Always tweaking something!

Meet Me on Monday!!

Day 2227

Welcome to the 16th edition of
“Meet Me On Monday!”

Blogging is a funny thing…we tell our most intimate thoughts for all to read and yet most of the time I find myself sitting and wondering, “who is this person!?” I know them…but yet I don’t know them! I want to know who the person is behind all those words so I thought of a great way for all of us to “meet” each other!

Every Sunday I will post five get to know you questions that you can copy and paste into your own Monday post and we can all learn a little more about each and every one of us!!

“Its a great way to to meet new friends and for others to get to know me better….one Monday at a time!!!”….as quoted by the Chacogirl!! I will make this SIMPLE and FUN!!!

I will add a linky so we can follow who participates and get to know them better!! Be sure to link the POST and not just your whole blog

Questions:

1. How many TV’s do you have in your home?
We have 3 that work & get used regularly. There are two in the basement that DO work, but are ancient technology (ie: CRT) and really need to be recycled.

2. What is on your bedside table (nightstand)?
Alarm clock
Table lamp
Doily?
(IN the nightstand is another story. Maybe next week?)

3. How many pair of shoes do you own?
3 New Balance Cross trainers of varying vintages
2 pair dress shoes (black & tan Oxfords)
2 pair casual docksider style shoes

1 pair work boots
1 pair hunting boots
1 pair biking shoes
1 pair golf shoes
1 pair bowling shoes
1 pair baseball cleats
1 pair Snow Shoe boots

I guess that makes 7 pair of normal wear foot gear and 7 pair of task oriented footwear. Do slippers count?

4. Can you change a flat tire?
Certainly. I can’t do make up though.

5. Do you prefer sweet treats or salty treats?
My favorite candy bar is both – a Payday. Considering my passion for anything peanut as well, I guess I tend toward the salty. But those white chocolate/craisin/oatmeal cookies whose recipe is on the back of the craisin package are a serious weakness too.

Weekend wrap –

Got in a nice bike ride to work Friday. Hot weather for our area too. The trip home was pretty tough, near 90 degrees, 18 – 20 mph winds that I was OF COURSE pedaling into the entire way home. Nothing a soak in the tub couldn’t cure.

Attended the kids engagement party Saturday and met the majority of the brides family. Great bunch of people. I think we’ll all get along fine come the wedding day. No shotguns, police or pepper spray will be required.

Sunday was errand day. Took care of a bunch of little things on the “to do” list. Declared my intent of watching the Bills game in the afternoon. Then we had some tense moments Sunday due to what I call Cindy wanting me to my tasks her way, in her order, when she thinks they ought to be done. Ummmm, no. I need to figure out how to bring that up in counseling without sounding like I’m whining. I feel that what’s happening is Cindy is trying to manipulate situations. Why? If I had to guess, it’d be to keep me off balance. She may not even be aware she’s doing it, but it rubs me the wrong way.

In an effort to attain my 1000 mile biking goal this year, I rode in to work this morning. The weather forecast I had heard Sunday concerning todays weather sounded ok. Today’s forecast for this afternoons weather is NOT ok. By early afternoon there is a 60% chance of showers. When I looked at the radar, there was rain from the NY/Penn state line extending south into Maryland & beyond and it was all headed north. Looking again this afternoon, eh – I’m not too excited. I wanted to ride to the Y, get in a spin class then ride home. But if it’s raining this afternoon, I’ll just ride home and skip the class. What do you think the odds are of my getting to class given this map?

Will he be dry or not?

Yeah – not looking good. We’ll see. There’s a few hours left for the weather to change still. If I get to the Y for class I’ll have 883 miles in. If I have to go straight home, I’ll be at 879. Couple three good weeks and I’ll be there. And yes, I have headlights, tail lights, reflectors AND a flat tire recovery kit on hand at all times now.

Gotta go finish off some simulations . . .

6 responses

  1. Hope you are staying dry! 1000 miles is an awesome goal – looks like you will make it. I hope you stay dry.

    I got lights, bottle cage, bag, and a bike computer(gift) installed this weekend. Now all I have to do is figure out how to program the computer. I’d like to hit 1000 miles this year, but I don’t see it happening. I’m too far away.

    September 27, 2010 at 5:20 pm

  2. I love biking! I need to track how many miles I go.

    September 27, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  3. Hi!

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for joining the Meet Me on Monday!

    Those are some great answers!

    Thanks for participating!
    Have a great week!
    Java

    September 27, 2010 at 9:09 pm

  4. Stopping by from Meet Me On Monday. Good luck on your biking goal. I would love to do that, but then again the ride to work is totally on a hwy. Might be a bad idea.

    Have a wonderful day!

    September 27, 2010 at 10:35 pm

  5. I just read your comment on my MMOM. I guess I didn’t word my comment correctly. I do have a Schwinn speedometer on my bike but have only been checking it for individual rides, not keeping track of how many miles I’ve ridden for the month/year. I guess I’ll to that for Oct. Nov. and Dec. and then next year keep track to see how many I did for the year.

    September 28, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    • bikinfool

      Being the geek I am, I find tracking stuff like that a nice little exercise in a spreadsheet. Plus, every time I drop my speedo it resets itself. If I’m tracking mileage separately, I can at least set the odometer back to the right reading.

      Does your Schwinn speedo have an odometer function too? You might have more info than you think already!

      September 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Leave a Reply

