Always tweaking something!

Random Dozen 1,000,000 (Linda Says So!)

Day 2214

  1. Do you do garage sales? If so, tell me about one great find. If not, tell me why not.

We just recovered from having our own garage sale.  In general I don’t do garage sales, but if there’s something interesting visible, I might take a peek.  Best thing I’ve bought?  A Taylor Burner Bubble Driver for $10.
2. Name the last thing you fixed.

The external front lights that flank the driveway.  They mysteriously stopped working after we had our electrical panel replaced/upgraded.  I finally dove in to see what the matter was.  Found two problems – a failed switch (it was 45 years old – it happens) that was strangely wired.  According to my (electrical engineer) understanding of wiring, every time the switch was turned on, hot was shorted to neutral.  That’s NOT how it should be.  It could NOT have operated that way for 45 years. It makes me wonder if the outfit that did the panel tried to set something up to get a return visit to repair it.
3. Name your A) Favorite item of makeup OR B) Favorite tool

Guess I’ll tackle the tool question.  It’s a tough one too.  My favorite tool would have to be a 20 oz. claw hammer.  There’s something very therapeutic about using it.  It’s versatile too.  You can put in nails, take out nails, pry things apart, even ‘fine tune’ delicate objects.  If all else fails, you can also beat the tar out of anything that frustrates you.
4. Which room in your home needs organizing more than any other?

That spare bedroom I’m trying to call an office.  It’s scary.
5. Which room could use re-decorating?

That spare space downstairs I’m trying to call a basement.
6. Share something unique about your town.

We could be called “Little Italy”.  Sometimes I think the only reason we were allowed to buy a house here is because our last name ends in a vowel – but we’re not Italian.  Unless we count as “Italian by ingestion”.
7. If you could send a one-sentence message to your great-grandchild, what would it be?

This above all else, to thine own self be true.
8. Do you Facebook?

Kinda sorta.  But I use me real life name and I don’t let that cross over into blogdom.
9. Describe your favorite shoes.

Nunn Bush, caramel colored leather, square toed oxford, cushioned sole.  Sooooo comfy they’re like slippers, only better.  Being a guy I was going to bail on this question, but those shoes are really comfy.  It’s too bad the color is difficult to work with.  At least in my wardrobe.
10. Do you listen to more talk radio or more music radio? What kind of station is it?

Music radio.  Classic Rock.  Seems to me that talk radio is chock full of right wing nuts.  I very quickly tire of the vitriolic blather that seems to fall out of their mouths.
11. How far would you travel for a really good (favorite) meal?

I went to New Orleans to get a bowl or four of gumbo.
12. If you were totally honest with yourself (and us) what should you probably be doing right now instead of blogging?

Calculating the power budget for a circuit board and redesigning the battery charger/power delivery system to allow for back up mode operation while the main battery is being swapped out.  Yeah, it’s complicated and I needed a brain break.  Time to get back to it . . .

Ok.  Work day over.  Counseling session Tuesday night suuuuucked with a capital suck.  There’s some deep denial happening.  When we were asked how things are going, Cindy was all “fine, quiet week between us, busy at work”.  She completely ignored the conversation we had Sunday night where I basically told her I wasn’t going to sit around and watch her drink just so we could “be together”.

We got a little deeper into THAT discussion during our counseling session.  I left the counseling session feeling a little unsure of how things were going to work out.  Until she can get over her denial – really accept Step 1 – things are going to be tough.  For the record, I offered to give up my own couple of beers during the week and the 2 – 3 beers a weekend that I have if it would make things easier for Cindy.

Off to finish up that power budgeting . . .

11 responses

  1. edshunnybunny

    This is my second time visiting your blog. I enjoy reading your answers! You are a witty guy! Wishing and hoping for the best for you and Cindy. At least you are trying, and not just throwing in the towel at first like so many people seem to do on a whim…Best wishes, Kathy

    September 15, 2010 at 8:08 am

    • bikinfool

      Hi Kathy – Welcome back!

      There are days when I wonder if my stubbornness is a character defect or strength. Maybe when this is all resolved I can look back and decide then.

      It’s hard to not let a little wise-assery slip through on some of these answers. That’s another character defect or strength question!

      Take care, Brian

      September 15, 2010 at 10:20 am

  2. Had to laugh at the gumbo answer. One of my friends read my blog, saw my answer to that question, and told me she is taking me to Baton Rouge for some good gumbo. She wants to teach me a lesson about driving a long way for good food.

    September 15, 2010 at 8:59 am

  3. Hang in there!

    September 15, 2010 at 10:03 am

  4. I need some of those illusive comfortable shoes. Some of my dreams involve shoes so comfortable you don’t even know you’re wearing them. Sadly, my closet is full of shoes that have failed that dream!

    September 15, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    • bikinfool

      Now fadkog – you realize these are men’s shoes I am speaking of. Sensible men’s shoes. 1/2″ heel (maybe 3/4″), soft cushiony insides, leather so soft, like butter. I’ll take a picture of ’em for ya. They are butt ugly, but I wear them cuz they feel so good . . .

      September 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  5. Haha..loved that you just “recovered” from having a garage sale! SO true!

    I do enjoy your sense of humor. Hope you’ll stop by my Random Dozen. 🙂

    September 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    • bikinfool

      Garage sales are insane! Two weekends of prep, another weekend involved just in hauling everything up from the basement, down from the loft or in from the shed. Then there’s the time spent baby-sitting everything, making sure no one walks off with all the crap you’re trying to get rid of.

      Saturday afternoon we turned into ‘Dollar Daze’. Anybody asked what something cost – answer was ‘a buck’. The idea was to make space, not a profit. Sunday most everything that didn’t sell went to the curb. If the curb pickers didn’t get it Sunday, the trashmen came around on Monday and picked it up. We were FREE!!

      September 15, 2010 at 2:17 pm

  6. Did one garage sale years ago – after that, everything went to my daughter so she could have a garage sale.

    Just read Mary Karr’s “Lit” – about her battle with alcoholism. It’s a disease, and like so many things, the person suffering with the disease needs to figure out they need help. No one else can do it for them.

    September 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  7. Joe

    Sweet deal on the Burner Bubble. I like the new background.

    September 18, 2010 at 2:06 am

    • bikinfool

      Now if I could just learn to hit the damn thing. That 9.5 degree loft is not very forgiving.

      New background designed by Mother Nature, on display 24/7 in Acadia National Park. Have GOT to get back there soon & often.

      September 18, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Leave a Reply

