Always tweaking something!

Wicked Wednesday

Hi and welcome to Wednesday Wickedness. We are like other memes in that we will ask you ten questions each and every Wednesday. But our little “twist” is that each week we will pick a famous person and pick ten of their quotes. Each of our questions will be based on the quotes. Got it? Great! Let’s begin this week’s meme!

Today we picked Ellen Degeneres.
Here’s Wednesday Wickedness

1. “I was coming home from kindergarten–well they told me it was kindergarten. I found out later I had been working in a factory for ten years. It’s good for a kid to know how to make gloves.” How old were you when you started working and what was your first job?

Twelve. I stocked groceries in a mom-n-pop grocery and did general clean-up work every weekend for a whopping $2 an hour.

2. “My grandmother started walking five miles a day when she was sixty. She’s ninety-seven now, and we don’t know where the hell she is.” Tell us about your grandparents.

My maternal grandfather died when I was 1 ½. A logging tractor rolled over on him. My paternal grandfather died in 1967 at age 59. Heart attack. Scary foreshadowing for my Dad. Both my grandma’s lived to ripe old ages. They each impressed me with their common sense and worldliness even though neither left NY state their entire lives.

3. “Procrastination isn’t the problem, it’s the solution. So procrastinate now, don’t put it off.” Do you procrastinate or are you on top of the situations?

I can procrastinate with the best of them. Fear of failure is a leading contributor to my procrastination.

4. “Sometimes you can’t see yourself clearly until you see yourself through the eyes of others.” What would others say about you?

He never says no, is always willing to pitch in and help. Sometimes uses humor in not quite appropriate situations.

5. “The only thing that scares me more than space aliens is the idea that there aren’t any space aliens. We can’t be the best that creation has to offer. I pray we’re not all there is. If so, we’re in big trouble” Do you believe in life on other planets?

There’s gotta be something out there. There are too many stars in this galaxy, too many galaxies in the universe for us to be all alone. Once Zefram Cochrane invents the warp drive (in 2063) we’ll be able to start meeting some of our neighbors.

6. “I’m a godmother, that’s a great thing to be, a godmother. She calls me god for short, that’s cute, I taught her that.” Do you have a godchild?

I do not. That would require me to be a practicing catholic. While I was baptized catholic back in the day and have god-parents myself, I have rather quietly left the fold.

7. “I don’t understand the sizes anymore. There’s a size zero, which I didn’t even know that they had. It must stand for: ‘Ohhh my God, you’re thin.'” When was the last time that you were called too thin?

About two years ago when I was at my all time lowest adult weight of 186. I need to get back there. I’m up 30 and it’s a real drag having too pedal that extra mass uphill.

8. “I have the worst memory ever so no matter who comes up to me – they’re just, like, ‘I can’t believe you don’t remember me!” I’m like, ‘Oh Dad I’m sorry!'” Who was the last person that you should have recognized but didn’t?

Wow. There aren’t many. I’m pretty good with remembering people. The only ones that get me in trouble are my nephews. They’re fraternal twins but look soooo much alike they’re constantly asked if they’re identical. If I don’t see them together I can’t tell them apart.

9. “I gotta work out. I keep saying it all the time. I keep saying I gotta start working out. It’s been about two months since I’ve worked out. And I just don’t have the time. Which uh..is odd. Because I have the time to go out to dinner. And uh..and watch tv. And get a bone density test. And uh.. try to figure out what my phone number spells in words.” Do you work out? Have you ever joined a gym and quit almost immediately?

I have to work out smarter. I’m biking my ass all over the state (soon to add Vermont & Maine I hope), but biking is all I do. I should get back to running & weights too, but that would mean getting to the gym at 5 in the morning again. Ugh.

10. ‘We use 10 percent of our brains. Imagine how much we could accomplish if we used the other 60 percent.” Do you feel that you utilize all your intelligence in every situation?

I use only enough to get by a given situation. Don’t want to strain anything. Might hamper the gym time.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Rode the bike in to work this morning. Had a glorious ride. Then later this morning, like around 10:30 my bike got washed. For free. Now I see that there are scattered T-storms predicted for the remainder of the afternoon. That could spell trouble for spin class tonight. If I can get there dry (except for the sweat part) I’ll go. If it’s raining, I’ll just have to ride home, but maybe I’ll take the long way. Not that there are hills this close to the lake, but it’ll have to do.

5 responses

  1. Ace

    It’s been interesting learning about everyone’s grandparents today. Scary for your dad, indeed. My family is the same way….on both sides! The men seem to die early-ish and the women live to ripe old ages. Makes me pretty darn glad I’m female.

    July 21, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    • bikinfool

      Dear old Dad ceased to care, poor guy. Heart attack got him at 58. Now here I am at 51 and I hope I’ve learned my lesson. At least I hope all this sweating and grunting at the gym & on my bike are gonna buy me a few years. Maybe I got the good parts of my mom’s genes too. I hope!

      July 21, 2010 at 7:57 pm

  2. Zefram better hurry and get born! Resistance is futile… 🙂

    July 21, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    • bikinfool

      Saw this at work back in the day:

      I am Dyslexia of Borg. Fusistence is retile. Your ass will be laminated.

      Nerd humor can be so good sometimes . . . .

      Bazinga!

      July 21, 2010 at 7:54 pm

  3. Thanks for the tarragon tip! I’ll have to try that. I just got in from a nice ride this evening – of course nothing like the distances you are used to riding.

    And in the Doh! department. You mentioned evaporative cooling the other day in a comment. I was wondering why I didn’t start sweating UNTIL I got in the elevator!

    July 21, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

