Always tweaking something!

Random Dozen #3,891

Day 2236

Reader submitted questions this week!!

From Linda:

Asking you guys to submit questions is like THE smartest thing I’ve ever done in my 4X–no, wait—4X + 1 years.

I wish I could link each question to its creator, but I realized as people copied and pasted the links would not copy anyway, so if you would like to visit the person who created the interesting question you’re answering, please see the comments section of yesterday’s post. Clear as mud?

Anyway, thank you all. Happily, I received more than enough questions for this week, so I’ll have leftovers for next week! Whee! If you are not included this week, please look for your question next week.

1. From “Men Are Dumb ….”: If you had a theme song that played whenever you walked into a room full of people, what would it be?

Last year, at Zach & Jills wedding reception, I was requesting songs all evening long. At the end of the evening, the DJ called for any last requests. I ran over and whispered my request in his ear. What I later found out was that in honoring my request, the DJ had skipped playing the song Jill had wanted the reception to end with (Journey – “Don’t Stop Believing” or “Faithfully”, I forget which) and instead played what I whispered in his ear – “Enter Sandman” from Metallica. (It’s a lullaby, really!!) Jill was rather upset, but was won over by the reckless abandon with which her cousins, my two boys (Zach included) and me all thoroughly enjoyed that last song. There may be pictures.

2. From Pam of “Alert And Oriented x 4”: Which of your shoes are your absolute favorite, and which are of the object of your most painful shoe-buyer’s remorse?

Faves are my butterscotch colored Square Toed Oxfords. They’re like slippers. My most painful shoe buyers remorse was caused by a pair of Avia cross trainers. I thought I could get a pair of “D” widths to stretch to my “EE” feet. Eh – not so much.

3. From Susanne of “Living to Tell the Story”: Tell about your favorite birthday celebration that you’ve personally experienced.

I really don’t have one. My birthday is only a week before Christmas and usually gets caught up in all the holiday hoopla. Cindy’s birthday is only 2 days after mine (but she’s a whole year younger, at least!) and we generally just go out for dinner on the night in between.

4. From Lori of “Just me and My Life”: If you were a flavor of ice cream, which would you be?

French Vanilla, drizzled with honey and dusted with a light sprinkling of cinnamon.

5. Cindy Swanson of “Notes in the Key of Life” asks: Have you ever had a crush on a movie star? Who was it, and are you still crushing?

Movie star? Not really. Actors in commercials? You bet. That girl in the York Peppermint Pattie spot? I can’t explain it. (Plus she’s waaaaaayyyyy too young for a dinosaur like me)

6. Jill from “Jill Boyd’s Place” inquires: Glasses or braces–if you had to wear one, which would it be?

Braces. I have glasses, but I could use braces.

7. Nel from “Fasteneau Facts” asks: If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I’d like to head back out to the Pacific Northwest.

8. Thena from “Patiently Waiting” wants to know: If money were no obstacle, what would be the perfect birthday gift to receive?

A 401k that generates enough income to let me retire to a golf course community in Washington, starting tomorrow.

9. From “Life Through Bifocals,” LynnMarie asks: What is your favorite birthday meal?

Sine we usually go out for our birthday dinner, it’s what ever tempts me on the menu. I do love to order a swordfish steak when we’re out at a steak house though. Something about searing a swordfish in all those leftover beef juices on the grill . . .

10. Debby at “Just Breathe” checks in with: Do you still send hand-written thank you notes?

When I need to, yes. I suppose I could invent a need to do it more . . .

11. Linda from “Mocha with Linda” poses this question: What is something you’ve done that you never thought you’d do?

Sadly – had an affair.

12. Jewel, my homegirl from Indiana who writes at “Musings from the World of Jewel,” is very insistent that we answer this: Mount Rushmore honors four US Presidents: Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, and Roosevelt. If you could add any person to Mount Rushmore, who would you add and why?

This is going to sound odd, coming from a white anglo-saxon protestant like me, but I’m thinking Rosa Parks or Martin Luther King. Rosa’s defiance and MLK’s vision did a lot to shape the country back in the mid 20th century.

Door is in, water heater is in. Both are working as designed. I do have to say – I suffered a bit of sticker shock when it came to the water heater. Out last one we had installed because I had never messed with a natural gas appliance before. Last nights tab for just the heater was more than the heater and installation cost 10 years ago. Glad I learned how to work with gas appliances!

