Always tweaking something!

Meet Me on Monday!!

Day 2255

Welcome to the 19th edition of
“Meet Me On Monday!”

Blogging is a funny thing…we tell our most intimate thoughts for all to read and yet most of the time I find myself sitting and wondering, “who is this person!?” I know them…but yet I don’t know them! I want to know who the person is behind all those words so I thought of a great way for all of us to “meet” each other!

Every Sunday Java will post five get to know you questions that you can copy and paste into your own Monday post and we can all learn a little more about each and every one of us!!

Questions:

1. Do you sleep with a night light on?

No night light, but ambient light from outside (i.e. neighbors driveway lamp post that’s ALWAYS on) and two clock radios do a fine job substituting for klieg lights.

2. What do you drink with dinner?

At home I prefer a glass of nice, cold skim milk. Out & about, I will have lemonade or possibly a beer if they have something nice & dark & chewy. (Think porter, black ale, stout – anything dark dark dark brown or black.)

3. Do you play the lottery? If so, how often?

Every time I don’t play I win $1!! The only time I do play is if I’m in a store, pass by a ticket desk and notice that the jackpot is some ginormous number AND have a dollar in my hand. With pay-at-the-pump gas stations, I never really have to go inside the local gas stations and that’s where 90% of the lottery terminals are. Out of sight, out of mind.

4. How often do you go to the grocery store?

For serious re-stocking of pantry staples and restocking, usually every other week. If we’re lucky, only once a month.

Mini-trips to reload on fresh veggies or pick up something we need for a particular recipe – once every three days or so.

5. Would you rather travel back in time 500 years or travel forward 500 years?

I know that back 500 years is a real place. Who knows what we’ll find in going forward 500 years? We may have succeeded in blowing up the planet by then. Would you really want to know that? Besides, think of what you could do in the past knowing what you know now. And? People were smaller then. A guy my size would practically be a giant back in the time of Christopher Columbus.

Back to our regularly scheduled program.

Quiet weekend here. Did the usual early morning spin class Saturday, then dove in to finally get the new storm door installed. It doesn’t hide the new front door at all. It has maybe a 3” wide frame and is really 90% glass. It’s made by the same company we bought the front door unit from (Pella) and was made to fit. Installation was a breeze.

Did some other putzing around, played with the pond a bit. Last week I noticed that I’d added water to the pond 2 or 3 times and the water level still seemed low. I did a little poking around Friday evening and found that I have a but of an issue with the upper water falls. Seems that the sol has compacted under the lip of the falls and water is wicking back under the ledge. For now, I switched the pond over to winter mode, shut down the falls & stream all together and am just re-circulating water via a large hose to keep the pond oxygenated. Tearing the falls apart and re-doing the upper level will be a project for spring.

Killed off Saturday visiting Zach’s in-laws (for a Mary Kay open house no less). Sunday looked to be fir for starting to build the frames for sealing up the porch screens for the winter. Only thing that screwed that up was the semi decent weather. Looked it might be the last chance I’d have to get the yard mowed & leaves raked for the next week. So the frames had to wait while I trudged around behind the lawn mower, doing my 10% mowing the lawn and 90% bagging leaves. All that’s really left leaf wise are the two big maples out back. And the flowering plum and the two apple trees, and the crab apple and every freakin oak tree within a mile of the house. That’s all. So I have maybe 10% of this years leaves done.

I need to think a little more on a particular subject. Cindy is asking me why I still go to see Annette. She’d rather I pick one therapist for 1 on 1’s and one therapist for couples rather than see two different therapists for 1 on 1’s.

We each see Janine for couples and 1 on 1 time. I also go see Annette for separate 1 on 1. She’s the first outside help I sought out, was the first couples therapist we tried. Thing is, Annette is more “in your face” and immediately called Cindy on a bunch of bad acts. Annette pushed Cindy hard, maybe too hard, and alienated her.

Now, Cindy’s argument is that Annette doesn’t know anything about her, doesn’t know her side of anything that I tell her. Honestly, Cindy would rather I stop seeing Annette all together. Her unspoken reason? She has no control or influence over Annette. At least with Janine she has the illusion of steering events.

Cindy is pestering for an answer from me. Who am I selecting for my 1 on 1’s?

Heh. She wants answers? How about answers to those 6 innocuous little questions I asked a year ago? When those get answered, I’ll answer hers.

Thanks for hearing me out on this one.

2 responses

  1. I’d go back 500 years, merely because I love history, and that would be awesome for me. Although, on the other hand, it would be dangerous, because of the lack of medical care, etc. I’d still do it though.

    October 26, 2010 at 11:39 am

    • bikinfool

      After I mentioned the going back 500 years bit, it occurred to me that yes, health care sucked, women were treated like property, and who was to say that I’d even end up in England or even Europe?

      But! We know for certain that 500 years ago existed. I’m not so sure that 500 years from now there will be anything here to visit.

      If you went back, you could hope to wind up in Scotland and score a set of bagpipes, eh?

      October 26, 2010 at 11:57 am

Leave a Reply

