.

5. “If you don’t like the road you’re walking, start paving another one.”
Have you ever reinvented yourself? How?

I quit smoking, lost 80 lbs and started serious bike riding. I wish ALL of those 80 lbs stayed lost. Little bastards!

6. “If you talk bad about country music, it’s like saying bad things about my momma. Thems fightin’ words.”
Is there a type of music that you hate?

Rap. Modern R&B. Hip Hop. Disco. What’s that other one where the lead “singer” pretty much scream unintelligibly? That too.

7. “It’s a good thing I was born a girl, otherwise I’d be a drag queen.”
Have you ever crossed dressed for Halloween or just for the hell of it?

No – but I did try nylons for keeping my legs warm playing football in the cold.

8. “My weaknesses have always been food and men – in that order.”
What are your weaknesses?

My left arm (still don’t have full strength back after I jammed that shoulder over a month ago) and chocolate chip cookies. Or any cookie, especially those fresh out of the oven.

9. “The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.”
Tell us about something that you did that required patience, but was worth it.

See # 5. Losing those 80 lbs took about 18 months. Totally worth it.

10. “We cannot direct the wind, but we can adjust the sails.”
When was the last time you made a major change in your life.

Ok. Excepting #5 (again), the next most significant change would be the one happening through my working Al Anon and working with our marriage counselor.

Thanks for checking out our Wednesday craziness. We hope you join us again. Please visit our other player’s posts and make a comment. Join us next week for our next meme!

Now we’re going to see if I have this auto-post thingy set up properly. I think I’ve scheduled this to appear at 00:15 on Nov. 3 Only problem is I don’t know if that’s EDT, PDT, GMT or what! Burn & learn!!

4 responses

  1. Thankfully, for me, I wasn’t awake and trolling the web at 00:15 in any of those time zones, so I can’t help you there, buddy.

    I do have to announce my undying love for Dolly Parton. She is one wicked smart woman.

    Glad to hear you are in for the next big ride. Awesome. I’ve got to get in to see some sort of fitting pro. My neck and shoulder pain is becoming too severe to ride more than about an hour or so. Very strange. I don’t know if I need to be adjusted (don’t answer that) or if the bike does. I’m leaning towards the bike.

    November 3, 2010 at 7:00 am

  2. Your home sounds great!

    Have a great day!
    http://harrietandfriends.com/2010/11/stuff-you-dont-see-everyday/

    November 3, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    • bikinfool

      Thanks Harriet! It’s always a work in progress.

      November 3, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Brian. (no matter how you got there!) We have relatives in Rochester as well. I appreciate the support/advice/suggestion. I’ve been involved with Al-Anon and you’re right, it’s a great resource for families and friends. We had a great group around here until one person messed it up for everyone else, but I stay in touch with several people on a regular basis.

    The letter you read is part of a 30 Letters in 30 Days Challenge that I’m participating in. That day’s letter was “to a sibling” and he’s the only sibling I have, so…. It was actually very cathartic to write it all down but I do know that my brother is not going to get sober until or unless he hits “his” bottom, whatever that ends up being.

    Best of luck with your riding. Hubs was a true cycle junkie and did the Five Borough (NYC) Bike Tour, The Mt. Washington (NH) Hill Climb and the Tour De L’ile in Montreal for years and years. Sadly, life has thrown it’s punches and time has run away, so it’s been a good while since he and Gary Fisher have hit the road together. He did get a special little glint in his eye this past spring when he went and photographed the Tour of the Battenkill (Cambridge area). He might get back out there again…. who knows??

    Hope that shoulder heals up so you can get that full 100 done in record time next year. I’m subscribing to your blog, so I’ll come by and check your progress. (and read other posts too)

    Take care & God Bless,
    Martha from A Real Upstate NY Housewife

    November 7, 2010 at 7:07 am

Leave a Reply