Heading off to Charleston, SC for a long weekend. No specific plans yet, but I’m sure we’ll tour a lot of historic sites, take in the local cuisine and just unwind for a few days. The hardest thing we’ll have to do is figure out the local mass transit system.

If anyone has favorite restaurants or tour suggestions, drop me a line. Trying to develop a list of “must see” and “try to see” places.

Not too sure I’ll be convinced that grits are good food, but I will try. The rest of it (crabs, greens, BBQ) I’m pretty sure I’m going to like juuuusssst fine.

9 responses

  1. As we say down south, “Sweetie, Baby, Honey, Darling” – the shrimp grits, cheese grits, grits and anything savory are fabulous! Think of it as southern risotto! I would not, however, order them as a side with my breakfast. Not unless there was some gravy involved elsewhere.

    Have a great time in SC. I’ve always wanted to visit there. Look forward to your trip report.

    October 6, 2010 at 8:36 am

    • bikinfool

      I should probably be shot for only having tried grits at a Shoney’s in Georgia. I was not favorably impressed. I do like the idea of shrimp grits for lunch or maybe a side at dinner. And I saw something about grits with Andouille sausage. That has GOT to be some good eats.

      October 6, 2010 at 5:14 pm

  2. OK, you made me curious about the York Peppermint Patty commercial (I never get to see commercials because my hubby fast-forwards through them!), so I you-tubed her.

    Are you talking about the girl with the dark bobbed hair and blue eyes? Apparently a lot of people like her, because one of the big Google questions is “who is the girl on the York Peppermint Patty commercial?”

    I was expecting to see some sexy blonde, but she’s actually very girl-next-door. Her name is Alexi Wasser.

    Enjoyed your answers…have a great day!

    October 6, 2010 at 10:16 am

    • bikinfool

      Oh, believe me Cindy, I’ve googled her. She is very girl next door, but I do like her eyes. I think she’s in a new On-Star commercial where she actually has lines, and she has a blog too – something about boy crazy.

      But I do like that York ad!

      October 6, 2010 at 5:16 pm

  3. Charleston is a great city. I haven’t been in a while but I’m sure my daughter has some tips…she spends a lot of time there. Will try to ask her some must sees.

    Shrimp and grits is really really good-it sounds like such an odd combo but somehow it works. If you eat just regular grits (for breakfast usually) I put a little sugar on mine, much to the horror of my Southern bred hubs. Cheesy grits are also good if you like cheese.

    Have biscuits and gravy for breakfast…its sausage gravy and its fab!

    October 6, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    • bikinfool

      We’ll be at the Mills House Hotel, down south near the Battery I think – south of the colleges. If she knows of any places to check out within walking distance, or right off the bus lines, that’d be great! We’ll be fitting in as much as we can, and hope to spend at least SOME time doing absolutely nothing – but digesting.

      October 6, 2010 at 5:19 pm

  4. Hi again…my daughter (http://sincerely-shannon.blogspot.com) suggests the following and I quote

    “they should dine at Hanks Seafood (get a seafood tower-so good..on the pricey side)

    Brunch at Charleston Place Hotel

    Fleet Landing good for lunch (converted Navy landing point, not as pricey)

    Definitely do a carriage ride/trolley tour. it’s the best way to see all the pretty streets and historical homes in downtown charleston and learn cool stuff.

    Charleston City Market is cool

    Patriots Point is a fun thing to do one day. it’s the home of the USS yorktown ship. http://www.patriotspoint.org/
    since they are going in october (and really any time) there are tons of walking ghost tours (really interesting gullah history)

    Great shopping, awesome food! They could just walk around and explore. the streets are so pretty all cobblestone and old”

    Have a great trip!

    October 6, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    • bikinfool

      Hi Joyce,

      So many good ideas!! Patriots Point is definitely on the list, as is a carriage ride/tour of some sort. Judging from the amount of eating we’ll be doing, I think we’ll take all the walking tours we can find!

      Please pass along our thanks to your daughter. It’s always great to get a little inside help when visiting a new city.

      Thanx again! Brian

      October 6, 2010 at 10:58 pm

  5. Thanks again for the male perspective! Loved your honesty. You have a way of being straightforward and yet warm and likable. Great answers!

    October 7, 2010 at 11:52 am

Leave a Reply

