Always tweaking something!

Honest Thievery

Day 2068

I saw this on The Glamorous Life of a Hausfrau (Who saw it on Star Child’s blog) the other day and couldn’t pass up an opportunity to steal stuff.

1 – Ever take a shit in the woods?

Yep. Both Army style (in a self dug pit using C-ration TP) and “OMG I gotta go!” hunting style, where the nearest fallen log will do to provide both seat and shield. And yes, I keep TP in my pack, just in case. You never know when you’ll get to be the bear.

2 – If you won $1,000, what’s the first thing you would do with it besides give me a cut?

Put half towards bills, use the other half on a getaway weekend.

3 – What’s your favorite phrase?

What a Clusterfuck! It explains or describes SO many things.

4 – Fill in the blank – the world would be a better place if ______ left the planet.

Serious answer – hate. Flippant answer WWE (or what ever that fake wrestling is going by these days)

5 – How do you take your coffee or tea?

1 Splenda per 8 oz and enough hazelnut creamer that you can see it bounce back up off the bottom of the cup.

Ran into this: Save 90% on your laundry detergent by making your own. The article does mention that you can still save significantly by only adding half as much commercial detergent, which is still MORE than enough to clean a load.

Now for this weeks installment of

(Yes, I’m late.)

1. Ever had any run-ins with the “library police?”

Nope. Don’t go to the library enough. Every time I go I have to renew my card. Sad.
2. Do you have a special organizational plan and place for wrapping paper, gift bags, etc., or do you just purchase whatever you need as you give gifts?

Christmas wrapping supplies are stowed in the basement. Paper for other occasions we may have in a hutch drawer but odds are we’ll just buy it as we need it.

3. Have you ever been in (first-hand witness) a natural disaster?

I was here when Hurricane Agnes came through and flooded every body of water on the east coast. Not horrible for us, but some areas got it bad (Ever hear of the Corning Glass Works?)

I was also stationed at Ft. Lewis, Wa. when Mt. St. Helens blew. Again, not bad for me, but a real tragedy for thousands of folks.

4. What’s your favorite Barry Manilow song?

What’s his shortest song? Obviously a question geared for the gals, eh?

5. What’s the best costume you’ve ever worn?

Any time I wore a tuxedo. Made me look like a gentleman, until the bourbon was opened.

6. Which do you use more often, the dictionary or the thesaurus?

Thesaurus actually.

7. What’s your favorite breakfast food?

There’s a Cranberry Vanilla Trail Mix Crunch that I really like. Not really such a fan of the big greasy diner breakfast. I can taste it all day long, and that isn’t always pleasant. Also? Fiber One cereal should come with a warning – “Will fill you with gas. Use of Beano recommended.” Just sayin . . .

8. Have you ever purchased anything from an infomercial?

Never.

9. Have you ever crawled through a window?

Yes. At least twice I’ve had to break into my house via the downstairs powder room window. Now, that window has been replaced with a newer, energy efficient, much more secure window.

10. Do you believe in love at first sight?

Love? No. Lust? Certainly.

11. How man pairs of jeans do you own?

3 blue pant length, 1 black. But only 2 of the blue are good enough for public consumption. Might have a few pair of denim shorts, but denim is awfully hot for shorts.

12. If someone were going to bake a cake to honor/represent you, what would it be? (Think creatively, like Duff and Crew on “Ace of Cakes.”)

Bowling lane, complete with a ball and pins. Not to scale. Got that Duff?

Looks like flights out of Europe are returning to near normal. If they can get the backlog cleared out in a few more days, Cindy might get back on time. I took a peek at seat availability on her flight and saw that there WERE seats available still. I’ll take that as a good sign.

Oh! Talked with (therapist) Annette today. It’s funny the things I think of as I’m relating events of the past few weeks with her. I shared a remark that Cindy made that went something like “Your obsession with whether or not I drink is impeding our progress in couples therapy”.

Today, TODAY, it finally occurred to me that we are only IN couples therapy because of her drinking. If I had any confidence that she had her drinking under control (accept, abstain), I wouldn’t be quite so nutzoid about it. Sucking down a half bottle of vodka the night before she left for Europe isn’t doing anything for my confidence. That was a pretty lousy way of handling anxiety.

Now off to bed.

Leave a Reply

