Always tweaking something!

Emotions vs Feelings

Day 2182

I went and started a paper journal as a homework assignment from one of my team of therapists. In it, I said I would try to assess my emotional state at various points of the day. My first thought was the “Dr. Pepper Hours” or 10, 2 and 4. As a matter of fact that is my unofficial internal title for the journal.

In practice, I modified the times of recording to be Wake up, 10am, 2pm, 5pm and 9pm. It’s going ok so far, but now I’m wondering – am I recording emotional states, feelings, adjectives that describe one or the other of these states or none of the above?

That led me to wonder just what the difference between feelings & emotions IS.

So I went to the place that knows everything and then some, Google. The explanation that rang truest to me is this one.

Quoting from that article:

“Summary:
1. Emotions and feelings are both sensations experienced by humans.
2. Feelings are triggered by external stimuli whereas emotions come from your mind, and possibly, soul.
3. Feelings can include physical sensations as well as mental states, but emotions always come from your mind.
4. Feelings are often temporary and subside once the stimulus is no longer present, whereas emotions will stay with you for years because they are seated in your mind.”

This is a definition I can work with. I’m curious though – what do many of YOU think is the difference between feelings & emotions. Discuss among yourselves and feel free to leave a comment. I’ll do my best to keep up with any discussions that start. (If my emotional state allows me to feel like it)

That being said, let me grab an adjective: floundering. That’s how I feel right about now. Floundering, lost, distracted, can’t fore myself to do what I know I need to do – ask for what I want. T, over at The Quest for T just posted an excellent post that really touched on much of what I’ve been mulling over lately. What she wrote didn’t solve any of my problems, but it did give me more to think about, and maybe shed some light on my own insecurities & fears.

I’m going to go flounder some moreget some work done. I really DO have work that needs doing.

Edited to add: Oh yeah. I changed the look a little bit. That header image is in Acadia NP, looking north across Jordan Pond at a couple of the mountains on the island. The background image is looking east & down across Eagle Lake, also in Acadia NP. Me thinks I need to crop the background a bit to get a better fit. To get both of these images, you need to leave your car behind and get yourselves several miles off the beaten path. It was really just a joy to be able to take these sights in.

Edited AGAIN to add: Cropped the background a bit. I like it better. Hope it renders as well on your screens.

Leave a Reply

