Always tweaking something!

Random Dozen – Amped

Day 2222 Random Dozen – Amped

Go see Linda for the details!

1. Have you, or has someone close to you, ever won an award for anything?

Certainly not an Oscar or Emmy award. Zach won the “I’m Third” award at summer camp one year (God first, everybody else second, I’m third). Eric won (earned?) Salutatorian in his Police Academy class.

2. Who is the nearest relative to you who has served in the US Military?

Besides me? My dad, several uncles, a brother, a cousin. Since I’m more or less guaranteed to share half my DNA with m dad, I think he wins the closest award. (Now I have to change my answer to #1)

3. Share something that stirs the patriotic spirit in you.

Thinking about all those family members that have been willing to lay it all on the line for our country.

4. Where are you in the birth order in your family? Do you think your “placement” made a difference in your personality?

I am the eldest of 4 – all boys. Birth order definitely has an effect on personality. As the eldest, I was often left “in charge”, was always reminded to set a good example, was generally urged to grow up a little sooner than the rest. Not that it was through conscious effort on my parents part either – just circumstances.

5. Name one trait you hope you carry that was evidenced in your parents or grandparents.

Intelligence. Neither of my parents are college educated. Heck, my dad didn’t even get his GED till I was in the Army. But don’t let that be confused with lack of smarts. Had my parents circumstances been different, each would have flourished in college. But back in the ‘50’s, farmers didn’t need college.

6. If female, do you prefer wearing a skirt or pants? If male, shirt and tie or polo?

Polo. Even when in the lower end of my weight range, my neck size is disproportionately large compared to my chest & shoulders making it difficult to find a shirt that fits my neck without hanging on me like a mumu.

7. Approximately how many times do you wake during the night? What do you do to go back to sleep?

Too many. I know I see the clock 3 or more times. I usually just roll over and try to find a spot under the covers that’s a comfy temp. I also think abut something I WANT to do, versus something I HAVE to do.

8. Share a favorite movie quote.

“AaAaAarrrrmy training SIR!” From “Stripes”

9. What is your favorite Fall candle scent?

Anything with Vanilla is my overall favorite, but in the fall blends, Pumpkin Spice is nice.

10. What is one Fall activity you’re looking forward to?

Hunting. I don’t even care if I get anything, I just enjoy getting out in the fields. I can hang out in a tree stand all day or work with a bunch of other hunters trying to figure out how to flush the deer out of hiding.

11. Tell us about a pleasant surprise that happened to you recently.

It was work related. Got a problem solution from an unexpected source.

12. What was it like when you first met your in-laws-to-be?

Oh man, I was sooooo young. 17 or 18 I think. Cindy’s dad was much taller then, easily had two inches on me and played the part of protective father really well. I got grilled for all the details of the evening. He softened up when he figured out I wasn’t an axe murder and was actually in the NHS. Cindy’s mom & I have always been good buddies, even back then.

I was catching up a bit over at Roxies place and came across this post that kicked off a mini firestorm of thinking. That’s a dangerous thing.

What relationships am I in that are healthy, which are not, are any toxic, who is the toxic person? I haven’t finished processing all of that stuff yet, but when I do, I’ll likely capture it here so I can look back one day and reflect on how nuts I was. I know of 4 relationships in particular that need some careful consideration – Cindy, both kids and my mom.

Today did not go as planned. I dropped my truck off for it’s annual state safety inspection. Figured I’d ride in to work, then head back out to the garage at the end of the day and pick it up. Things were going very smoothly until this morning. Had my back pack packed & ready to go and was just gathering the last couple things I needed. I knew it was supposed to rain later in the day so I wanted a shell to wear to keep me a little dry. As I opened the closet door to grab my jacket, there was a bright flash of light followed by a long drawn out rumble of thunder. Harrumph! The rain was a tad early! No way I was riding to work in the rain, so it was time to scramble.

Cindy was already off to work. I checked the local weather radar and saw the rain ought to stop in a couple hours. I then called the garage and asked them if they could pretty please have my truck ready by 10. (I didn’t say pretty please, but I WAS as polite as I could muster up at 7:15) Garage guy said no problem. Called work, let them know about the snafu, then settled down to get this done.

Tonight will be a mad rush. Have to get to calling hours for my SIL’s grandma (made it to 96), then hope to get to spin class. After that, I’m on the hook for dinner too. Anyone up for chicken parmesan? Chicken is thawing, pasta maker is ready to go and I think we’ll be having a putanesca sauce this time around. Let me know so I can adjust quantities, ok? Serving @ 8:30pm EDT.

Time to go get a truck!

4 responses

  1. Thank you and your family for serving our country.

    September 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    • bikinfool

      We were honored to serve. Thanks for funding my college education in return!

      September 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  2. Chicken Parmesan at my house is provided by Stauffers. One of the few already prepared things we buy. I’m betting yours is better.

    September 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    • bikinfool

      Heh – now that we’re not cooking for kids constantly we went and got all fancy. Use jar sauce still, but pound out, egg dip & bread our own (gargantuan) filets. What are they feeding those chickens?

      September 23, 2010 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

