Always tweaking something!

Day 2262 Meet Me Monday

This Weeks questions:

1. Have you ever been on a cruise?

Nope. The only one I’d really like to try is an Alaskan cruise. Maybe in a year or two.

2. What is your favorite way to eat eggs?

Lately poached, served over a bed of spinach & ricotta ravioli with a bit of sautéed spinach tossed in. The yolk serves as the sauce for the dish. (Home made ravioli too!!)

3. What is your favorite reading material?

I was a huge Science Fiction fan back in the day. Now I’ll read almost anything but those dang bodice rippers or chick lit.

4. Name all the pets that you have ever had?

Names? Oh man.
As a kid:
Benji – some sort of shepard mix.
Chigger – another shepard/black lab mix. Hated cars with spoked hub caps. He caught one once, broke upper & lower jaws and had to be put down.
Gerbils & hamsters too numerous to count (or recall names)

As an adult

Zeke – Black Lab/Irish Setter/Cocker Spaniel Mix
Gobs of fish out in the pond.

Yes, Zeke spoiled us. Had him before kids even, he lived around 15 years and was such a good dog we never really wanted to replace him. Had him put down 12 years ago? Still miss the old boy.

5. Were you ever a girl/boy scout?

Cub scout, Webelo & boy Scout. Never for more than a year at a time. We didn’t have the strongest scout group in my area.

It was inevitable really. I always knew the day would come, but I thought I might make it another year or two.

No – not that. Went golfing Saturday. BOTH boys beat me. Humbling experience. Eric was the most consistent judging by front/back scores (48/48). I was the most consistent in position – finished 2nd on both front & back nines (53/47), Zach won schizoid of the day award (55/44). It was a rough day to play too. Breeze was a constant nemesis, it was pretty cool (temps peaked at 54 Saturday) and the course was pretty wet.

Still – had a fun time out with the guys, managed to get 18 holes done in about 4 hours. Gotta love an empty course. Plus, it only cost $15 with a cart. Normally at the course we played it would cost that much to walk nine.

Spent the rest of the weekend raking leaves. Probably have 2 more weeks of that nonsense left.

Had an unusually quiet Halloween night too. Might have had 20 – 25 kids stop by. Of course, the appearance of the first flurries of the season may have scared some folks off. Halloween falling on a Sunday night probably had an effect too. The down side? Now there’s a bowl of Reeses cups to get rid of. Maybe I can get Cindy to take them in to work and leave them put on her desk for the kids to munch on.

3 responses

  1. Raking leaves stinks! Hubby and the boy were at it all weekend. Hmmmm, so why am I saying it stinks? LOL Send the Reeses my way but keep the flurries where you are.

    Meet Me On Monday

    November 1, 2010 at 5:25 pm

  2. GG

    Alaska is about the only place I have a real desire to take a cruise to. Saw a travel channel show on it once and it has been in the back of my mind ever since.

    November 1, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    • bikinfool

      Yeah, I can’t see being stuck on a huge bath tub in a hot & steamy environment (The Caribbean). If I have to be hot & steamy, I want the optional sand in all my creases too – with the option to jump in the surf & rinse if I sense the need.

      November 1, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

