Always tweaking something!

Triple Treat

Day 2192

First up is Meet me on Monday

1. What is your favorite kind of doughnut?
The old fashioned fry cake. Goes double if it’s lightly glazed and has a peanut crust.

2. How often do you pray?
Taken in the context of the traditional American Christian church, very rarely. Taken in the spiritual context of asking my higher power for a little guidance, pretty regularly.

3. What is your favorite kind of music?
REO Speedwagon is REAL high on my list right now. I’m creating an iTunes iWant list right now.

4. What do you order when you eat Chinese food?
One of everything. But really, I stick with Schezuan or Hunan style dishes. I like the heat.

5. Would you rather snowboard in the winter or swim in the summer?
I’d love to get back to skiing. We have the weather for it around here. Not right NOW, but in 4 months? The slopes will be open. (Oh man, that thought sucks out loud!)

Number two on todays’ hit parade hit me last night. Just as Tyler Bryant’s drummer cranked things up to get our attention last night (it worked) I officially celebrated 6 years of smoke free life. That also means that 6 years ago I started a little blog thingy on Diaryland. The purpose behind that was to keep track of how the quitting smoking thing was doing. From there, it’s morphed into whatevertheheckitis I’m doing here now.

And finally, number three. That little concert last night at what we USED to call the flea-pac (Finger Lakes Performing Arts Center) which is now CMAC (Constellation Brands Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center. I guess the B, S & P are silent & invisible)

Anyhow. For all those folks out there around my age (I’ll claim 49 with some experience), last night was the REO Speedwagon/Pat Benetar “Love on the Run Tour” concert. Outside, in the drizzle. But we splurged, spent an extra $6 per ticket and got seats under the roof. You can bet we’ll be doing that again.

During the REO portion of the show, I was constantly amazed by just how many really, really good songs they have done. Here’s their set list:
1. Don’t Let Him Go
2. Keep On Loving You
3. In Your Letter
4. Take It On The Run
5. Keep Pushin’
6. Golden Country
7. Can’t Fight This Feeling
8. Like You Do
9. Time for Me to Fly
10. Back On The Road Again
11. Roll With The Changes
12. Ridin’ The Storm Out

To the crowd’s credit, everytime the lead singer (Kevin Cronin) pointed his mike at the audience, we were right there singing back up for him. Cronin’s voice overall has held up pretty well. He has lost some of the high end of his range, but he recognizes that and doesn’t try to do what he (nor many guys in the audience either) can’t do any longer. Overall, their show was very well done. It took the mixer board guys a bit (like a minute, literally) to get the guitar levels up to where we could hear them over the drums, but once that was resolved, things were. I was also surprised to learn that ‘Back on the Road Again’ is sung by the bass player (Bruce Hall I think), NOT Cronin. All these years and I never knew that.

Here’s the part where I get to date myself. In the parking lot, we pulled up next to some younger folks that were just starting to tailgate a wee bit. They were going over some trivia on REO when one of them said “When their first album came out (1971) I was -12 years old!” That’s NEGATIVE 12 years old. Which means he was born in ’83 (I’m a whiz with the math). Which makes him roughly the same age as my kids. WTF is he (or his friends for that matter) doing listening to his parents music? For the record, I was NOT -12 in 1971. I was actually +12 for most of that year, having turned 13 in December. But at least I actually remember when their album came out!

The other nasty dating thing? The first time I saw REO was in 1978. I was stationed at Ft. Lewis and caught their “You Can Tune a Piano But You Can’t Tunafish” tour at the Seattle Center Coliseum. Just can’t remember who opened for them.

REO gets a solid two thumbs up from our reviewers.

Now for the Pat Benatar part of the show. Maybe it was because it was a school night, but I noticed folks leaving during the intermission. She also did a fair amount of just talking with the audience and threw in some of her lesser known songs as well. To her credit, she said she’d be doing some of the less familiar material, but knowing that didn’t keep people from leaving. I will say this though – for a little teeny thang, she can really belt out the tunes. She’s also lost some of her upper range and adjusts for it. But in the mid and mid-hi range she can hang with the best of them. Very strong, excellent pitch. Here’s her set list from the show:

1. All Fired Up
2. Shadows of The Night
3. If You Think You Know How To Love Me
4. Promises In The Dark
5. Invincible
6. You Better Run (Acoustic)
7. I Don’t Wanna Be Your Friend (I Wanna Be Your Lover)
8. We Belong
9. Hell Is For Children
10. Hit Me With Your Best Shot
11. Love Is A Battlefield
12. Heartbreaker

#’s 3 and 7 I am least familiar with. She still put on a good show, but the crowd starting to filter out – for what ever reason – was a minor distraction.

In the end, I wonder why REO took the stage before Benatar. Just seemed to me that REO would have been a better finishing act.

One interesting little tidbit from after the show. As we filed out of the venue, we made a little pit stop to make our bladders gladder before the 45 minute ride home. As is typical for anyplace there’s a large crowd, the wait to get into the ladies room was lengthy. But if you went to the back side of the building, the ladies room line was much shorter.

One gal had a VERY short wait. I was walking into the men’s room (no line), eying the urinals to my left, waiting for one to open up. I didn’t get 15 feet into the room when a 40-something gal popped out of a stall to my right, eyes looking every which way to see if she was going to get busted. Apparently the particular group of guys in the rest room at the time really didn’t give a hoot. We all just let her go on her way. I was actually kind of surprised that no one got stupid and started waving his johnson around for the benefit of a gal so desperate to pee she’d dare to use the mens room. Maybe there’s hope for this country after all.

3 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing so much about yourself! You would be an interesting person to hang out with.

    August 23, 2010 at 7:59 pm

  2. Lapintornade

    Ha. We are getting old. I saw REO Speedwagon at a Texas Jam at the Astrodome in 1981. I was sure one of the Wilson sisters from Heart was going to go home with me.

    August 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    • bikinfool

      It had to have been Anne, because Nancy went home with me after I saw them in Seattle New Years Eve 1978! Yeah, in my room in the BQ on base. Or was that just a dream? . . . .

      August 25, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

