Always tweaking something!

RIP Little Orfe’n Annies

Day 2151

Hi and welcome to Wednesday Wickedness. We are like other memes in that we will ask you ten questions each and every Wednesday. But our little “twist” is that each week we will pick a famous person and pick ten of their quotes. Each of our questions will be based on the quotes. Got it? Great! Let’s begin this week’s meme!
Today we picked George Steinbrenner (who passed away Tuesday morning at age 80). Here’s Wednesday Wickedness!

The man we loved to hate. All he wanted to do was win, at any price.

1. “But why shouldn’t I speak out? Don’t you speak out in this country?” Do you speak out as often as you should?

Not nearly enough.

2. “I am tough. Sometimes I’m unreasonable. I have to catch myself every once in a while.” Are you ever tough and unreasonable?

Tough, yes. Unreasonable – at times. Both at once? Hardly ever.

3. “I haven’t always done a good job, and I haven’t always been successful – but I know that I have tried.” Do you believe that sometimes you learn more from a failure than a success?

Absolutely. Sometimes being successful all the time can lead to complacency and a lack of humility.

4. “Winning is the most important thing in my life, after breathing. Breathing first, winning next.” Do you feel that you always have to win?

Competing well, doing ones best, is important. Winning? Not all it’s cracked up to be. Sometimes you learn more from losing.

5. “It is unbelievable to me that the highest-paid team in baseball would start the season in such a deep funk.” Do you think money always buys greatness?

Definitely not, and the Yankees are the best example of that. He paid some of his players too well and they lost their hunger.

6. “I take my last phone call at home at about 11pm.” What time is too late to call you?

Depends on who’s calling and what for. If it’s a quickie, say to finalize plans for the next day, 10 or 11 is ok. If you’re wanting to shoot the shit, 9 might be too late. Then there are the calls no one wants to get – “Uhhh, This is (Father-in-laws senior living facility) and your Dad is seriously losing his shit. Can you come over and talk to him?” Those calls usually came at 1 or 2 in the morning. Not nice.

7. “Don’t talk to me about aesthetics or tradition. Talk to me about what sells and what’s good right now.” Do you think tradition matters?

Tradition absolutely matters. Honoring the memory of those who have gone before us is important. We need to know where we were in order to appreciate where we are.

8. “And what the American people like is to think the underdog still has a chance.” Do you tend to root for the underdog?

I root for whoever the Yankees are playing. (And yes, I’m from New York. Not the City, but still . . .) Beyond that, everybody is a sucker for the underdog, me included.

9. “I don’t think I ever could exceed my father’s successes. He was a completely satisfied man, he knew what he wanted to accomplish and he accomplished it. I did do a lot, though, to try to please him.” Do you ever feel that you want to exceed your parents successes?

In education, career and material possessions I have. Does that make me a better person? I don’t think so.

10. “I’m really 95 percent Mr. Rogers, and only 5 percent Oscar the Grouch.” In terms of cartoon characters, who are you like?

80% Foghorn Leghorn, 10% Tweety, 5% Yosemite Sam, 5% Marvin the Martian.

Thanks for checking out our Wednesday craziness. We hope you join us again. Please visit our other player’s posts and make a comment. Join us next week for our next meme!

In real entry type matters, I’ve started entries but found myself getting lost as I dug deeper. I’ve had to drop the shovel two or three times. I think I’m nearing a crossroads. Progress is slow, but patterns are emerging.

I don’t know if it’s paranoia on my part, but it seems to me that a lot of the things that are happening are all for a reason. Some things are being done to make it seem like too much of a loss to ever leave the house. Other things are being done/planned to keep me from raising a stink and calling BS on certain people. Then there are the things I’ve been asked to put aside for the good of the relationship, but when I look at the ONE THING I asked for, I’m not getting satisfaction.

That, in a nutshell, is what I’ve been mulling lately. Have a session with Janine (couples counselor) tonight. I’m not sure how much of this I really want to share in the couples portion just yet. I think that goes back to my answer for Question #1 above.

In more mundane news, we thought we’d lost a Golden Orfe to a heron. Cindy had reported seeing only 2 of our larger Orfe when she fed them one afternoon. Later that evening, I checked and saw only one – immediately jumping to the conclusion that we’d lost another to the heron. (For the record, when it’s feeding time the Orfe are the first fish to grab a bite. They are very aggressive feeders and will actually plow through other fish to get to a piece of kibble.)

The next morning, I saw an Orfe floating upside down in amongst some lily leaves. The other two were happily munching away at their breakfast. So no loss to heron at least. But why did the one die?

For the past week, a second big Orfe has been acting poorly. It kept hidden under the lilies, wouldn’t eat, and even resisted the urges of the other Orfe to come out and play. (Orfe are schooling fish, often racing with each other to and fro across the pond. Very entertaining fish to watch). Last night, Orfe #2 was doing the upside down pose.

These two were only 4 years old. I’d read where they live up to 30 years in captivity. I’m wondering if a screw up on my part a couple weeks ago isn’t the culprit. The pond was low. I dropped a garden hose in and let it run, with the intention of turning it off in an hour or so. That night I actually had to wake up and pee. Then I went downstairs to get a drink. Heard water running still, long after the toilet should have finished filling. That’s when it struck me – I left the damn hose running! So there I am, nekkid as a jaybird, dashing out to the side of the house at 3am so I can shut off the hose I forgot 6 hours earlier.

Not my dead Orfe, but the resemblance is amazing.

Anyhow, I think the overdose of chlorine was detrimental to the fish’s gills. It’s possible that mature Orfe are more susceptible as it doesn’t seem to have bothered the koi, comets or shibunkins.

Another thing I noticed (and I have pictures for later) our Orfe spawned this spring. We have 4 leetle teeny Orfe I’ve taken to calling the Micro Armada as they tend to travel in a group. Also – maybe a dozen or so of the comet/shibunkin/koi crosses that hatched last year are still hanging in there. It’s only been recently that the water has been clear enough to really see the little buggers. They’re still barely an inch long, but many of them have the distinctive shibunkin calico type coloring. Hope they keep keepin’ on.

I can’t lie either – that nekkid dash to turn off the garden hose was kind of exciting in a naughty way. Glad it was 3am. Even Gladder that the local police didn’t just happen to be cruising by at the time. Thin I’ll be limiting future nekkid sprints to the 10 feet from the porch door to the Hot Tub Time Machine.

4 responses

  1. Good point about competing well and winning.

    Have a great day!
    http://harrietandfriends.com/2010/07/are-you-ever-tough-and-unreasonable

    July 14, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    • bikinfool

      Thanks Harriet! I’d much rather know I tried my best than win at any cost. And with kids, sometimes it’s best to let them win a few too . . .

      July 15, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  2. I enjoyed your take on the meme. Your response to tradition, “Tradition absolutely matters. Honoring the memory of those who have gone before us is important. We need to know where we were in order to appreciate where we are.” was the bomb. Well done…

    July 14, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    • bikinfool

      Why thanks Bud. It’s true, you know – with out our ancestors we wouldn’t be here. Although I still cringe at the thought of my parents having sex. I know that’s how it all happened, but I just can’t wipe that image from my mind . . .

      July 15, 2010 at 1:24 pm

Leave a Reply

