Always tweaking something!

New (to me) Meme to Test Drive

Day 2185

Questions:

1. What is your favorite dessert?

Not even a close call. Peanut butter cheese cake. Unfortunately, it’s kind of rare and usually must be home made. Worth the effort though.

2. What do you wear to bed?

As little as possible usually. Typically just my underwear, but if it’s really hot, I might wear less.

3. Do you get regular manicures/pedicures?

During bowling season I trim my nails religiously. Even for a guy, it’s hell getting a nail snagged on the edge of a bowling balls finger hole. If the edge of the nails even start to get close to the tip of a finger they are at risk. Well, at least the middle & ring fingers of my right hand. In a pinch, I have trimmed just those two nails. Looks weird.

4. Did you play any sports in high school?

Ran Varsity Cross Country, played intramural basketball, played softball on a Mens Industrial league team (yes, as a teenager. I could out throw any of the guys on the team) and played football for an independent youth group (my school had no football team)

5. Do you have an iPod?

iDon’t. But my phone (Crackberry) has 8G of flash that I use to store tunes, then I can Bluetooth to my truck or laptop and listen to what I want, when I want.

Found this at Never Growing Old. Short, sweet, nice writing prompts and I like the idea behind the name of the blog.

Yesterday, the 15th, Cindy & I celebrated our 29th anniversary. It was a nice, lazy day. We’d stayed up late Saturday night talking, took a late nite dip in the tub, talked some more then slept in till 10 in the morning. Sunday was a very lazy day. For dinner we test drove a couple of new to us recipes. The first was a Greek Patty Melt that we paired with a Tortellini/kielbasa/Cannellini bean/Kale soup. (I can’t link to because its’ out of a Feb. 2002 Bon Apetit magazine.)

The Greek Patty Melts we’d seen Sunday morning watching a Bobby Flay show. One of his Sous Chef’s (Miriam Garron) came up with this recipe. It gets two thumbs up from us. You could substitute gruyere or Asiago for the Kasseri cheese and save a few dollars. We also served the burgers on toasted ciabatta bread rather than the grilled pizza dough. Switching to the prepared bread was more of a time & effort saver. They were really, really good. For the ground lamb, I got a hunk of butterflied leg of lamb (I got the least expensive cut I could find), then ground it myself at home. If you don’t have a grinder, I’m sure the store butcher would grind some for you.

One of Cindy’s aunts passed away this weekend too. I think she was 78-ish, life long smoker, finally succumbed to lung cancer. Cindy will be travelling down to Delaware for the service and be away Tuesday evening & Wednesday. I’ll be stuck here at the zoo, holding down the fort and trying to stay out of trouble. Any of you want to come up & babysit are more than welcome. I’d be happy to cook, and we can make good use of the (swim suit mandatory) hot tub.

Won’t be cooking up any more lamb burgers for a while, but I’ve been itching to do a batch of jambalaya. Just give me an excuse, please!!

I can’t go to Delaware because I’m so busy at work. Better cut lunch short and act like it!

5 responses

  1. I read back through a few posts and hope that you had a great anniversary. Sounds like you need it and deserve it!

    August 16, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    • bikinfool

      Thanks Danielle. We’re working through a bunch of stuff. Things are looking up.

      August 16, 2010 at 4:24 pm

  2. I’ll have to check out the greek burgers. Sounds good – thanks for the link. Glad things are looking up.

    August 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

  3. Oh, and the peanut butter cheesecake sounds divine. My favorite milk shake as a child was peanut butter.

    August 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    • bikinfool

      Hey Rox,

      Here I am, nearly 52 years old and I could not wait to get home from the grocery store this week so I could bust open that new jar of crunchy peanut butter and have my PB & Honey on rye. With a big glass of milk. It’s my ‘go to’ comfort food. It’s my one real weakness foodwise.

      I ‘m having the last one of those Greek Patty Melts (“Wamb Burger”) for lunch today. I hope it’s even half as good warmed up in a microwave as it was fresh off the grill. If you try those, be careful with that Mus*** (musaharra?) whatever sauce. The standard recipe makes a metric boat load. Half would be plenty for 4 burgers. We have about 2 cups worth left in the fridge still. Need to find an excuse to use it now.

      Take care Brian

      August 17, 2010 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

