Always tweaking something!

Grrrrrrr. . . .

Day 2118

I’ll get to the Grrrrrr later.

Now. This started out as Dana doing Jay’s questions after Jay did Savannah’s “Questions” meme – a meme with a twist. This meme is constantly evolving – I answer the 10 questions that Dana posted and then post 10 questions of my own for anyone to answer on their blog or in comments. Dana & Jay asked some great questions – the whole idea looked kinda interesting so I’m going to torture you all with it.

Here’s Dana’s questions with my answers:

1. What were doing 10 years ago?

Running kids to hockey, working like a mad fool, re-did the kitchen, put in a master bath and re-did the other upstairs bath.

2. By this time next year, I …

Hope to still be employed.

3. Do you think the United States will elect a female President in your lifetime? Do you think this would be a good thing?

Yes, I do. But we better hurry, I think I’m only good for another 35 years tops. (That’s an awful thought)

4. Which fictional, TV show character you would shag anytime?

Mary Shannon from “In Plain Sight”, Lisa Huddy on “House”, Det. Megan Wheeler on “L&O Criminal Intent” (Julianne Nicholson).

5. What is your greatest pet peeve?

Bad, rude or inconsiderate drivers. Lack of driving skills and considerateness are demonstrated by:

1 – no use of turn signals, yes – even for simple lane changes
2 – inability or unwillingness to drive the speed limit as a minimum
3 – doing merely the speed limit in the left lane of a multi-lane expressway. Those 15 cars stacked up behind you? Would like to get by. Move it the hell over.
4 – (My personal FAVORITE) pulling out in front of me then going 10 under the speed limit. It’s even worse if I’m the only vehicle on the road and you do it. It’s even worserer if I’m the only vehicle on the road, you do it (pull out in front of me & die), then take the next friggin turn off. Gah! Wish I had a gymbal mounted .50 cal on the roof!

6. Tell me about your most recent trip of more than 100 miles?

Heh. Drove 130 miles to an Al Anon meeting. Stayed overnight. Hung out with a bunch of folks that are trying to reclaim their lives after spending too much energy & effort on ‘fixing’ their alcoholic.

7. Which do you use more often, the dictionary or the thesaurus?

Now that spell checkers are ubiquitous, I use the thesaurus more. Unless Wikipedia somehow counts as a dictionary . . .

8. Do you have a nickname? What is it?

Two predominant ones. Bri is a gimme. Some folks use Rho, a truncation of my real live actual surname. A few select folks still use the name of a monster from a “C” grade Japanese sci-fi flick (think “Godzilla vs. Mothra”)

9. what are you dreading at the moment?

The reaction I might get from a little discussion I need to have tonight. Details follow.

10. Do you worry that others will judge you from reading some of your answers?
If I did, I wouldn’t be providing my answers. I think what I think, I feel what I feel. These are opinions & experiences, neither of which can really be wrong. (Except for the roof mounted .50 cal. That might be wrong. Fun, but wrong.)

Now. My 10 questions.

1 – Where do you want to be 2, 5 and 10 years from now?

2 – Do you approve of or practice the use of corporal punishment for children? (I’m talking spanking here not caning or water boarding . . .)

3 – If you could make one positive change in a significant other (spouse, fiance, FWB, parent, child, other relative, etc), who it be and what would you change? (i.e. – you can’t make them dead to improve your own situation)

4 – Now perform that change on yourself. What’s it going to be? (Again, dead is NOT an option)

5 – In 10 words or less, what is it about differing religions that causes all this strife in the world?

6 – What is your ‘go to’ solution for stress reduction?

7 – What is your favorite cookie to make & eat? Care to share the recipe?

8 – Of all the vehicles you’ve owned, which were your most & least favorite?

9 – Are you a collector? If so, just what do you collect? Why?

10 – Missionary, doggie or reverse cowgirl? Something else maybe?

Should you decide to try this, please do let me know. I’d love to stop by and check out your answers. If there are enough requests, I might even provide answers to my own questions.

Know what I ‘Grrrrrrr’ about? I’ll tell you.

We got a call from the electrician that’s going to upgrade our electrical panel. They asked us to call back and set up an appointment for them to come back and do the panel change & meter move. Cindy asked me to call and get the appointment seeing as I was the one that’s going to be sitting at home while they do the work. She left their phone number on a slip of paper near the phone for me.

This morning as I was getting stuff put in my back pack for my ride in to work I didn’t grab that slip of paper. Cindy noticed. I got an email from her this morning – “Did you call the electrician?”

I had looked up their number in the interwebz, made the call, got an appointment and asked a bunch of questions. The gal I talked to didn’t have the answers, but was going to do a little digging and get back to me. (My questions were about coordinating with the local utility for the power changeover) I emailed Cindy that I got the appointment.

In the mean time, Cindy calls the electrician. Heather (the gal on the phone there) got the info she needed just prior to Cindy calling. Turns out my appointment will have to float based on the availability of the utility company. Big surprise there. So Cindy ok’s an appointment for Tues. Weds. or Thurs. depending on availability. Please to note that Cindy is NOT staying home to be available while all this is going on, I am.

Heather calls me back, says she just talked to me wife (imagine MY surprise!) and my appointment will be changing to T, W or Th. Internally, I am screaming. To Heather I just said Weds & Thurs were out, but I could do Tues or Fri. (yeah, those aren’t quite the same time options)

Cindy & I swap a few emails, the first from me asking simply “wtf are you doing? – I had an appointment set!” Eventually, we share enough information that I could ferret out the timeline I detailed above.

What hacks me off is that Cindy asked me to call the electricians since I was the one that would be staying home and I also understand the technical side of what they’re saying – then she calls them anyhow in what appears to me to be an effort to undo what I had already done after I told her I had already called.

Whether or not she saw my email saying I had an appointment prior to her calling them is moot. She asked me to call, LET ME DO IT.

We will be discussing this tonight, I promise.

4 responses

  1. That electrical stuff is a pain! I’m lucky to have an in house electrician that works nights so I really do not have to worry about that. I’m sorry it’s going so sucky!

    As for the gun mounted to the car, I think it should be an option. People are idiots. I hate the drivers going slow and getting in the way. I find myself screaming at someone every day on the road.

    June 13, 2010 at 12:24 am

    • bikinfool

      I’m an electronics engineer by day so doing a lot of house wiring is no big deal for me. I’ve put new breakers in, run circuits, ran a cable out for the pond pump, re-wired kitchens & baths. But messing with 150 amp service and re-doing entire panels? No thanks. I’m more than happy to pay an electrician with the proper training & knowledge for those jobs. One slip there could really ruin your day!

      June 14, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  2. Q

    Reverse cowgirl. Definitely.

    Your wife is acting like a lunatic… Sorry =/

    July 8, 2010 at 10:32 pm

  3. Reverse cowgirl can be a nice change, but it gets some of the fun bits out of reach. Of course if there were an interesting tattoo to stare at during the festivities . . .

    Glad I’m not the only one thinking she’s being a tad irrational . . .

    July 9, 2010 at 8:29 am

Leave a Reply

