Always tweaking something!

Itemized

Day 2223

After posting Linda’s Random Dozen yesterday, I got to thinking about all the guys in my extended family that have served in the military. Here’s a list of those I know:

Me – Army – Ft. Lewis, Wa. 47th Combat Support Hospital
Dad – Army – Korea, Engineering Battalion
Brother J – Navy, Submariner (USS Snook)
BiL W – Navy, Guided Missile Frigate (USS Nicholson)
Cousin Ike – Air Force – Germany
FiL (The Bob) – Air Force, Korea & Okinawa, photographer
Uncle Jere – Army Lifer, Viet Nam
Uncle Jim – Marines, Viet Nam
Cousin Corey – Marines

Those are the ones I know for sure. I think my Aunt Barb’s second husband was an ex-Marine too. By good timing, world peace initiatives or just plain luck, most of the people that served in my generation missed out on any of the big conflicts (‘Nam, Iraq I or II, Afghanistan or others). The generations before & after? Smack in the middle of all the dangerous stuff. Your country thanks you all.

Ok. On to less serious stuff. Here’s a rendition of Skynyrd’s “Sweet Home Alabama” that will bring tears to your eyes. Seriously.

For the record – I could only tolerate 56 seconds worth. Wasn’t sure if I should laugh or cry. Not sure what bothered me more, the lack of teeth or the lack of a singing voice.

For REAL entertainment, check out the next video. Nothing naughty, just a cool idea executed very well. You’ll watch ALL of this one.

http://player.vimeo.com/video/13362364

Pixels from Patrick JEAN on Vimeo.

In a weird coincidence that I only just noticed, yesterday the 22nd was day 2222 since I quit smoking. Neat. But not quite as neat (or freaky) as my younger brother (the Submariner) who turned 6 on 6/6/66. THAT’s freaky. Maybe that’s why he’s a JW these days. Hmmmm.

Had to go to calling hours last night for my SiL’s grandmother. Two weeks ago she was hauled into the ER for one reason or another. Don’t remember the initial complaint. While there, the ER attending approached her and said he’d like to admit her and run some tests to figure out what was wrong. Her response? “I’ll tell you what’s wrong. I’m 96! That’s what’s wrong!” and she walked out of the ER & went home. She passed away less than 2 weeks later.

She was a great lady too. Playing cards, she’d kick your ass at Euchre and you’d love every minute of it. Always a story to tell, wasn’t afraid to tell you what she thought, but she had a sense of humor and just enough tact that you weren’t hurt by what she said. She’ll be missed.

Bowling tonight. Woo-hoo! After Sunday’s exceptional golf outing, I have high hopes for bowling tonight. The critical swing thought will be – ‘keep your head steady’. By keeping my head steady I will accomplish two things – not over swinging and maintaining alignment with the target. Those are keys to success in both sports. I hope.

5 responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear of your SIL’s grandmother’s passing – sounds like a great, great lady. It is my hope that when my time comes, I pass that quickly with that much spunk and grace.

    September 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm

  2. Average Chick

    Sorry to hear about Grandma! I want to be like that when I get old. No grey area between living life and death.

    And congrats on the not smoking! That is a great accomplishment!

    September 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    • bikinfool

      Hiya Ac,

      Yeah – no doubt Hattie knew what was happening and no doubt she’d already reconciled it in her own mind. She went out on her own terms.

      That whole not smoking thing is a work in progress. It’s why I still count each day. Reminds me what there is to lose. What ever works, right?

      September 23, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  3. Sorry for your loss. She sounded like a real spunky lady!

    The Evil Twin quit smoking on January 16, 2005. I don’t know how many days that is, but he’s doing great!

    September 23, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    • bikinfool

      Hiya ETW,

      Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, Gramma Hattie was a hoot. Kicked my butt at cards too.

      My own smoking quit date was Aug. 22, 2004, so ET’s would be 120ish days less. Probably just hit 2100 days. That’s a great accomplishment. You’ll have to reward him accordingly, as soon as you’re fully recovered

      Brian The bikinfool

      September 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

