Always tweaking something!

Random Dozen #5,916 (or so)

Day 2194

I’m jumping the gun a bit, but my schedule demands it . . .

1. What is your favorite Mexican dish?

I used to get the Carne Asada at a local joint. At home, I like this veal/pork meatball dish that’s simmered in a home made salsa verde.

2. When you were a kid, did you get started on your homework right away after school, or did you procrastinate?

Until I was in 8th or 9th grade or so I never brought homework home. I always got it done in school. When I did finally have to bring it home, I learned just how well I could procrastinate. I am a master procrastinator.

3. What is your favorite store for home furnishings?

Furniture – Raymour & Flanigans. We’ve bought stuff at Ashley and Value City and were always disappointed in the long run. Don’t scrimp on furniture.
Accessories – Pier One, local arts & craft shows, antique shops, Aunt Marjorie’s barn.

4. When you were young, did you like school lunches?

I loved the rice that was so sticky it maintained the shape of the ice cream scooper they used to serve it. The vegetables were consistently overcooked, and they always served mystery meat.

5. Is religion a crutch?

Having been baptised Catholic, kinda sorta converting to Presbyterian, never really embracing the faith, professing to be an atheist, then finally accepting that maybe I’m an agnostic that might be able to concede that there is some sort of higher power – I still have this idea in my head that many people use religion to explain away what they don’t understand. They turn to it for comfort & reassurance; use it as a socialization network and as a method of defining their ethos. I guess I’m still struggling with the whole idea.

Lets not even get into the extremists, televangelists, faaaarrrrr right wing conservative bigoted Baptists or pedophilic catholic priests. I prefer to view them as the exception, way far from the norm.

6. In your region, what is the “big” (most popular in the community or state) high school sport?

We seem to be nuts for soccer around here. Ever hear of Abby Wambach? Local gal.

7. Do you consider yourself rich?

Monetarily, no. Comfortable, yes. But I am rich in family. Rich in opportunity and rich in potential.

8. Which of these would you have the best chance for success in administering:
A) CPR
B) Heimlich Maneuver
C) Changing a flat tire

I’ve done all three.
C) Piece of cake.
B) I did to my own son when he was a wee lad. He was choking on an ice cube. I didn’t even think about it, I just grabbed him and gave him a quick little squeeze. The ice cube popped out and we were all relieved before we knew what was really happening.
A) I performed on a friends’ grandfather when I was an ambulance driver. I was trained & certified for CPR & much more. As I was doing the chest compressions, I could hear the cartilage around his sternum cracking. The EMT on call assured me that this was normal. As it turns out, it didn’t matter. We found out the patient had already been down for over 30 minutes and was past the point where we might have saved him anyhow. I still feel bad about busting his ribs, but I am sure he never felt a thing.

9. Which dance would you prefer to learn & why:
A) Salsa
B) Hip Hop
C) Waltz
D) Swing

Swing baby. It really looks like a blast. Our local Y has classes but I can’t persuade Cindy to go. Salsa would be a close second. The music is pretty hot.

10. What’s the worst news you’ve ever delivered to someone?

I’ve informed way too many people about the deaths of my own or their own loved ones. There’s no easy way to say it, so I prefer the direct approach.

11. Name something you learned in college that had nothing to do with classes or academics.

No matter the time of day, when walking from the parking lot to class or vice versa, in the winter time the wind was ALWAYS in your face.

Also? My physics lab partner was a flirt that liked to flash her boobs at me. It’s a wonder I still got an A in physics with that kind of distraction. Nice boobs too!

12. New variation on an old question: If there’s a song in your head that just won’t get out, what is your favorite (or most repeated) line in that song?

You know, I’ve had an ear worm working in my head all day. As soon as I saw this question it completely disappeared. Surprisingly, the ear worm was NOT a result of the REO Speedwagon concert the other night. (Actually, I think it was a Spin Doctors tune . . . Little miss, little miss, little miss, little miss can’t be wrong . . .)

Speaking of spin (what a segue!)– I finally got back to class again Monday night. Been skipping way too many classes lately, especially considering my outdoor bike riding has been suffering too. This week, it looks like I’ll be able to get in at least three classes AND ride to work at least two days.

Monday night I pushed hard on the way to class, rode hard in class (didn’t quite soak my shirt to the bottom hem, but it was close), then REALLY cooled off on the ride home. Picture this – I’m in a soaking wet shirt, riding my bike at 18ish mph and it’s 66 degrees out. Talk about your evaporative cooling! It does give you a little motivation to keep working though – just to keep from getting too chilled.

I’m also getting very close to a goal I set earlier in the year. I wanted to ile up at east 1,000 miles biking this season. So far, I’ve got 706 on my road bike, plus another 25 or so that we accumulated in Maine on my off road bike. If I assume I can safely ride till the end of October, that gives me about 9 weeks to accumulate 270+ miles. That’s only 30 miles a week, which ought to be covered with two 16.4 mile round trips to work. If I toss in a couple three trips to the gym as well, that only pads the total. Have to consider a week of vacation in October too. Better aim for 40 a week. I could throw in some longer rides on weekends too. It would be nice to be able to knock ff a couple 50 – 60 milers before the season winds down. Gotta live up to that bikinfool name, right?

Maybe I’ll join my friend Perry and try to ride at least twice a week in the winter too. It’ll be on the re-fitted Raleigh, and I’ll need a new route, but it could work. See if I can accumulate another 1000 miles from November through March. THAT would make me a bikinfool. Remember, you heard it here first.

3 responses

  1. Good luck on the 1000 mile challenge. That’s awesome!

    I’m with you on the swing – although I think I just like the clothes!

    August 24, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  2. Pam

    OK…I’ll bite…what the heck’s an ear worm?

    August 25, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    • bikinfool

      An ear worm is a song that enters your head. All day long, all you can hear is little snippets of that song. Usually, you have no idea what triggers the little bugger, and you have no idea how to get rid of it. Sometimes it can be a song, or piece of a song you don’t even like. Can be quite maddening at times.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      August 26, 2010 at 6:26 am

Leave a Reply

