Always tweaking something!

Random Dozen Time

Day 2208

To play along or to check out who else is playing, hop on over & see Linda over at 2nd-cup-of-coffee.

1. Describe the best sandwich in the world, according to you.

Lets go with one I had for lunch Monday.  On the menu, it was called the “Mediterranean Panini”.   What it consisted of was a lightly grilled chicken breast, sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, mozzarella and some sort of saucy condiment (I’d call it an aioli, but this was a family diner, not a 3 or 4 star restaurant).  All grilled in a Panini press.  Delicious!

My go to comfy food sammich is a simple chunky peanut butter & honey on rye with a glass of cold skim milk.
2. Which inspires you more: a good conversation, a song, a book or movie?

A good conversation is more real than any song, book or movie.
3. What is your favorite board game?

If I have to pick one, I have to go with Monopoly.  Over all, I really don’t care for the rigidness of a board game.
<b>4. As you grow older, are you more or less patient with small children? </b>

I can be as patient as Job with the children, its adults doing a poor job of parenting that I have trouble accepting.

5. Name one item you never let yourself run out of.

So far?  Oxygen.
6. Do you agree with Tennyson’s assertion, “‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all?”

Absolutely.  Even if you have lost love, knowing what it feels like to be so deeply connected with another person is something you can never forget.
7. Name one national treasure or monument that you have visited.

Saw the North Church in Boston.  Couldn’t go in as it was being renovated at the time.  Also saw a tiny portion of Acadia National Park this summer.
8. Which is more painful, to be disappointed in someone else or to be disappointed in yourself?

It hurts more when you can’t live up to your own standards.
9. What makes your kitchen uniquely yours?

Cindy & I designed it.  We gutted the old one, put in the electrical, plumbing, windows & doors, drywall, paint, flooring, cabinets and backsplash.  The only thing we didn’t do was install the countertops.  Being granite, they had to be cut & installed by a pro.
10. Are you a crafty person?

I have never made a macramé potted pant hanger, but I can do kitchens.
11. What is your favorite traditional picnic or bbq (cookout) food?

Please note that I consider there to be a difference between barbequing (cooking low & slow for hours & hours) (please note the propane fired smoker pictured about halfway through the article!!) and grilling.

For barbeque, I really like baby back ribs.  A close second is that pot of baked beans that was finished in the smoker, UNDER the ribs, catching a healthy dose of all that lovely pork fat & smoke flavor as it was sloooooly & lovingly rendered from the ribs.

For just plain grilling?  A nice NY Strip and a couple ears of roasted sweet corn is hard to beat.
12. Name one leisurely activity you enjoyed over Labor Day Weekend.

Am I missing something?  It was LABOR DAY weekend right?  I thought I was supposed to work all weekend!

Great writing prompts there, eh?  So what DID I do this weekend?

Saturday I fixed a suspicious electrical problem that has been haunting us since we had the panel replaced, then I went out and played in the pond for a bit. Playing in the pond means ‘cleaned filters, scooped out leaves & seeds, tested chemicals.   After that?  Hot tub.

Sunday I trimmed all the shrubs, weeded, edged & mowed.  Took all day.  After that?  Hot tub.

Monday we boxed up what was left from the garage sale, loaded it into the truck and hauled it off to the Salvation Army.  On the way back I had that lovely Panini.  Then I finished cleaning up the garage so that Cindy can actually park her car in her side.  Somehow, in cleaning up the garage I made one too many trips to the shed.  On one of those trips I emerged with my tree trimming gear.  I ended up lopping off some low hanging branches from the maples out back and also did some neatening up of the Crab Apple out front.  Now I can at least mow the back yard without having to dodge low hanging maple branches.  After some unwind time, we grilled up those NY Strips for dinner and just vegetated for the rest of the evening.

Biggest news this week is Eric & Kelly finding a reception hall (with rooms!) and setting a date for their big day.  Just advance warning, the weekend of 7/23/2011 I will be unavailable.  Please plan accordingly.

Bowling starts Thursday.  Have I mentioned this?  Have I communicated how excited I am about this?  I have?   Oh.  Sorry.

My one on one therapist is right.  It’s time to get ready for ‘fight night’.  Best part is that our couples therapist is now saying the same thing.  Worst part?  I get to do all the preliminary bouts AND the main event.  Janine will come in after and mop up.  Annette will be in my corner, as always.  Thing is, I don’t want Cindy to lose any sense that she can use Janine as a safe haven.  Because of that, I get to play the role of antagonist (bad cop, pot stirrer, speaker of truth . . .)

It’s got to happen before next Tuesday . . .

6 responses

  1. Sounds like a lot of laboring for Labor Day, for sure! Hmmm, I wonder if I can still macrame? I learned back in the 70s!

    Good luck with speaking your truth. I know it’s difficult to get to where you need to be in order to do that effectively.

    September 8, 2010 at 8:42 am

    • bikinfool

      Unfortunately, getting to where I need to be is what will be occupying my thoughts until I finally sit us down and review the situation. I am thankful to have some good coaching behind me. Just have to remember to state everything in terms of how I feel and how things affect me and NOT try to lay blame. You’d think that after having done this a time or three it would start to get easier.

      September 8, 2010 at 9:37 am

  2. Acadia is one of the most beautiful places I’ve been.

    Labor Day Weekend sounds like it was definitely full of labor at your house. We had a mix of labor and relaxation. My hubs did a monumental amount of yard work on Saturday while I cleaned inside. We took the rest of the weekend off!

    September 8, 2010 at 8:55 am

  3. Brian, I enjoyed your answers very much, love your sense of humor. Next Labor Day, you need to re-think your goals. Maybe make a bulleted list of: nothing. So that you do not make the rest of us look bad!

    September 8, 2010 at 9:00 am

    • bikinfool

      Hah! I should dig up a copy of my “To Do” list from the weekend. I actually had “Nothing” on it as something to accomplish. Just never got to that part of the list . . .

      But hot tub time could count as a nothing . . .

      September 8, 2010 at 9:40 am

  4. Cracked up at number 5–yep, we definitely have to have that oxygen! 🙂

    It was fun seeing the answers from a male perspective. Hope you’ll stop by mine when you get a moment! 🙂

    September 8, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Leave a Reply

