Always tweaking something!

Random Dozen Again

Day 2096

On time almost!

1. What is one really fast, know-by-heart “go-to” meal to fix in a pinch?
Tomato soup & grilled cheese sandwiches. I doctor up the soup by adding rice or macaroni, then toss in garlic & chili powders, Worcestershishtershire sauce, a handful of dried minced onion and a bit of thyme and/or oregano. The grilled cheese will be on what ever bread is on hand (always rye, maybe a wheat or sourdough is in the bread drawer too) and might have American, Swiss, Provolone, Asiago, Muenster, Cheddar, Monterrey Jack or some combination of the above as a filler. Tomato soup & grilled cheese does NOT have to be boring.

This can be ready in 30 minutes. If you want REALLY fast, there’s a peanut butter & honey sandwich (same bread options as above) and an apple. It’s a nice, quick lunch if you’re not carb sensitive. Some folks shun the carbs, I look at them as fuel. Just have to remember to keep my motor running.

2. What is one item you won’t leave home without. (Purse and license do not count.)
What, no purse!?! This was really tough. I do leave without my cell phone on occasion; I have left without my glasses & a coat, for some bike rides I don’t even take my wallet. So except for pants & shoes of some sort, all bets are off.

3. Where is one place you never tire of visiting?
The woods behind the house where I grew up. It’s so unlike what too many people think of New York . . .

4. Share one factoid of your family’s history.
People with my surname lived in the southern tier area of NY (Corning/Binghamton area) since the mid 1800’s.

5. Complete this sentence: “Once upon a time I ….”
. . . knew what I wanted to be when I grew up.

6. If you could win a one year’s supply of anything, what would it be?
Bill Gates’ income.

7. “One quirky thing you may not know about me is ….”
Quirky? I have this, ummm – obsession with how extension cords and rope must be coiled. No tangles, no twists, no figure 8 loops. Nothing but smooth relaxed coils all lined up nice & neat. Makes it so much easier to use them next time around. If you use my cord and bring it back to me messed up, I have no problem uncoiling it and fixing it right in front of you. Then you can see the right way to do it. You’re welcome.

8. You have one dollar in your pocket. What will you buy?
Why spend it? Does it have to burn a hole in my pocket?

9. “One thing that always makes me laugh is ….”
Family inside joke. “Was that loud?”

10. What is one thing you could do today to help yourself reach a personal goal?
I did it! Rode my bike to work. One of my more immediate personal goals is to do another Century ride this summer. I’m looking real hard at the Livestrong Philly Ride. If not that, there’s a 2 day 150 miler for MS in September.

11. What is one thing you could do today to bless someone else?
Not being of the priesthood or even a teensy bit religious, I am limited to saying “bless you” after someone sneezes. If this were taken to also mean a “paying it forward” type of selfless act, I like to have those overcome me spontaneously. Sort of a random act of kindness. And yes, I try to do them regularly – daily even.

12. What is one thing you’re looking forward to soon?
Hinted at this yesterday. We get a nice, new toy in about 6 weeks. It’s going to be a lot of fun. It will also be the impetus for this coming February’s newest sporting event. Details later . . .

Pedaled my butt in to work this morning, tonight I’ll ride to the Y for spin class and then home again. That’ll make for just over 2 hours of saddle time, not counting the lazy pre-class spinning we do waiting for things to really get started. I’ve seen the elevation profile for the Philly Livestrong ride (#10 in the Random Dozen list). For a flatlander like me, some of those climbs look pretty daunting. Need all the training I can get.

Finally had a really good session with Janine last night. We all agreed that the discussion Cindy & I had last week well worth any discomfort felt at the time. The comment I made to Cindy about getting my equal share of time with Janine without any shit from her apparently struck a chord. Last night Cindy left on time, unprompted and that was followed up with an apology from Janine after Cindy had left. Amazing things happen when you speak your mind in a calm, non-accusatory tone.

2 responses

  1. Just visiting from the random dozen…I live in Northern NJ and people who have only seen the turnpike are shocked when I talk about the big bear who visits fairly regularly. We have lots of woods too…I have to remind folks this is The Garden State : )

    #5-me too.

    May 19, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    • bikinfool

      Hi Joyce. I’ve had the pleasure of visiting parts of north western New Jersey. Certainly not like the turnpike at all. Really pretty country. With buffalo!!

      May 20, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

